Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 May 2016
I like Harold Davis but this book was a disappointment. It's not cheap but I expected something more substantial. One third of the book is nothing but botany lessons. One of the interesting aspects - "Creating the Illusion of Transparency" is so vague as to be pretty well useless. It's almost as if the author didn't quite want to let you in to his secrets.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2015
The authors enthusiasm for flower photography shines though. I originally bought this book to seek advice regarding light box usage, layering and how Photoshop is involved in such attractive images.
I was slightly surprised initially by the botanical bias in the initial text, but in retrospect I definitely think this helped my understanding of how to develop my interest in this area.
The last part of the book gives good information on how the digital darkroom is involved.
A worthwhile buy!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2016
An excellent guide to making painterly photographs of flowers. Several techniques are well explained and the effects are amazing. Not your usual macro photography book but more of an art lesson with your camera. A very good book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2017
An excellent book that tells you pretty much all you need to know about photographing flowers
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2017
If you are in to Macro, yes go for it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2017
Lack of technical content. Lot of useless information of what he photographed where but not how he did it. The information on how to create images with translucency was limited.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2013
It inspired me to go out and photograph flowers - say no more! Great ideas and techniques, excellent examples. Had to go out and buy a portable reflector..
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2012
... it's although a book about flowers. Not only as on object in a picture but as a living beauty - a living creature.

Davis put a lot of pictures together, to show us, what he thinks is important to take a good macro-shot of a blossom. He tell us, what do you have to consider while taking a picture in the garden or in your studio - if you own one -. So every picture comes with a description about the aperture, if he used a tripod and and and. He will tell you, what is important while working with a light-box, especially how to treat the flowers right.

The second core - or perhaps the main - core of this book are the beautiful pictures of flowers. Roses, orchids, flowers of your meadow or from the park just opposite your street. It's just a joy to look at all the different blossoms. Apart from the explanations this book is a picture-book for photographers, hobby-photographers and people, who enjoy looking at beautiful flowers. And because this is a macro-picture-book you will discover a lot of interesting and uncommon views of flowers.

The last theme is the biological view on the flowers. Davis descripes the origin and the latin name of the flower, how many species of this concrete flower exists. Although you will learn something about gender and reproduction. But don't be afraid, it's not an academic book; you will only learn, what you have to learn for taking wonderful pictures of flowers and their very own characteristics.

So, this a a book with three books inside, very interesting, very lovely pictures and a book you will take more than one time in your hands. 5 stars.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2012
Was very disappointed with this book, had purchased other books by this author and found them to be very informative but this one falls short of the mark. Very short on information and content. Some stuff repeated form his other books, always feel cheated when authors do that.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2013
The first book I bought by Harold Davis was on flower photography, and his techniques have transformed my approach to this, and many other, photographic subjects. The use of a lightbox, and shooting multiple photos at different exposures, and then combining them in Photoshop, was all new to me. But Harold takes the reader through it all, step by step, with many examples to illustrate his methods.

His use of different Blend modes with layer masks, applied to the technique described above is jaw-droppingly simple, but HUGELY effective. I'm now routinely able to extend tonal range without the usual hideous HDR characteristics.

Then I bought The Way of the Digital Photographer. It's rare for me to buy books, because I normally do my learning from online sources. Harold's philosophy and teaching are clear and easy to follow. Even when he changes gear and becomes more technical, he explains his methods in a step by step fashion that's very successful. He's humorous too, which helps!

What I especially like is that he gives worked examples of every technique, and, like every good teacher, moves from the simple to the complex, and from the familiar to the unfamiliar, recapping at every stage. As an ex-teacher-trainer myself I'd say his writing/teaching is impressive.

Then along came Harold's Monochromatic HDR Photography. Which I bought! I thought I had already learned lots about post-processing from his previous books, but Harold takes it to a whole new level - with stunning results.

All the books are must-haves for those photographers who want to produce the very finest work that the digital negative contains.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)