Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
8


on 5 December 2013
I really wanted to like this book as the Tony Buzan works I have come across before usually have interesting things to say but there are a number of things about it that I found very off-putting. One is the patronising tone, for example being told that I am going to be 'introduced' to John Donne before Buzan quotes one of the most famous pieces of writing in literary history. Someone could argue that not everyone would know this quote but while this may be true this over-simplification and dumbing down pervades the whole book. It has the feeling of being cobbled together and gimmicky. The multiple choice questions on whether or not you're likely to have a heart attack are ridiculous too. Apparently if a waiter drops ice cold water in your lap you are supposed to laugh heartily and that makes you better person? You could be drunk and just not give a monkeys - which is the only situation I could imagine laughing heartily being the initial response in most people - even really caring ones.
The crux of it is that the emphasis seems to be on 'doing things' that spiritual people do and that is how you become spiritual, but if those actions aren't prompted by an initial understanding which comes from within they are just 'tricks'. Buzan describes compassion as a feeling of sympathy and concern for others, but the whole point of compassion is not (even in my meagre understanding of it) that you feel sorry 'for' others you feel their suffering as though it were your own. A subtle distinction but an important one because it is an act of unity.

If you want some genuine insight into these matters you can't go far wrong with either: "Ancient Wisdom Modern World" by the Dalai Lama or "Everyday Enlightenment" by His Holiness The Gyalwang Drukpa. Both clear,accessible and practical but also profound and beautiful.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 June 2014
The book I read to research this post was The Power Of Spiritual Intelligence by Tony Buzan which is an excellent book which I bought from kindle. Tony is a motivational speaker and the inventor of mind mapping and in contrast to much of his work this book is more motivational and inspirational than anything. He has written a series of books including this work on the different types of intelligence and developing each one. He tells the story of having become disillusioned with sunday school and christianity he became a confirmed atheist and one day a lady came round to his house to try and convert him to her religion. He invited her in and decided he was going to enjoy crushing any arguments she put forward. She offered to bring a senior member of her church the following week and and that week he argued his points persuasively. Although they failed to convert him her face as she left changed his life because he realized there was such a thing as spiritual intelligence that he needed to develop and there was more to it than simply following any one religion. She looked absolutely crushed but with out realizing it had won. There is abilities like looking at the world in a playful manner, developing a spiritual path and having a sense of humor we all need to develop. Many people who have been tortured have said they pitied their torturers and felt compassion for them. This is only a short book and suggests doing mind maps on what spiritually matters to you although there examples of this you probably need to read specific books on mind mapping to develop this skill. I thoroughly enjoyed this book which gives lots of spiritual examples although is a rather short book. I think our spiritual path we have to find for ourselves but this book will give us guidance to get us started. Tony is also in the Guinness Book Of World Records as the most creative person in the world and has written many books on things like speed reading and developing memory too. I have made it a task I set myself to try and read all his books and have certainly read most of them. I definitely recommend this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 October 2016
This book will be useful to everyone breathing, it will even help make breathing more enjoyable! The masterful yet simple wording makes both traditional and modern ideas appear easy to understand.. What Tony does for the spirit waiting inside you may be be summed up best by Michelangelo when he explained his beautiful sculptures already lay within the rocks he carved. Thank you Mr Buzan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 April 2015
Interesting and mind engaging book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 February 2015
AAA
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 June 2001
Tony Buzan has produced this apparently as a follow-up to his recent title "Head First" and will presumably be producing matching volumes on the other 9 Intelligences he details in that title. This book contains some interesting ideas and suggestions on improving your spiritual awareness, but the "10 Graces" format is a little off-putting and the fact that so much of the content is duplicated material from "Head First" was a bit annoying - it might have been better if that had been made clear on the cover. It would have been more useful as extension of the ideas from the other book rather than mostly repetition. If you already have "Head First" think twice about buying this - if not there is certainly a lot of interesting stuff in here.
0Comment| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 February 2004
This is an interesting publication by Dr. Tony Buzan. The book has an introduction, 10 chapters along with some related mind maps. Tony Buzan has given a comprehensive treatise on Spiritual Intelligence and a 10-way strategy to tap into its genius. From his writing I can come up, just like any other spiritual-being, with my own insight. I could in fact rerarrange the wealth, yet concise, information there and reach my own conclusion stating that "spiritual awareness is the key to spiritual connectedness. The side effect of such a connectedness will be an intelligence that certainly benefits those who are connected including the spirited self."
Being spiritually intelligent, himself, Tony was impartial in quoting historic spiritual leaders. In particular, he quotes Muhammed, the Prophet of Islam, a great spiritual leader whose teachings have been, purposefully, either distorted and/or ignored. Tony has risen above religious "partialism" and discrimination and in fact this is the essence of spirituality. It is above every religion for we are all spirits from the same spiritual source, regardless of our own after-born make ups.

The book has been written in a way that confuses people with emotional-intelligence literacy. Tony should have written a chapter about emotional intelligence to draw a demarcation line between the two species of intelligence. In my opinion, and based on my deep evaluation to Buzan's book, emotional effectiveness (EE) is only a human tool to facilitate, promote and achieve spiritual intelligence. EE is the second most important way, after spiritual awareness and getting the big picture, to tap into spirtual intelligence. Hopefully, this can be the addition to his new edition, if any.
Tony has imposed his mind-mapping skills on the book for validated reasons that seem only his. Those mind maps are misplaced in the book on one hand and dictating on the other hand. His mind-maps may hinder some readers from using their own mind mapping mechanisms or strategies to summarize the chapters and connect their information on their own. Mind-mapping skills have Tony's concepts, but can be used differently by different people.
Finally, Buzan's book is worth-reading and those who want to magnify their benefits from reading this book should also refer themselves to emotional intelligence, NLP, rational emotive behavior therapy materials.
Dr. Yehia A. Ibrahim (Assiut University)
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 December 2009
I read a lot in the area of mind, body, spirit and enjoy researching both the esoteric and exoteric. The issue with many books I read is that they can be inaccessible if not taken in the right context - often this means in metaphor.

What Tony Buzan has done with this book is to make the spiritual both accessible and comprehensible. His common sense approach will suit the spiritually aware, the intrigued, the agnostic, the atheist and even the fundamentalist.

Tbank you for sharing with such grace and wisdom ...
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse