Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
46
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 2 October 2016
My 8 year old absolutely loved this set, and finished the whole lot very quickly. The books are manga, graphic novel style rather than being a typical text story as he's used to, but he took to it very easily as he loves Pokemon.

After finishing this set, he's requested me to buy the next box set too, so it's a definite hit. I've had a look at prices and it's definitely cheaper and better value to buy the whole box rather than each one individually, so it looks like I will have to buy all of these box sets!

If you have kids who are into Pokemon, I'm sure they would love it! The stories are different to the ones in the games and on the TV shows, so he found this more interesting as he gets a bit bored reading the other junior Pokemon novels which very closely follow the TV episodes (not so exciting when you already know exactly what will happen!!) but these Manga Pokemon books are allowing him to find out something new, meet new characters and follow new stories, which was very exciting for him. This set includes books on the Pokemon trainers: Red, Blue, Green and Yellow rather than the typical Ash of the TV show.

The print quality is good. The poster included is very small, so he wasn't as bothered about that, but still nice to have.

Note: read the book "back to front" (right to left) as it's Japanese and that is their tradition, but all of the text inside is printed in English
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2017
Good price for all these books, my son was very happy! Arrived quickly thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2015
Very quick dispatch, great set for a great price (so I'm told by my son!).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2017
A must have for the Pokemon fans!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2016
Written with the help of my 11 year old son:

Loved the manga.
It was my sons first manga book/s. (he enjoyed it so much, he has now started buying more manga).
Spoiler – he enjoyed the switch between Red’s story and Yellow’s story...and all the characters that knew them both from the Kanto region.
He will definitely be reading more of these...in the Jhoto region in the Gold and Silver chapter.

Easy 5*
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2013
To start, this would get 5 stars, but for lack of nicknames, and editing of a certain section for western markets.

This is the start of pokemon manga. Volume 1 does a little bit of introduction, and really the whole of this box set introduces you over time to all the things you understand about the games/tv, but with the manga rules. Which are different to the game/tv.

The main character is Red, who is a huge leap ahead of Ash (of the tv series) in terms of talent. He has an air of confidence and determination, which is a pretty good role model for kids really.

A warning; although its for all ages, it's a little bit darker than most kids books you're used to. Not majorly but there's a huge conspiracy thing going on, and 'mild peril' as dvds would put it.

Drawings are well done and the stories are smart.

If you are a fan of pokemon in general I would suggest you try at least one of the box sets (all are separate story lines) or go into a book store and have a look if they have any.
If you are unsure whether your child would like this, it may be worth looking at one of the other sets, like Diamond and Pearl Adventure (not to be confused with Pkmn Adventures Diamond & Pearl) that one is a bit softer and sillier with it's story.

Price wise, its a very good idea to go for the set instead of a book at a time. The set's individual value (at time of this review) is about £3.40-.50 each and individual normally is £4-£5.50.

Please note if you are new to manga: reads right to left as it is originally Japanese, though these are in english. Also all books are not in colour inside. Just black ink.

tl;dr: strong story, good visuals, good introduction to the rules of the world, can be dark at times so may not appeal to all ages though listed as it will, cheaper than individual books, and (pet peeve) nicknames missing mostly
11 Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2013
I have to admit that I'm always skeptical when it comes to buying anything online, especially when it's something to do with a popular franchise like Pokémon as it can be a minefield for scams.

However, I was over the moon when my books arrived in a well kept box, wrapped carefully and there weren't any scuffs or dog eared pages to the actual box the books were in, to the actual books themselves.

It was honestly a really nice way to start my day to find these books waiting for me in such good condition and as a collector of Pokémon it was an even nicer surprise.

The price is very reasonable for the actual priduct itself as I have seen people throw out ridiculous prices for this exact bookset on other online stores that reach out to the over £100s and to add more praise onto this item, the delivery for this was very quick.

I recommend this to those who are just starting out on the Pokémon mangas and to those who are fellow collectors.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2013
If you are a fan of Pokémon and especially the original games of Red, Blue and Yellow then you will love this set as it follows them just like the games. The volumes look really nice and the outer box case its perfect. My only downside is the poster that comes with it is more like a leaflet than a poster.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2015
arrived in very good condition and looks good quality and worth the money, one thing to watch out for though is that it is not well advertised that that these books will read back to front as they are printed in japan. to be honest I thought at first I had received a faulty batch until I was informed by my own grandson the the Japanese read and right the opposite way ie back to front. at least im a little wiser now and it adds to the quirkiness of the books anyway.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2016
Arrived in good time but book covers on backwards and book reads from the back!!! Really unhappy with it
22 Comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse