Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
76
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Play Dirty is a great war film, and the Blu-ray transfer is very good. And i have read some negative reviews about the DVD release and from what i read it wasn't good. Now 101 films are not the best at releasing their films with bonus features, and yet again there are none with this release, plus you don't get any subtitles. But the sound is in 2.0 DTS MA Mono which does sound good. Aspect ratio 2.35:1.
review image review image review image
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2016
As anyone knows who's seen 'Tobruk' (as I did last week) or 'Raid on Rommel' (as I did a few months ago), the way to defeat Rommel in North Africa is to disrupt his supply lines - particularly of fuel. That forms the premise of this film too, but it is superior to both. Michael Caine is the British Captain who is obviously expecting not to see any combat in his behind-the-lines desk job, but who is brought in (for fairly flimsy reasons) to command a ragtag bunch of criminals of various nationalities whose special underworld skills make them ideal for carrying out secret raids in to enemy territory. Their animosity towards Caine as they make their way through the desert forms the meat of the film, with Caine trying to treat them like regular soldiers, and gradually showing his mettle and just about earning their respect. The group, other than Caine, show themselves to be a pretty amoral bunch - and not just because the means justify the end.

The usual Desert War suspects of minefields and enemy patrols are present and correct, but much of the middle section of the film is as much about battling the desert itself as the German army. The ending is excellent, but I'll say no more for fear of spoiling it.

The film is interestingly directed for a war movie, and in my view Caine acts everyone else off the screen. Well worth seeing.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
A really good cynical war film, that shows British troops killing, maiming and attempting to rape a woman - subjects that I dare say were shocking when first played out in front of 1960s movie goers. That said, it has a sense of realism to it, as our 'heroes' travel the length of the desert in order to blow up a German fuel dump. The acting is good throughout and, despite the usual American halftracks pretending to be Hanomags, the attention to detail is high. All in all a solid, functional war movie, from a time when war movies were somewhat lacking in grit and authenticity.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2017
Saw it when it came out-has lasted well!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2017
goog old film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2017
interesting
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2017
this was a copied DVD that didn't even play....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2017
Great but underrated war classic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2014
A behind the lines mission movie starring Michael Caine, Nigel Davenport, Nigel Greene and Harry Andrews. Colonel Masters (Nigel Greene) fights the war using criminals. Captain Douglas (Michael Caine) is attached to the group as an officer, their mission: blow up Rommel's supply dumps. There was a time when this seemed to be on every week. I probably first saw it 25 years ago but I've not seen it on TV for maybe, 15 years now. I remember the Daily Telegraph's description of this, (I paraphrase) 50% of the title of the Dirty Dozen and 100% of the plot. And that's how it's remembered ... as a Dirty Dozen clone, one of the many inferior rip off's. There's some truth in that obviously, but this is a peculiarly British take on the genre and should be remembered as such. No one would ever call it a classic and yet it is not the terrible movie that some would have you believe. I suppose if it didn't have Caine in it, it would've been long forgotten and yet, here it is, newly released on Blu Ray. It might have the mighty Caine but the best thing about it is Davenport's cynical Irishman Leech, a criminal who sunk his own tramp steamer for the money without bothering to tell his crew. Caine's character lies somewhere between his Gonville Bromhead in Zulu and his Tosh Hearne in Too Late The Hero. Look out for his Caine's actor brother, Stanley. This was one-eyed Hungarian Andre De Toth's last movie and it's one of his best if you ask me. On Play Dirty he doesn't seem impeded by budget restrictions as he was on his 50's b-movie westerns. Those westerns obviously came in handy because you could probably describe it as an African western - The Long Range Desert Group as the Indians, the Germans as the cavalry etc.
I watched it on a smallish TV but I had a good close-up look of the screen. I didn't think the picture was too bad, in fact, at times it was rather good however don't expect The Italian Job or Zulu. This has not seen the comprehensive clean up of those pictures. At times it's quite well defined, especially the faces - one of the best ways to tell if it's HD or not. My main gripe would be the film imperfections - the disappearing and reappearing blobs, the line that runs vertically down the right hand side of the screen. In terms of extras, there is the square root of f@ck all. Nada. Zero. Zilch. There aren't even any subtitles. Nor is there a piddling trailer. Co-writer Melvyn Bragg is still alive and he loves yacking - couldn't someone have roped him into a commentary. OK, maybe Caine wants to forget about it but surely someone could've asked Davenport to provide a commentary or even a few reminiscences before he passed on. Apparently, Richard Harris got the sack because he wouldn't get his hair cut - something like that. We film buffs don't ask that much.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2015
This Blu-ray has the best picture quality of this film I have seen. Avoid all public domain DVD releases of this title and buy this Blu-ray instead. If you like this film I`m sure you`ll be impressed with the quality. I would have given this 5 stars if some extras had been included.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)