Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 27 November 2017
Thank you very much, I am very pleased with your service, great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 May 2017
Brilliant album. Good price. Arrived in good time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 June 2017
I used2own the 1991 bowie remasters&u wanted the bonus track from n,l,m,down cd.as i wanted bowie compilation2.it was job done.a great compilation that represents 3 important era in bowies career a must,for fans&budget priced.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 September 2017
good item :D
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 July 2006
After hearing about David Bowie for ages and not knowing any of his songs other than a select few, I wisely picked this up from one of my local shops for the bargain price of £5, as i didn't really want to explore the unknown for any higher price i was delighted to of found this so cheaply, however, the best bit was when I listened to the discs and oh-my-god this is unbelievable, the first two discs are simply flawless and the third disc only fires a couple of duds, all in all this is the best fiver I have ever spent (bar a particular mixed kebab), i really cant stress enough that if you have any interest in Bowie or are just widening your musical horizon, how much of a worthy purchase this is, since I have bought this I have so far bought four of his albums and am looking to get the whole collection, after this I would strongly advise you to get 'Hunky Dory' or 'Aladdin Sane' not because they are the best of his stuff, but they are easily accesible and massively enjoyable!Happy Bowie hunting people!
11 Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 November 2009
There are a lot of Bowie compilations on the market but this is probably the most comprehensive.There are three discs in the collection - 1969-74, 1974-79 and1980-87 and a total of 57 tracks. So there are plenty of examples of his extraordinary talent as a performer and songwriter.

Highlights of the first disc include "Space Oddity", "Changes" and "Life on Mars" but there are also some lesser-known tracks like "Velvet Goldmine" and "Drive in Saturday".

The third disc includes the hits from the "Lets Dance" album as well as "Ashes to Ashes" "Under Pressure" and "Fashion". There are some welcome songs from the post "Lets Dance" period such as "Time will crawl", "This is not America" and "Day in Day out".

The second disc probably deserves a review of its own. It starts with familiar hits like "Sound and Vision", "Golden Years", "Fame". There are then some very interesting if less familiar songs. Cover versions such as "Wild is the Wind", "Knock on Wood". and second version of "John I'm only Dancing". There are also some songs co-written with Brian Eno such as "Heroes", "DJ" and "The Secret Life of Arabia".
On this disc alone we see how Bowie has used so many influences to produce a startling variety of top quality music

So if you have decided to get a compilation to see whether all the fuss about Bowie is justified (it is), I'd highly recommend this one.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 March 2013
'David Bowie' was born 'David Robert Jones' in Brixton, London on January 8th 1947.
An accomplished singer/songwriter .who down the years even featured as an an actor in several movies
Down the years he changed both style and image on several occasions never settling as many do into that
one mould.
He was in my view very influential during the emergence of the glam-rock scene back in the 70's.(Ziggy
Stardust)
His first appearance in the U.K Chart came in 1969 with 'Space Oddity' (one of my all-time favourites) but had to
wait until 1972 before his Chart-Career really took off.
Ironically he only actually achieved five number '1's' in the singles-chart two of which were collaborations, one in
1981 with Queen - 'Under Pressure' and one with 'Mick Jagger' - 'Dancing in the Street' 1985 (not included on-board)
The Solo Chart-Toppers being - (re-released) 'Space Oddity' (1975) - 'Ashes to Ashes' (1980) and 'Let's Dance' (1983)
the album including the latter number 'Let's Dance' perhaps his most successful, though his album's done well overall
down the years.
Until recently, had i been asked how many records 'David Bowie' had sold down the years i'd have probably guessed
somewhat higher than the 140 million (though of course that figure following his passing 10/1/16 will increase some)
This 3-CD Collection is a brilliant reflection upon the music he gave us down the years and is well worth owning.
A very private man who's legacy for the public is indeed his music.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 April 2017
Some great less known tracks and everything very well produced. Many duplicates if you have other 'best off' cd's.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 March 2016
Arrived quickly in post, The Platinum Collection, David Bowie, Well we lost a great singer in Jan 2016, but he has left us some brilliant music, this album has a lot of his hits on this , the only thing is it hasn't got' The Laughing Gnome', on it, which I was a bit disappointed with, because it shows bowie's fun humour he has, but other than that, I would recommend this great CD.
Disc: 1

1. The Jean Genie (1997 Digital Remaster)

2. Space Oddity (1997 Digital Remaster)

3. Starman (1997 Digital Remaster)

4. Ziggy Stardust (1997 Digital Remaster)

5. John, I'm Only Dancing (Sax Version) (1997 Digital Remaster)

6. Rebel Rebel (1997 Digital Remaster)

7. Let's Spend The Night Together (1997 Digital Remaster)

8. Suffragette City (1997 Digital Remaster)

9. Oh! You Pretty Things (1997 Digital Remaster)

10. Velvet Goldmine (1997 Digital Remaster)

11. Drive-In Saturday (1997 Digital Remaster)

12. Diamond Dogs (1997 Digital Remaster)

13. Changes (1997 Digital Remaster)

14. Sorrow (1997 Digital Remaster)

15. The Prettiest Star (1997 Digital Remaster)

16. Life On Mars? (1997 Digital Remaster)

17. Aladdin Sane (1997 Digital Remaster)

18. The Man Who Sold The World (1997 Digital Remaster)

19. Rock 'N' Roll Suicide (1997 Digital Remaster)

20. All The Young Dudes (1997 Digital Remaster)

Disc: 2

1. Sound And Vision (1998 Digital Remaster)

2. Golden Years (Single Version) (1998 Digital Remaster)

3. Fame (1998 Digital Remaster)

4. Young Americans (Single Version) (1998 Digital Remaster)

5. John, I'm Only Dancing (Again) (1998 Digital Remaster)

6. Can You Hear Me (1998 Digital Remaster)

7. Wild Is The Wind (1998 Digital Remaster)

8. Knock On Wood (Live) (1998 Digital Remaster)

9. TVC 15 (Single Version) (1998 Digital Remaster)

10. 1984 (1998 Digital Remaster)

11. It's Hard To Be A Saint In The City

12. Look Back In Anger (1998 Digital Remaster)

13. The Secret Life Of Arabia (1998 Digital Remaster)

14. DJ (1998 Digital Remaster)

15. Beauty And The Beast (1998 Digital Remaster)

16. Breaking Glass (1998 Digital Remaster)

17. Boys Keep Swinging (1998 Digital Remaster)

18. Heroes (Single Version) (1998 Digital Remaster)

Disc: 3

1. Let's Dance (Single Version) (2002 Digital Remaster)

2. Ashes To Ashes (Single Version) (2002 Digital Remaster)

3. Under Pressure (1994 Digital Remaster)

4. Fashion (Single Version) (2002 Digital Remaster)

5. Modern Love (Single Version) (2002 Digital Remaster)

6. China Girl (Single Version) (2002 Digital Remaster)

7. Scary Monsters (And Super Creeps) (Single Version) (2002 Digital Remaster)

8. Up The Hill Backwards (1999 Digital Remaster)

9. Alabama Song (Aufstieg Und Fall Der Stadt Mahagonny) (2005 Digital Remaster)

10. The Drowned Girl

11. Cat People (Putting Out Fire) (Single Version) (2002 Digital Remaster)

12. This Is Not America (2002 Digital Remaster)

13. Loving The Alien (1999 Digital Remaster)

14. Absolute Beginners (Single Version) (2002 Digital Remaster)

15. When The Wind Blows (2002 Digital Remaster)

16. Blue Jean (1999 Digital Remaster)

17. Day-In Day-Out (Single Version) (2002 Digital Remaster)

18. Time Will Crawl (1999 Digital Remaster)

19. Underground (Single Version) (Digitally Remastered '02)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 October 2005
Most Bowie fans will already own the two best of's:- 1969/1974 and 1974/1979, so to shell out just to get the hold of the third disc - 1980/1987 does seem a bit of a rip off and a waste of money (xmas time again). Luckily, I believe that in a few months time the separate disc of 1980/1987 will be available, so all is well.
That said if you don't happen to own any of the separate cd's then this is almost god-dam perfect. The period 1969 - 1979 is very comprehensive and covers more than just the hits and a few album tracks, it covers unique gems such as:- 'Velvet Goldmine', 'All The Young Dudes', 'John I'm Only Dancing (Again)' and 'It's Hard To Be A Saint In The City' etc.
The Eighties started off so well for Bowie with albums:- 'Scary Monsters' and even 'Let's Dance', but after that Bowie got too commercial and very cheesy. Luckily this third disc has been so carefully put together that you wouldn't ever believe that he stuffed up. On this you not only have the three hits off 'Scary Monsters', but also 'Up The Hill Backwards', plus rarities like:- 'The Alabama Song', 'Drowned Girl', 'Cat People (single version)', 'Underground', 'When The Wind Blows', and the best cuts off the 'Alway's Lets Me Down' album (you wouldn't want to play all of it!). Luckily, they've ommited 'Dancing In The Street', which is, let's face it, cheesy, embarrassing pants.
Finally, I dare say that in a few years time, there will be a best of:- '1989/1997' and '1999/200?', - so bring it on!
0Comment| 65 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)