Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
15
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£8.60+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 August 2015
Great fun, lots of similarity to real secondary school of that era (c1969). Excellent performances, especially Deryck Guyler, and in my view this is John Alderton's career-best.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2016
The DVD cover was printed in Dutch so couldn't read anything about it. The actual programme was in English but with Dutch subtitles.Once we found out how to get rid of the subtitles we could watch it but a disappointing buy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2015
funny
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2014
Classic comedy. Whiles away an hour or two in nostalgic bliss
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2007
There are the first 6 episodes, all in black and white:The Welcome Mat (shows him at very start when he arrives at Fenn Street); A Picture of Innocence; Maureen Bullock Loves Sir; A Near Greek Tragedy;Barbarian Librarians; Student Princess and It's the Thought that Counts.
The fact that it is black and white may surprise people as the cover photos are all in colour. We're not bothered though because this is how we watched them originally. My son of 7 likes this and loads of the older comedies. ( He loves Laurel and Hardy too!)Sorry this is so brief, but thought it might be helpful for those who are not sure what is on this DVD.
11 Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2011
I can't believe that this comedy can't be on teley again. LOVED it then and LOVE it even now. I admit some of the 21st century comedy is good but! 'Please Sir' 'On The Buses' 'Bless This House' and i could go on. These FANTASTIC comedy gems WAS comedy. To have these on dvd will keep these gems a memory. Thank you to amazon and to the people who put them on dvd.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2013
Always been a classic series and to see it again was very enjoyable. The old programmes are always the best.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2014
I had forgotten how good this series was and just how good an actor John Alderton is. His timing is superb.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2011
John Alderton, Deryck Guyler (Corgi in Sykes) and Joan Sanderson (Mrs Richards in Fawlty Towers) are excellent in this v amusing series from the late 60s - the school kids are good too and, although showing its age in the quality of the film/video, well worth watching!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2016
1970s comedy about a innocent gullible teacher put on charge of 5c the most trouble some class it ran for 2 years and it s good

Season 1 is in black and white
Spawned. At least 1film. Brings back memories
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)