Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 18 July 2017
My granddaughter (7) loves it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 September 2017
Brilliant
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 28 November 2010
Our family has found books in this series on Punctuation and Maths very useful and "Chemistry" is another great title in the series. It is a readable and accessible introduction to chemistry terms and concepts. Very enjoyable - our eleven year-old daughter finds it interesting (quite an achievement). I wish books like this had been around when I was starting secondary school. This book would probably suit those starting chemistry in their first years at secondary school - say ages 11 to 15. One slight issue I have with it is the small size: the Punctuation and Maths books are a nicely sized seven inches square. This one is only five inches square. Nevertheless it is a very well written introduction.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 November 2010
Kingfisher/2010

From the back cover:-

'Imagine the planet we all call home as a crowd of cool globe-building characters, each with its own personality.
This book is your essential guide to the down-to-earth guys who keep the world in motion.'

Measuring in at c 12.75 cm square this is a neat little book, created by Basher and written by Dan Gilpin.
Colourful paperback covers open to 128 high quality, shiny pages, split into chapters:-

Earth (pg 6-7)
Chapter 1 - The Insiders (pg 8-27)
Chapter 2 - Going Global (pg 28-37)
Chapter 3 - Landlubbers (pg 38-51)
Chapter 4 - Wet! Wet! Wet! (pg 52-67)
Chapter 5 - Weather Gang (pg 68-97)
Chapter 6 - Lively Crew (pg 98-123)

with an introduction, a 3-page glossary and an index......completed with a fold away poster attached to the back inner cover.

Each chapter has an opening double-page spread with the introduction on the left-hand page and the 'characters', i.e. the following topics, on the right.
Each topic follows the same format, a one or 2-page spread giving key information in three bullet points at the top and bottom, with general text in between, along with a coloured 'fact box' at the foot of the page.

Opening with 'Eratosthenes' and finishing with 'Conservation', this is a useful bite-size information book which is presented in a way which makes learning fun without really realising!
I have to admit that I picked up some information I didn't previously know, reading through this relatively easy-to-digest mini-reference!

Example of text:-

From 'El Niño' (one of the 'Weather Gang'):-

* A mischievous scamp who affects Earth's climate
* Changes Water movement in the Pacific every four years or so
* His name is Spanish and means 'the little boy'

As a tricksy character, always game for a laugh, I mess about with currents in the Pacific Ocean and affect Weather all over the globe. I might be a bit of a kid at heart but after Seasons, I have the largest impact on Climate*.
Even now, the havoc I wreak gets blamed on global warming. Oh I do love getting away with stuff like that.........'

(*All the topics/characters, e.g. 'Climate', have a capital letter when it appears in the general text, so it is easy to identify and look up in the index to find out more information.)

So if you need some quick info about 'Precipitation', 'Greenhouse Effect', 'Tundra', 'Coral Reef', 'Ice Cap' and e.g.:-

'Volcano:-
....some say I'm like a big spot. Well, yeah, I do break out on Earth's surface, fill up with angry liquid and grow until I erupt........'

to name but a few...
then, this is the book for you!

One of a rapidly growing series which includes:-

Periodic Table
Astronomy
Rocks & Minerals

and........ coming soon:-

Punctuation: The Write Stuff

and

Maths : A Book You Can Count On
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 April 2010
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Kingfisher/2010

From the back cover:

'Imagine the planet we all call home as a crowd of cool globe-building characters, each with its own personality.
This book is your essential guide to the down-to-earth guys who keep the world in motion.'

Measuring in at c 12.75 cm square this is a neat little book, created by Basher and written by Dan Gilpin.
Colourful paperback covers open to 128 high quality, shiny pages, split into chapters:

Earth (pg 6-7)
Chapter 1 - The Insiders (pg 8-27)
Chapter 2 - Going Global (pg 28-37)
Chapter 3 - Landlubbers (pg 38-51)
Chapter 4 - Wet! Wet! Wet! (pg 52-67)
Chapter 5 - Weather Gang (pg 68-97)
Chapter 6 - Lively Crew (pg 98-123)

with an introduction, a 3-page glossary and an index......completed with a fold away poster attached to the back inner cover.

Each chapter has an opening double-page spread with the introduction on the left-hand page and the 'characters', i.e. the following topics, on the right.
Each topic follows the same format, a one or 2-page spread giving key information in three bullet points at the top and bottom, with general text in between, along with a coloured 'fact box' at the foot of the page.

Opening with 'Eratosthenes' and finishing with 'Conservation', this is a useful bite-size information book which is presented in a way which makes learning fun without really realising!
I have to admit that I picked up some information I didn't previously know, reading through this relatively easy-to-digest mini-reference!

Example of text: From 'El Niño' (one of the 'Weather Gang'):

* A mischievous scamp who affects Earth's climate
* Changes Water movement in the Pacific every four years or so
* His name is Spanish and means 'the little boy'

As a tricksy character, always game for a laugh, I mess about with currents in the Pacific Ocean and affect Weather all over the globe. I might be a bit of a kid at heart but after Seasons, I have the largest impact on Climate*.
Even now, the havoc I wreak gets blamed on global warming. Oh I do love getting away with stuff like that.........'

(*All the topics/characters, e.g. 'Climate', have a capital letter when it appears in the general text, so it is easy to identify and look up in the index to find out more information.)

So if you need some quick info about 'Precipitation', 'Greenhouse Effect', 'Tundra', 'Coral Reef', 'Ice Cap' and e.g.:

'Volcano:
....some say I'm like a big spot. Well, yeah, I do break out on Earth's surface, fill up with angry liquid and grow until I erupt........'

to name but a few...then, this could be the book for you!

One of a rapidly growing series which includes:

Periodic Table
Astronomy
Rocks & Minerals
Punctuation: The Write Stuff
Maths : A Book You Can Count On
review imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview image
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 5 May 2010
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I found this book interesting and informative BUT I also found it too abstract in it's approach to giving this information to the reader considering it is directed at children.

The illustrations can be a little hard to decipher, they are not as clear as they could be. For instance, a figure with a 'volcano' was really difficult to distinguish as a volcano. That can also be said for the rest of the illustrations.

I was also not too keen on the way the written content was used.
This may be confusing for younger children or it could be old age related. Something you must make up your own mind about.

'I am a volcano and I...' or 'I am the wind, sun, desert etc etc' coupled with non-descript illustrations can only confuse.

However if you can get your head around the style it is written in and the illustrations that are used it is quite a good book.

Not for young children though, and any child over 8 may want more than it can give.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 26 December 2011
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Without chemical reactions, bioligical life on earth would not be possible, and without an understanding of how chemistry works, humans would not have made any of the scientific advancements that are familiar in the twentieth century, such as computing, pharmaceuticals and food production technology. This little book, measuring 10cm x 10cm, with 128 bright, informative pages is a lovely introduction to a fundamental aspect of the universe and our lives. It would be ideal for any child from age 8 up to age 11 or 12.

The book is split up into 8 chapters, dealing with 1. Basic States - which explains solids, liquids, gases, melting points, mixtures, elements, compounds etc. 2. Nuts and Bolts - explains what elements are made up, and explains isotopes, metallic bonding, nanoparticles and molecules, etc 3. Nasty Boys - explains acids and alkalis, 4. Lab Rats - explains the basic instruments that you might find in a lab, such as bunsen burners, test tubes, pipettes and explains the basic experimental processes that are carried out in a lab, 5. Organic chemistry, 6. Bright Sparks - explains the basic types of chemical reaction that occur and what makes them occur, intoducing concepts such as catalysts and activation energies , 7. Earthy Resources - tells you about how humans use the chemical resources of the earth, such as air, water, metals and rocks 8. Chemicals for Life - explains something about the chemical reactions that go on inside the human body and support life.

The scope is very wide, and the information in each of these chapters is concise, but fascinating and useful. Of course, the stand out feature of this series of books is the snappy, accessible language and the bright, simple illustrations. It would be ideal for a young child (about 8 years) who is interested in science or specifically in chemistry, and would also be good reading for a slighty older child who might want to read around the subject, and get a useful overview of what chemisty is about.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 August 2010
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
My children love the bright colours and cartoon nature of this book. They enjoyed this one so much that when we went to the library they picked up a couple more from the series. It is difficult to get smaller children interested in anything 'educational', but the fun nature of this book is enough to get their interest and keep it for more than a 'quick flick'!

It is great for answering 'those questions' that kids ask about things that we don't overly think about; such as "why does it rain?" or "why does it get windy?". When we had thunder last week my 6-year-old daughter said "Oh I think I should read about this in the "Planet Earth Book", so we sat together and read all about the weather. It was such a change for her to pull out a book because she knew there was something in it that she wanted to talk about.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 19 August 2010
Enormous fun for the youngsters. Bright and cheerful, with fun and interesting text which will (and has!) provoked more questions. Just the right size to pop into a bag for travelling and will help pass long car journeys!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 December 2012
My 10-year-old is just getting into chemistry while my 15-year-old is struggling with more advanced concepts in high school. When this book came in the mail, my smaller son read through it and said, "Wow! What a great introduction!" Then my high schooler leafed through it and said, "I should have had this book a couple years ago! Now everything makes sense!" So, whether you're new to chemistry, or just need to brush up on concepts you willfully forgot after high school testing, this is a perfect book. The Basher Series is like the best sort of alchemy -- it'll turn your kids into interested students and closet geeks.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse