Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Popcorn to Rock 'n' Roll: Book One of Trilogy Life and Death of a Pirate Paperback – 1 Jan 2016

4.8 out of 5 stars 8 customer reviews

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.


Product details

  • Paperback: 154 pages
  • Publisher: Fillongley Publications; 1st edition (1 Jan. 2016)
  • ISBN-10: 095151167X
  • ISBN-13: 978-0951511671
  • Product Dimensions: 12.8 x 0.9 x 21 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.8 out of 5 stars 8 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 959,827 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Product description

Fascinating biographical history written as a novel - surprising, sometimes shocking and often funny. Reg Calvert is a dreamer, impulsive and determined to succeed. At 18. Reg falls in love with Dorothy and marries with little thought of the consequences. Too soon he is trapped by marriage and children but he needs Dorothy as his anchor. When Reg first hears Bill Haley's, 'Rock Around the Clock,' he has a dream to bring Rock 'n' Roll to England. Reg is like the Pied Piper as young musicians and singers give up their jobs to follow him as he ceates a new way of providing entertainment for teenagers. An extraordinary story of success and failure 1946 - 1960, as it follows 1950's music trends. Behind the scenes, life is exciting but the reality of being a 'star' is far from glamorous! BOOK II - CLIFTON HALL - The School of Rock 'n' Roll to be published winter 2014/5. Many musicians and singers including the Beatles and Screaming Lord Sutch, visit or stay at Clifton Hall. It is a tumultuous time with much fun, laughter and heartbreak. BOOK III - LIFE AND DEATH OF A PIRATE - to be published 2015. 1963 - 1967. Reg Calvert has a new dream, to run his own pirate radio station. Dorothy is against him as he sells Clifton Hall to finance it. By 1966 he has made Radio City a success and then pays for it with his life! The story of pirate radio, intrigue and murder.

8 customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

31 August 2014
Format: PaperbackVerified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
29 June 2014
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
28 June 2015
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
29 December 2015
Format: PaperbackVerified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
10 September 2017
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
28 September 2014
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
18 November 2015
Format: PaperbackVerified Purchase
29 September 2018
Format: Kindle Edition