Learn more Download now Shop now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars

on 16 April 2014
Peter - The World is a collection of short poetries inspired by the tale Peter:a Darkened Fairytale.
This is the first volume of the collections, probably the one that left me more amazed between the all of them.
Maybe because I was not expecting this kind of work: it's not easy to "translate" a tale into short poems that can free your mind to "manipulate" and get deep into a narrated story.
Mr O'Brien managed to this in a brilliant way, with a rich and intriguing wirting style which will involve you into a fantastic world of magic.
Definitely a reading recommended for bed time stories!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 April 2014
An enchanting collection of Fantasy and Fairy Tale poetry from the masterful pen of author Wiliam O'Brien. It's easy to let go and allow yourself to be drawn in to the alternative reality of Peter's world.Just like the other books in the series, this one takes you on a fantastic journey. The poet covers a vast range of emotions within the verse, in classical style but nevertheless easy to read and enjoy. Most uplifting!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 July 2015
This is a beautiful short book of poetry. If you are into poetry as in short poems and thoughts, you would really like this book. Every once in a while I feel like reading something like this and I am glad I picked this book up. A very refreshing read. I might take it with me on the beach.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 April 2014
Another beautiful accompliment to Peter: The Darkened Fairytale. A great collection of otherworldly poems that take you on a mystical journey into the world of Peter.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 January 2015
William O’Brien is one of the more interesting authors I’ve come across of late. And about the only way I thought I could do justice to his Peter: A Darkened Fairytale compendium was to do one review that dealt with his work as a whole. The set includes the full narrative, A Darkened Fairytale, and four shorter poetry works that enhance the material and themes in the primary storyline, as well as foreshadow things to come in future works. It’s an incredibly creative approach that works very well.

The full narrative is the story of a boy named Peter who, on his tenth birthday, is transported into a world of fantasy and mystery inhabited by a wonderful cast of characters. Peter embarks on a journey, dare I say quest, which children and adults will adore. Mr. O’Brien has created a magical adventure on a multi-layered canvas for Peter to creatively and bravely work his way through.
Mr. O’Brien has a wonderful writing style and his imagery and themes remind me of the fantasy worlds found in Alice in Wonderland as well as Roald Dahl’s work; particularly James and the Giant Peach. But I cite these only as reference points, and certainly not to convey the impression that Mr. O’Brien’s work is some form of copycat knockoff for his voice is truly original.

The shorter works of poetry could be read as standalones but I strongly encourage all readers to begin with the longer narrative and let the poetry works provide additional context as well as entice you to anxiously wait for the next installment in this series that deserves a long look.

A terrific collection and highly recommended!

• Peter: A Darkened Fairytale (story)
• Peter, Enchantment and Stardust (full poetry)
• Peter: The World - Short Poems & Tiny Thoughts (Vol 1)
• Surreal Peter - Short Poems & Tiny Thoughts (Vol 2)
• Peter: Crank's Time - Short Poems & Tiny Thoughts (Vol 3)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 May 2014
In..."PETER THE WORLD ~ Short Poems & Tiny Thoughts" the author explores the worlds of Light and Dark with the use of Haiku-like poems. Peter lives in a magical world filled with fairies, vampires, ghosts, wizards, witches, and he experiences each of these characters as he encounters them. As stated in the Author's Note, "the author still retains a childlike vision of the world, which is conveyed throughout the book". This gift is clearly demonstrated in all of his writing as he vividly describes each of these encounters.

When I was a young child, I was exposed to the fairy tales penned by Brothers Grimm. Whenever I read the musings of Author William O'Brien, these previous fairytales and folklore come to mind. Although the styles and tales are different, there is a familiar thread of creative writing talent to be discovered in this Boxed Collection. It stretches the imagination of its reading audience and will appeal to all ages...both young and old alike.

Inspirational Author & Book Reviewer ~ Dolores Ayotte
Growing Up & Liking It
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 May 2014
Peter - The World (Peter: A Darkened Fairytale): Short Poems & Tiny Thoughts by William O'Brien is Fantastic!

I have read this authors book 'Peter A Darkened Fairytale' and although it has been a while, occasionally the story comes to mind. Very creative and enchanting I couldn't wait to read poems about the story of Peter. There are great poems in this book, a short one from The Light:
Stars have told
us many things
Giving a Lifetime
Of beautiful Countless dreams

There are many more great poems in this book here is one from The dark:
Ambling life
Saunters by
Evil hands
Spirits rise
Witches sailing
Banshees too
Owls listen
Breaking moon

I was also pleasantly surprised with a few chapters at the end of this captivating poetry, which of course I read again of 'Peter A Darkened Fairytale'

This author has great insight in creating a magical world and the art of poetry that everyone should enjoy. I am delighted he shares his gifts with the world. 5 twinking stars
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 December 2014
The poems in PETER — THE WORLD ~ Short Poems & Tiny Thoughts" are written with a feather-like touch. The author, William O’Brien, conjures up a magical world in which his protagonist, Peter (of A Darkened Fairytale), lives. This is a complex world, made of both light and darkness, where sweet fairies may be ‘hiding in your garden, tucked behind violet flowers,’ but where all is not as it seems, as these fairies just may be vampire fairies. And so, vacillating between hope and fear, you experience this world with heightened emotions. Here is the invitation whispered in your ear:

Magical book
Has opened wide
Mysteries kept
Concealed inside

Walking with them
Smell and touch
Pages of gold
Edged with luck

Highly recommended. Five stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 April 2014
Imaginative author William O'Brien has given us another wonderful installment in the 'Peter' series of prose and poetry books with this awesome collection of surrealistic verse. The fairy tale world of ghosts and goblins reminded me of one of my all time favorite verse narratives, Christina Rosetti's 'Goblin Market' - that dark, disturbing blend of elements that might appeal to children but has been twisted by the writer into something much darker and more intense for adults. I recommend reading 'Peter - A Darkened Fairytale' along with this book for a full immersion into O'Brien's universe. The poems are haunting and stay with you. This is a welcome addition to a highly original series.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 February 2015
A review of "Peter - The World (Peter: A Darkened Fairytale): Short Poems & Tiny Thoughts - 1" I find the Peter volumes by William O'Brien to be delightful series, wisdom literature for children of all ages. If you cherish your inner child, Peter. "Tiny Thoughts 1" shows you yourself and the world through Peter's clear eye. If you've read Tiny Thoughts 2, you know why you must read Tiny Thoughts 1. If not, your adventures with Peter can begin through the mechanism of this book: thoughts not truly tiny, but simply expressed.

Buy any Peter book, and you're in for a treat. By this one, and your soul will breath a bit easier in today's congested world.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here