Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
20
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£3.47
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 January 2013
This book jumps about a bit at the start, as if the first few chapters were going to be another book but then the author changed their mind and then quickly skimmed over the story so that they could concentrate on the planet wrecker story instead. Very little characterisation takes place in the story. Not a problem if you've followed the series through but might put off anyone who is reading it as a standalone story.

Having said that, the story starts to pick up nicely following the delayed start and the tension builds. Can the combined forces of the High Born and Social Unity stop the Planet Wreckers from wiping out all life on Earth? Whatever happens on Earth can the characters in space survive the surprises and hidden agendas of their allies? Can they trust each other as allies?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2013
Just when I thought this series couldn't get any better, Vaughn brings the premen, cyborgs and high born into a doomsday situation. The action is fast, the technical information (even with regards to the formation of volcanic craters on the asteroids) really makes these books. Really looking forward to reading book 6 now. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2011
I agree with the previous reviewer & cannot wait for Book 6. Book 5 continues the saga, with some interesting twists along the way. My only (tiny) criticism is that in Book 4 we had the war from the perspective of the Cyborgs as well as the other parties involved, and in this book it was almost completely missing except for a little at the start. But the quality of the writing continues unabated. Mr Heppner has real style, and I enjoy very much (I think he's been criticised for this in other reviews) the sheer physics involved in space warfare, with gravity wells around planets, or landing on fast moving asteroids. It makes the story telling far more real than just flying around in straight lines from A to B like most sci-fi.I Personally think this series would make a great film/or video game script.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2012
I love this series but this book just seemed tierd. The baddies trying to destroy Earth in the same way they did in the last book was enjoyable to read but not the page turner of the others in the series.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2015
This the 5th book in the series as got to be the best so far. I hope the next 2 are as good. Their is plenty of action and intrigue, some very good sci fi a must read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2012
Well written with a good plot which spans he whole series of Doom Star novels. Highly recommended but you must really read all the books in the series once you start
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2011
I have read all the rest in series and finished this one in record time. Buy it.... Now need book six....please Vaughn.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2016
Good read and worth the outlay. I have enjoyed this series and look forward to reading the next instalment. Action packed sci fi is the order of the day
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2013
THE BOOK SERIES IS WELL PUT TOGETHER AND VERY ENJOYABLE
IT IS GOOD TO SEE A STORY THAT FOLLOWS ON AND DOESN,T JUMP ALL OVER THE PLACE
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2015
Wow,wow,wow took me 4 days to read this never put the kindle down, superb absolutely absorbing, brilliant again rule martin
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£2.78

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.