Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Exclusive track - Ed Sheeran Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
50
4.5 out of 5 stars
Poirot's Early Cases: Complete & Unabridged
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£18.94+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


TOP 500 REVIEWERon 23 August 2017
The early Poirot, narrated, in print, in this book by the faithful Captain Hastings. There are eighteen short mysteries in total - some extremely good and some not so - but all told very well and with great eloquence and humour, so nothing less than full marks for enjoyment value. Of course, the short stories do not possess the impact of the novels, nor do they demonstrate fully the delight of M. Poirot, but you do get exactly what it says on 'the tin' so to speak! These were the days when M. Poirot was, perhaps, not quite so sure of himself! Well worth reading, Poirot fans will not be disappointed. Also worth mentioning is the Audio version of this novel narrated by Hugh Fraser and David Suchet, which is also very enjoyable.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 June 2017
So happy to have these stories on CD as I previously only had them on audio tapes. If I have one complaint it has to be the case they are released in. I'm not a great fan of the discs being on a central spindle in the case. I recently bought an audio book recording from a company in the USA, and the discs were inside a similar sized case but each individual disc was in a plastic sleeve and the case resembled a miniature ring binder, which made it easier to get to individual discs without having to remove the earlier discs in the recording. Wish British audio book companies would use the same system. Getting back to discs in this release, the recordings are excellent and well arranged so you can choose the stories you want to listen to as you want.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 December 2017
My Mum just loves Poirot. Great book and a great read. Enthralling read. Just like watching him on the TV. Highly recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 August 2017
Thoroughly enjoyed these short stories
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 October 2017
Great stories.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 November 2017
Parfait
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 May 2017
A fascimile copy of the original so the old fashioned font may take a bit of getting used to.
18 Poirot stories here narrated by or featuring Captain Hastings and some featuring Inspector Japp
These are all amusing, well written short stories but the book isn't the best value for money as the complete Poirot short stories (83 in total if I recall correctly) are available from Amazon in one, rather thick, paperback for £14:88.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 November 2016
I’m a big fan of Poirot, the Belgian detective with the moustache and the egg-shaped head who’s Agatha Christie’s most famous creation. And in this book, we get to see some of his earliest cases, with one of them even taking place in Belgium when he was with the police. It’s a pretty good introduction to his back story, and while you don’t necessarily need to read it to get the most out of the other books, it certainly adds an extra angle.

Unfortunately, it was a little difficult to read, and I often found myself skim-reading or forgetting what was actually happening. Part of this can be attributed to the size of the print, which was tiny – I like old books like this, but it does get annoying when it’s hard to read them. It also means that it feels like you’re making slow going, which is a shame because the book was eminently readable and it was a lot of fun to go through it.

Overall then, I’d recommend it to you if you’ve already read some of the Agatha Christie books and enjoyed them, but it’s not the best place to start. There are loads of better places to begin!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 March 2013
Good, but disappointed that although it says read by Hugh Fraser and David Suchet, it is either or the other, I was hoping for both as per the TV series. On that note, David Suchet's readings are excellent but personally I found Hugh Fraser's stories hard to get into. primarily because I found his impression of Poirot not very good and a bit flat, but that is my opinion.

Update: after buying another set: The Labours of Hercules: Complete Short Stories: Complete & Unabridged

I found them much better to listen to with regards to Hugh Fraser's reading (he reads the whole set) It was MUCH better, in fact I'd go as far to say very good. I think the problem in this particular set is he seems to be impersonating Hastings impersonating Poirot and that is why it seems a bit flat as Hastings character vocal range is a bit flat.

Once I realised that, it is much more enjoyable.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 October 2009
Poirot's Early Cases are fairly short mysteries for the famous Hercule Poriot but there are eighteen stories read by David Suchet (Poriot) & Hugh Fraser (Captain Hastings).

These stories are spread over 7 discs the total running time is almost 9 nine hours which is great for a very long trip. Any Agatha Christie fan will enjoy these short stories and Poirot fan will like hearing about his early years.

Poirot's Early Cases have been out on Casstte but I think CD's are better more portable and never loses sound qaulity and can be played anywhere, anytime if you have some of the most famous stoires this is your next buy.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse