Pettersson: Symphonies No... has been added to your Basket

Pettersson: Symphonies Nos 5 & 7 [Norrköping Symphony Orchestra; Christian Lindberg] [Bis: BIS2240] Hybrid SACD, SACD

5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

Price: £15.73 & FREE UK Delivery on orders dispatched by Amazon over £20. Delivery Details
See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Audio CD, SACD, Hybrid SACD, 27 Apr 2018
£10.17 £14.82
In stock.
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
Buy a CD or Vinyl record and get 3 months free Amazon Music Unlimited
With the purchase of a CD or Vinyl record dispatched from and sold by Amazon, you get three months free access to the Amazon Music Unlimited Individual plan. After your purchase, you will receive an email with further information. Terms and Conditions apply. Learn more.

Only on Amazon: One product for every need Only on Amazon: New Releases

Frequently bought together

  • Pettersson: Symphonies Nos 5 & 7 [Norrköping Symphony Orchestra; Christian Lindberg] [Bis: BIS2240]
  • +
  • Rachmaninov: Piano Concerto No.3; Variations on a Theme of Corelli [Boris Giltburg; Royal Scottish Symphony Orchestra; Carlos Miguel Prieto; Carlos Miguel Prieto] [Naxos: 8573630]
Total price: £24.59
Buy the selected items together

Product details

  • Audio CD (27 April 2018)
  • Please Note: Requires SACD-compatible hardware
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Hybrid SACD, SACD
  • Label: Bis
  • ASIN: B079P95KCC
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 89,493 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Beginning
  2. Figure 17
  3. Figure 43
  4. Figure 129
  5. Beginning
  6. Bar 53
  7. Bar 172
  8. Bar 255
  9. Bar 311
  10. Bar 389
  11. Bar 432
  12. Bar 450
  13. Bar 512
  14. Bar 564
  15. Bar 613
  16. Bar 648
  17. Bar 707

Product description

Product Description

A characteristic trait in Allan Pettersson's music is the use of strong contrasts shifts between an enormous intensity and calm relaxation, between complex and violently dissonant passages and peaceful, simple melodies and harmonies. This certainly applies to both works recorded here by the Norrkoping Symphony Orchestra and Christian Lindberg the composer's Fifth and Seventh Symphonies. Premiered in 1963 and 1968 respectively, these two symphonies contributed substantially to Pettersson's public standing during the 1960s. The Fifth earned him the music prize of the newspaper Expressen, while at the same time Pettersson's extensive use of traditional harmony, particularly in the slow ending of the work, caused a number of commentators to criticize it as 'outmoded'. In 1964, the symphony probably contributed to Pettersson being selected as one of the first recipients of a public remuneration scheme for composers, which guaranteed them a lifelong minimum income. Four years later, the first performance of Symphony No. 7 was conducted by Antal Dorati, the dedicatee of the work. The event is often described as Pettersson's 'breakthrough', and Dorati's recording of the work in 1969 with the Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra earned the performers and the composer a 'Swedish Grammy' Award. Pettersson's Seventh remains the most recorded and most frequently performed of all of his works. It is heard on disc in a performance from what are widely regarded as the leading Pettersson interpreters of our time.


The Norrköping players are once again on superb form, responding to Lindberg's advocacy just as keenly; but then this music is in their blood… Lindberg's understanding of the idiom may be incontestably the deepest of any previous interpreter; but what caught my ear as much in both symphonies was the orchestral balance, with so much of the detail coming through as never before. Simply wonderful. --Gramophone, July '18

1 customer review

5.0 out of 5 stars

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Showing 1-1 of 1 reviews

1 May 2018
11 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse

Most helpful customer reviews on 5.0 out of 5 stars 1 reviews
Dean Frey
5.0 out of 5 starsThe best introduction into Pettersson's dark and serious world
27 April 2018 - Published on
9 people found this helpful.

What other items do customers buy after viewing this item?

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?