Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
12
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
5
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 December 2000
A very easy to use, accurate, photographic guide allowing rapid identification of all reef fishes seen whilst snorkeling or diving. The photographs are very true to life, unlike many other guides. The information given is useful without being excessive. If you're thinking of snorkeling or diving in the Maldives then buy it!
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2000
An excellent and concise reference guide for those wishing to identify the marine life while diving or snorkeling. Finding your sightings is made easy, as the guide covers only the fish you will encounter in the Maldives. It's was much quicker and more accurate to identify what you had seen compared to other field guides, which may cover a much wider range of fish but have too many confusing similar species. An invaluable purchase...
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2004
When planning our travel to Maldives I browsed the marine life guides available. In front of other guides covering all marine life (including shells, slugs and so on) I decided to buy this more specific one because I thought it would include nearly all fishes in the islands. But, to my surprise, I could not find anything about sharks or rays. The book is nice, handy and the photographs are useful to identify fishes... but sharks ARE fishes...
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2000
A much needed accesory after seeing so many varied fish ammong the reefs. Proved very accurate in most cases. Definately worth the investment. Cost upwards of 40 dollars if bruoght at resort
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2003
A great book, lovely photo's and good descriptions. Its a real shame it doesn't cover Sharks, Rays and other things found under water in the Maldives! Great book to take with you on holiday but frustrating that it doesn't cover all marine life. So remember to buy a shark and Ray book aswell... (A ploy to make you spend more money perhaps!?)
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2015
This is a truly excellent photo guide to virtually all species you may encounter on the shallow reefs snd beaches of the archipelago but misses out on 5 stars imply because, as mentioned by a previous reviewer it omits the sharks and rays - albeit these are only a few reef dwelling species but they still count as a valid section of the ichthyofauna. It is beconing a very hard to find and increasingly expensive title - perhaps the publishers could consider a reprint?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2011
Reviewed for web site:- whats that fish. The first and best book I ever used for the Maldives, other books come and go but this stays! A must have for any diver! This and the Maldives were the inspiration for the web site!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2010
An awesome book that proves an invaluable resource if you are thinking of diving or snorkelling in the Maldives. Stunning photography and adequate description make this a must have. Please note that the book does not include sharks or rays - I'm not clear why that is. Nonethe less, the best book available for fish in the maldives in my opinion, by far.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2014
Considering this book was second hand we were surprised by how new it looked. It's now out of print so this was the only way to get it for our trip to the Maldives.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2013
The book is an excellent reference on the subject, shame it is out of print and only available second hand at a premium price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse