Buy Used
+ £0.00 delivery
Used: Good | Details
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: One-Day Premium delivery available.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.

The Power of Chance: A Table of Memory Hardcover – 1 Nov 1991

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.


Product details

  • Hardcover: 196 pages
  • Publisher: Sinclair-Stevenson Ltd; 1st edition (Nov. 1991)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1856190773
  • ISBN-13: 978-1856190770
  • Package Dimensions: 23.4 x 15.4 x 2.2 cm
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 1,958,713 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Product description


In "The Arms of Time", Rupert Hart-Davis told the story of his mother's short life and of his own first 19 years. "The Power of Chance" carries his story through his next 19 years, two marriages (one to Peggy Ashcroft) and three children, against backgrounds of the theatre, the book-trade and the army. On the way we have glimpses of Max Beerbohm, T.E. Lawrence, the army, Hilaire Belloc, Edgar Wallace and Field-Marshall Lord Wavell. Most of the text is derived from contemporary letters and diaries and it contains with anecdotes and portraits. Rupert Hart-Davis is the author of a biography of Hugh Walpole. He has also edited "The Lyttelton Hart-Davis Letters", "The Letters of Oscar Wilde", "George Moore's Letters to Lady Cunard", "A Catalogue of the Caricatures of Max Beernohm" and "The Autobiography of Arthur Ransome".

No customer reviews

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers