Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited 4 months for £0.99 Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 24 April 2017
I found the Pilot episode of this crime detection drama series something of a struggle to watch at first, but stuck
with it and ended up liking the format. It is set in a fictional department of the International Criminal Court in The
Hague, Netherlands, and concerns a small unit of detectives under the direction of Michel Dorn, an officer of
the ICC played by Donald Sutherland. He has control of a few selected specialists who have been chosen to
work under Major Louis Daniel (Marc Lavoine) solving cross border crimes and often treading on the toes of
the local police.
I found most of the episodes relatively believable but other aspects of the series seemed contrived.
The character of Sebastian Berger played by Tom Wlaschiha as the unit IT boffin was notable as was the part
of Tommy McConnell played by Richard Flood they really seemed to fit their roles perfectly.

Being set in Paris, Nice and Prague, gives a freshness and truly European feel to the show and makes it less
run of the mill than some similar police dramas. The copy which I received was in English, but the writing was
all in Dutch.
It took me a while to warm to it, but I liked it eventually.

Released in 2013
3 discs
No English Subtitles.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2017
2 seasons in, absolutely fantastic, but the 3rd is charged by Amazon. I'm a Prime member...hellooooo. It's not a ploy I like very much, so Amazon I will not succumb as much as I'd love to.
The series is fast paced, not overly intricate in details but gritty, heartfelt and sincere it most definitely is. It's a great series with great acting by all and very good plots. I would love to watch the whole 3 series but I will not be blackmailed by Amazon.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2017
I was tempted to watch this because of the decent looking cast and what sounds like a good idea for a cop series. Unfortunately the writers couldn't decide if its a cop thriller or a soap/drama and it ends up being neither, just very annoying. The actors struggle to deliver their lines in cliche ridden stories. You cant polish a turd, avoid this, its a total waste of talent and time.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2017
Ive just watched the pilot and it passed the "5 minute rule" and Im into part 2,
Some of the minor characters in the team seem a bit like "padding", but perhaps they'll develop?
What really prompted me to give this a five is the amazing number of "1" reviews citing poor writing, lack of plot and wooden acting.
For me .. it got passed five minutes without me switching off, it seems like someone has it in for this series though...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2017
This is one of the best series I have ever watched, William Fichtner is a great character, softly spoken (like Clint Eastwood) not saying too much but just watch the expressions on his face, the whole team are good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2017
I love the pace of this and seeing different places. I love the characters too. Love solving mysteries. More please.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2017
The idea is good, the cast is good, however - the plots are shallow and the fast wrap ups spoils it further...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2017
EXCELLENT.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2014
It's quite unnerving to think that serial killers are no longer confined to one nation's concern, as shown in this riveting series, when a serial killer can operate in several countries and never be caught by any local police. The concept of an international body to track similar crimes committed in various countries is innovative and functions well in the series. The plots are tightly woven and reflect the direction humanity is travelling in.... a little disturbing. However they are gripping and the actors from Donald Sutherland's mastery to Gabriella Pession (brains & beauty) play their roles extremely well. More realistic than the similar USA type series of crime. Highly suggested
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2014
Crossing Lines is about a team of police officers from a variety of European countries and one guy from America who together solve cross-border crimes. As crime dramas go it's not bad, but not outstanding either. The first couple of episodes serve only to introduce the characters, but are otherwise pretty lame, and in parts excruciatingly badly written. At one point in episode 1, the American character is introduced by each of the others saying a fact about him - awfully artificial. In the second episode, while the team are on the trail of a serial killer who has kidnapped one of their colleagues, two of the characters indulge in idiotic flirting, totally at odds with the plot.

The series does improve as it goes on though, and by the end of the ten episodes I was left interested enough to want to see the next series.

The original dialogue is in English (this is a German DVD but you can select the original English audio) - however not all the actors speak good enough English. Marc Lavoine, the French actor who plays Louis, has English that is not only heavily accented but also delivered in a robotic way with no "feel" for the rhythm of the language. He is clearly a good actor but his English lets him down here. Tom Wlaschiha on the other hand is brilliant in his role as Sebastien (tech expert), and special mention should be made of William Fichtner who is outstanding as usual.

The locations are good (various across Europe), but don't expect too much accuracy - they travel around by either helicopter or high-speed Thalys trains, but often cover vast distances so quickly that you'd think they had the power of teleportation! They also seem to carry guns across borders with alarming ease! Lots that isn't realistic, but if you can ignore that then it's fairly entertaining overall.
11 Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£14.99
£12.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)