Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
13
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio Download|Change
Price:£6.10
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 8 January 2004
This book contains a vast number of 'true' stories, either involving Barry Cryer, witnessed by him or told to him. Although Barry Cryer is one of my most favourite comedians, I was a bit disappointed with this book. Somehow the stories didn't seem so funny on paper as they do when he tells them. There were some genuinely funny stories that made me laugh out loud, though these were in the minority. Most were amusing, causing a brief smile rather than a laugh. Some were familiar too, such as Humphrey Lyttleton, 'orthinology' and 'word botching.'

An easy, light-hearted read, but not a true reflection of such a great comic. Listen to recordings of 'I'm Sorry I Haven't A Clue' or see 'Barry Cryer: The First Farewell Tour' for a real dose of authentic Cryer humour!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2004
Barry Cryer has been around since cavemen first chuckled at their neighbours slipping on banana skins and this very funny little volume packs more laughs into its pages than the average Ken Dodd stand up routine. I enjoyed it immensely. It's really a collection of anecdotes, but Mr Cryer has a particularly intimate style of writing which makes his book stand out among many similar gag collections available. Reading it is rather like standing in the pub listening the the man himself as he flits from one subject to another. "Pigs Can Fly" is an easy read and ideal for dipping into. Dump the Prozac in the bin Doris, Bazza isn't guaranteed to be non-addictive, but he'll put a broad smile on your face.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 4 July 2016
Barry Cryer is one of those people who seems to be have been around forever, and in a successful 50-plus career as a comedian, writer, and panellist, he naturally has some good stories to tell.

'Pigs Can Fly' is my no means a full-scale autobiography, it's a collection of short, and witty anecdotes, which involve himself, and other people. There is no narrative structure to it's 168 pages, just lots of random, genuinely amusing, one-after-the-other little tales. Barry writes about the many household names he's worked with or encountered in his varied entertainment career, ranging from the late and the great such as Thora Third, Bernard Manning, Frankie Howard, and Danny La Rue, to people who are still with us like Paul O'Grady, and Russell Grant, as well as lesser-known, and almost completely forgotten, but nevertheless seemingly very colourful characters.

I do like Barry, although would never really consider myself a true fan of his, in the sense that I'd go out of my way to watch something with him in it, but I do respect his talents and longevity in what is a very competitive, notoriously fickle business. I enjoyed dipping in and out of 'Pigs Can Fly', which provides good light-hearted reading, and a treasure trove of celebrity gossip. If you appreciate the old-school kind of comic, then you'll really enjoy this one, and find find some good stories about a few of your other favourites from the past.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Barry Cryer is very much a British comedy institution due to the fact that he's penned many a witty line in his time and has appeared with many of the comedy greats and was a stalwart of 'I'm Sorry I Haven't a Clue.' He first came to my attention whilst hosting a series of the BBC's 'Stand Up Show' in which he acted as MC and seemed to amuse an audience with wit and humour and he's often utilised as a talking head in various 'best of comedy' clip shows.

This book is a series of anecdotes which were either experienced by Cryer or were told to him, some of which are more amusing than others. There are some solid laughs for comedy fans and I hadn't realised until reading one of Cryer's tales that comedy legends Frankie Howerd and Benny Hill died on the same weekend (apparently journalists tried to contact Hill to obtain a quote about Howerd's demise and found the latter dead in his flat.) Some of the stories would strike a cord with a slightly older reader than me, but otherwise I loved this book, because of its short, snappy style and anecdotal style it's easy to pick up and put down at will. Cryer's prose flows well, as would be expected of a writer of his calibre and his ironic euphamisms made me laugh "He was no stranger to the grape..." A great book, really enjoyable and well worth a read for any true comedy fan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2009
It takes a lot to make me lugh out loud but Barry did just that with this collection of anecdotes. What is wrong with some of the other reviewers...sense of humour bypass
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2013
Lots of showbiz anecdotes from one of the greatest raconteurs of our time. Good condition as described. Made me laugh out loud.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2014
This book is exactly the same as Butterfly Brain with just a few different lines inserted. I've been deliberately cheated.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2014
Brilliant collection of showbiz anecdotes. Barry is in top form here.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2016
Ordered for my friend. She enjoyed it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2015
Great anecdotes - very funny
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)