Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 March 2017
Exquisite images, inspiring text, and encouragements all along the way!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2010
I'm fairly new to more serious photography and ordered a few photography books including this one at the same time from Amazon. Of the three I ordered I would put this at the bottom of the list. It's ok, there are some great pictures and some entertaining stories, but there is little technical information on each individual shot apart from the camera and lens used i.e. no information on aperture, shutter speed or filters used.

I also ordered Ian Camerons 'Transient Light' at the same time and found this much more interesting and useful. I think Ian Cameron tries to share his experience more through his book whereas I feel David Noton's book is just more of a showcase for his work. There is more useful information on David Notons website and you can also view most of the pictures in this book there as well, so slightly disappointed...

Just for the record, the other book I ordered at the same time was the RSPB guide to Digital Wildlife Photography. If you also have an interest in Wildlife Photography, it's worth a look.
33 Comments| 55 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2008
This lovely book of Notons best work is perfect for any photographer needing a bit of inspiration. Beautifully detailed colour images and interesting text are combined for a perfect match of creative and technical skill. The journal entries are engaging and make this lovely edition much more than just your average photography book.
If you buy one photography book this year, make it Waiting For The Light.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2008
David Noton is well known both for his photography and for his very accessible articles in a number of photography magazines. This book doesnt disappoint on either score: a range of fantastic photographs, each with an illuminating backstory, accompanied by longer sections that give some real insight into David's approach to photography.

Great to dip into when looking for inspiration and a good read to boot - the best photography book I've bought in quite a while.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2009
Then you will enjoy this book. Noton is a well established Landscape Photographer and this book not only shows off his work it gives an insight into the thinking that created each image, the life of a proffessional photographer and more importantly, for me, some useful (i really mean useful ) tips from the trade. I recommend this book to anyone aspiring to take a landscape image whether it be for private, public or for profit, there is much in it for you.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2009
A really enjoyable book on a number of different levels and fully merits the 5 stars others have given:

Images are great and the book would be a good one if there was nothing more than this: the pictures are nicely printed and of a reasonable size (not the case in many books), the glossy paper helps.

Very good insight into the thinking behind how David Noton creates his images without going into lots of technical detail. He has an easygoing accessible style and a sense of humour.

Gives you a good view of what life as a photographer might be like (involves a lot of dedication and hard work).

Can be read straight through or almost as a series of articles: It's a nice mix that includes photo essays and journals- Good value as it is only the price of 3 or 4 magazines. I'm thinking about buying the DVD and landscapes are not my specialty!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2010
This book is quite good.

It is written in an enjoyable, conversational style, just like that used by the late Patrick Lichfield in his book 'Lichfield on Photography'. David Noton doesn't bamboozle the reader with unnecessary technical details, or techno-babble as he calls it. As you read the text of each chapter, and the notes of the photographs, he gives guidance on the making of a good photograph - "creating strong images" - as if he were speaking to you person-to-person.

Again and again you will read in this book that to take a good photograph you will need more than just a camera and other equipment: as he rightly points-out, a camera is just a tool of the job. Mr Noton is not just an accomplished landscape photographer: as he provides details of what is necessary during a day's shooting, there are many snippets of useful techniques that too many snappers are not aware of. Clearly, in many of his photographs, Mr Noton uses the direction of the light to show the form of the subject, a fundamental principle taught in art and photography but the unenlightened follow the myth that 'the sun must be behind the photographer'. It is difficult to find advice on this matter. Eventually I found, towards the end of the book, "To have shot earlier would have given me flat frontal lighting, which I hate....". I agree with the author about the best lighting in forests.

In the 'Mechanics' chapter he points-out several facts, for example in the RAW versus JPEG/TIFF debate, but continues not to over use technical details.

You will soon realise, and several times whilst reading this book, why he chose the title 'Waiting for the Light'. This book gives inspiration as well as guidance.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2011
""Waiting for the Light" is a breathtaking visual celebration of photographer David Noton's work to date, including some of the world's finest landscape photography." - Absolutely

"David offers amateurs and professionals inspirational and practical advice on how to achieve this in their own work." - not so much.

Another reviewer said the same thing, fantastic images and showcase of the mans work.
Info about replicating it or learning - not much.

Inspiringly gorgeous images landscape wise though. Most taken with a film camera , a panoramic one no less, No mention of how to replicate such a feat with a standard digital frame. (okay it's easy but still, think it would have got a mention).

I'm semi pro for reference (if that makes a difference)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2008
A fabulous book.
I just wish it was available in a larger format so none of the photos were spread across two pages.
No matter - if you like landscape and travel photography you're bound to be impressed.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2009
This is a really good book on landscape photography. The Images are excellent and the book itself reads really well. David Noton is passionate and dedicated about his work, and it shows.I have a shelf full of photographic books, this one is up with the best.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)