£12.63 + £1.26 UK delivery
Only 1 left in stock. Sold by MUSIC4SURE

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Play This Passionate: Music for solo viola da gamba CD

Price: £12.63
Only 1 left in stock.
Dispatched from and sold by MUSIC4SURE.
5 new from £12.63 1 used from £22.35
£12.63 Only 1 left in stock. Dispatched from and sold by MUSIC4SURE.

Special Offers and Product Promotions

Product details

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Love's Farewell
  2. Love's Galliard
  3. A Humorous Pavin
  4. Deth
  5. Life
  6. Prélude
  7. Allemande
  8. Courante
  9. Sarabande
  10. Gigue
  11. Gavotte
  12. Menuet
  13. Adagio - Allegro - Adagio
  14. Presto - Adagio
  15. Aria
  16. Aria: Adagio
  17. Giga
  18. Prelude
  19. Allemande
  20. Corrente
  21. Sarabande
  22. Giga
  23. Andante
  24. Vivace
  25. Recitatif - Arioso - Andante
  26. Vivace

Disc: 2

  1. Prélude
  2. Fantaisie
  3. Allemande
  4. Sarabande
  5. Sarabande
  6. Gigue
  7. The Spirit of Gambo
  8. Captain Hume's Pavan
  9. Tinckeldum Twinckeldum
  10. Reis Glorios Variations, 1972
  11. 1. Prélude
  12. 2. Allemande
  13. 3. Courante
  14. 4. Sarabande
  15. 5. Gigue
  16. 6. Gavotte
  17. 7. Menuet
  18. Tombeau (Reflections on the Ground When I am laid in earth from Dido and Aeneas by Purcell, Op.86, 1981)
  19. Untitled
  20. Adagio
  21. [Untitled]
  22. Allegro

Product Description

I will ship by EMS or SAL items in stock in Japan. It is approximately 7-14days on delivery date. You wholeheartedly support customers as satisfactory. Thank you for you seeing it.

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.co.uk.
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: HASH(0x97788dc8) out of 5 stars 2 reviews
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa8ed9f48) out of 5 stars Passionate 21 Dec. 2013
By robert e neveln - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
I would disagree with the previous reviewer. The performance by Sarah Cunningham is truly a consistent passionate, though, understated, effort throughout all 26 pieces. One flows effortlessly to the next. It builds then backs off, then builds again. Some pieces actually sublime. The consistency is truly wonderful. I say this as a previous double bass player with the viola close at hand in the orchestra. The viol on the other hand, has such a unique different set of overtones. I have listened to other viol CDs. No comparison to this performance. This performance with the selected composers is perfect.
1 of 8 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x988430e4) out of 5 stars Play this passionate 4 Oct. 2009
By James Silverton - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
Initially, I thought that the very pretty young lady pictured was Sarah Cunningham but it turned out to be one contemporary with the the original music. She is said to be "playing the viol" but actually is holding it and the bow separately. Nevertheless, the set of CDs beautifully illustrate the playing of the the viol de gamba. I have a small quarrel with the title: "passionate" hardly seems to describe all but the final few tracks. I'd call it melancholy and introspective.
Were these reviews helpful? Let us know

Customer Discussions