Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
15
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: VHS Tape|Change
Price:£24.00+ £2.80 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 December 2004
As amusing as this is, it is NOT the original and superior black and white film from 1967. It is in fact a Thames Television production from 1979 - The fashions and occasional R and S registration cars around make this clear.
0Comment| 71 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2006
As the earlier review. This is a poor remake done in the 70's it is shorter, missing scenes and even some of the cast are different. The original was a "B" movie for cinema release made in 1967 & in monochrome.
Trip down memory lane, but not wholly as depicted.
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2008
Having seen the original Eric Sykes and Tommy Coopper version back in the 60s I decided to buy a copy not realising that this is the 1979 version and although it is funny it is nowhere near as good, proving it is essential to check all the detail with old and new versions around. I will however keep the new version as Amazon's package of "The Plank, It's your Move, Rhubarb Rhubard and Mr H is Late" is a good deal at £11.05 (EUR 14.80). It is worth noting that the original version of The Plank (now as a DVD) is cheaper elsewhere on the Web.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2009
I like this version of 'The Plank' better than the earlier version (Sykes & Tommy Cooper) I dont need a laugh track but otherwise its great and I would recommend buying it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2012
This is an old show, sadly now very dated. However it is still extremely funny if you are 'of a certain age' (which I am). Whether or not the current crop of TV comedy watchers would even begin to understand this sort of comedy is worth a thought or two.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2007
despite amazon's or the distributors error in the dating of the product, this is still a classic piece of silent 'slap stick' comedy created by comic legends.

i first saw this thames television 1979 version on VHS in the late 80's before i ever saw the original with tommy cooper. at only about 8 years of age i loved it. it paid homage to the original with a well recognised cast and shortened length to the original it created a faster pace to the story line and opened up "the plank" to a whole new audience, who un-doubtedly went on to source out the original.

as for "it's your move" another classic piece of slap stick silent comedy as the legend eric sykes and tommy cooper star as haphazard removal men aiding a couple move into their first home.

the humour is reminiscent to laurel & hardy and although the laughter and gags may seem dated in this day and age there is very little out there today that utilises the original form of comedy that is slap-stick.

also check out rhubarb rhubarb and mr H is late. all classic, slient shorts from the same legend that is eric sykes.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2007
The Plank (this is not the 1967 version)
We had a good laugh at this on Christmas afternoon and it was fun to see who could spot the past stars of film and telly. I am afraid this is not as funny as the original Sykes & Cooper antics in the woodyard.
I will now be buying the original 1967 version and would recommend that to all fans of classic British silent comedy.
It's Your Move
Very clearly a programme made for television and not one I will be watching too often.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2013
I remeber this from years ago and recently bought it. I played it with all the family here and everyone old and youg laughed outloud
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2012
An excellent comedy video suitable for all ages. Eric Sykes is a master comedian and deserves many accolades for his performances
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2012
I own both this and the original version of The Plank and I have to say I prefer this 1979 version to the original. Hilarious!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here