Portraits Of Earth has been added to your Basket

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Portraits Of Earth

4.8 out of 5 stars 12 customer reviews

Price: £12.82 & FREE UK Delivery on orders dispatched by Amazon over £20. Delivery Details
See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Audio CD, 8 Apr 2016
Only 3 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
Buy a CD or Vinyl record and get 90 days free Amazon Music Unlimited
With the purchase of a CD or Vinyl record dispatched from and sold by Amazon, you get 90 days free access to the Amazon Music Unlimited Individual plan. After your purchase, you will receive an email with further information. Terms and Conditions apply. Learn more.

Frequently bought together

  • Portraits Of Earth
  • +
  • Journey to Nidaros
  • +
  • Islands Essential Einaudi
Total price: £29.35
Buy the selected items together

Product details

  • Conductor: None
  • Composer: Alexander Chapman Campbell
  • Audio CD (8 April 2016)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Alexander Chapman Campbell
  • ASIN: B01BWXZI00
  • Other Editions: Audio CD
  • Average Customer Review: 4.8 out of 5 stars 12 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 89,204 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Prelude To The Dawn
  2. Song Of The Morning
  3. The Winter Hills
  4. Song Of The Evening
  5. Flame And Star
  6. The Passing Year
  7. The Further Shore
  8. Isle Of The West
  9. The Wind
  10. The Majesty Of Stillness
  11. The Living Mountain
  12. Prayer For Earth

Product description

Product Description

Recorded at Crear House & Studio; a stunning converted byre that sits above the Atlantic Ocean, a deep sense of magic has been captured in this young composer s second album for solo piano. The album, featuring new piano works that have been five years in the making, was recorded in a single take on the final morning of the sessions. Alexander writes:

This is the experience of playing that I look for but only find when I stop looking for it. I revelled in it for those brief and wonderful moments. The last piece came and then the final note. The same silence, which had greeted me on that first morning, was still there, all around me...Those were the recordings I was looking for; I had just recorded the whole album in one run-through. The rest - everything I had done during the previous days - could be forgotten.

Aged 27, Alexander lives in the Scottish Highlands, where he gains inspiration from the natural world around him. He declined a place to study music at university, instead choosing to explore his music in a more solitary environment. He spends his days composing, walking in the woods by the river and drinking tea by log fires. The result is unbounded and original, conscious and from the heart.

I chose the titles because nature has always been a source of wonder for me. Naming it in this way is a wish to acknowledge this, and to dedicate the album to the beautiful place that we all share - the living world we call Earth.

The emotive music has a magical and ethereal quality, which immediately transports listeners. It is flowing and full of melody, yet with a great sense of depth and richness. As with his debut album Sketches of Light , this new album is accessible to all; its atmospheric and captivating quality appealing to classical music lovers as well as wider audiences.

Alexander s debut album Sketches of Light was voted Album of the Week on the popular Classic FM show Drive , and following a flood of emails and phone-calls after each airing, it has received continued airplay since its release in November 2013. It reached number 33 in the UK classical album charts. Sketches has been used across TV, especially by the BBC, and has featured on several chart-topping compilation albums.


Tipped for the top --Aled Jones

'Refreshingly original and unpretentious' --John Brunning, Classic FM

12 customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

29 April 2016
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
17 June 2016
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
13 November 2017
Verified Purchase
10 August 2016
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
25 April 2017
Verified Purchase
8 December 2018
Verified Purchase
20 May 2016
Verified Purchase
10 December 2017
Verified Purchase

What other items do customers buy after viewing this item?