Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
543
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 April 2014
This is a book great read. It's so easy to get lost in time and think your actually there while the events are happening.
This book should be on school curriculum to give students a real taste of what it was like in Ireland and the U.K. in the time of The Famine!
It's a great quick read, one for your holidays :)
Would definitely recommend it.
11 comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2014
I knew about the potato famin in Ireland as many of my family originate from their. What I didn't know was the terrible effects it really had on their lives and survival........I do now!!!!! I enjoyed this story and the history lesson, one that everyone should read. Very humbling.
11 comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2014
- Very interesting storyline
- A Quick read
- One for all ages
- Educational in relation to Irish history

All in all, didn't want to put the book down and with 125 pages I didn't have to :)
11 comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2014
Took to life the hardships endured in Ireland during the potato famine, and how family"s were split up to look for a better life,even portrayed, how those with very little were willing to share and help one and other through hardship.
11 comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2014
The struggle to survive can be felt, I liked the way one can feel the strengths / weaknesses of the characters, not much to dislike really, I would recommend it to Descendants of the People who had to emigrate, some living in Durham England, whose family came from that part of Ireland------ John
11 comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2014
what an amazing story, the description of the death had me in tears. such emotive writing. The author took you into the lives of the people as if you were living with them. Wonderful.
11 comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2014
Really enjoyed this book it was a short story didn't take long to read it would recommend it to family and friends
11 comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2014
Nice little story line but seems like it's been written by a 10 year old ! Could have been a good book if written by another author. There was no depth to it and sentences seemed bullet pointed. It was written as if it were a short story but having said that it still lacked literacy ! I only endured it to see the outcome as it was most certainly an uncomfortable cringe worthy read .
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2014
Just brilliant couldn't put it down, very good read would recommend it to anyone, can't wait for another book by the same author
11 comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2014
Thoroughly enjoyed this book. The story set mainly in Ireland focuses on the time of the famine due to the potato blight which ravaged the potato crops throughout Ireland, causing famine, poverty , death, lack of jobs, which caused a massive exit of Irish families to flee to England and America.
The main characters are totally believable and likeable. I cared what happened to them, their families and friends.
Have downloaded the sequel, off now to read it. Another late night I believe!
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse