Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 June 2017
Excellent book for the followers of Peter Green UK's best blues guitar player
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2002
As a fan of Peter Green's since his John Mayall days I was looking to find out the truth behind the long gaps in his career between the early 70's and mid 90's. The book was a good read and contained loads of information that was new to me. For instance, I didn't know that he had been in a band with Rod Stewart prior to The Bluesbreakers. The only slight problem I have is that the author is such a huge "Greeny" fan that I don't think he would believe anything that went against the guy. Let's hope that PG is back to stay and that his playing and health both continue to improve. Having seen him with the Splinter Group three times over the last couple of years he's been better each time. If you're a fan, then this book is for you.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2001
I had the pleasure of going to one of Peter Green's gigs a few years ago and was amazed by the way he still produces fantastic material. The book was something that had to be purchased in order to find out how the true master works, and how for decades has delighted us with music such as Albatross, Man of the World and his new material with the Splinter Group e.t.c. This book sums up the original founder of fleetwood mac as an eccentric and how he has an amazing ability to capture an audience.
The book concentrates on the early part of Fleetwood Mac and the somewhat sheltered years he experienced. The book brings tears to my eyes as i get an insight into how this man left the music world to pursue an almost poverty stricken lifestyle. Somehow he came out of it through the help of family and friends whilst still producing legendary material with his new formed band, The Splinter Group. Long live Peter Green!!!
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2014
As a great Peter Green fan from his John Mayall days, I bought this book in the hope of filling in the gaps in my knowledge. I found this book very informative and loaded with facts.
One of the first surprises that Martin Celmins springs is that he doesn't go along with the common belief that the 'Munich gig' was the time Peter started to get his mind messed up, having seen both John McVie and Mick Fleetwood blame this episode, I was a bit wary of the author's view, but he puts a good argument across to the contrary.
Having been a bit vague on Peter's very early years, and also the later years, I found this book very good. Martin Celmins obviously is a big fan of Peter, but doesn't shy away from telling it like it is (or was).
A good read, and recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2009
It's such a shame that Peter Green chose such a poor (first-time) writer to do his biography. Mr Celmins (after a lengthy career in advertising) thought he would turn his dubious "talents" to this book. He has very little grasp of grammar and even less knowledge about how to write or compose a well-executed biography. Extremely bad. No soul but lots of facts, facts, facts... to and beyond the point of boredom. Composition-wise, sometimes you get to the point where you actually have to re-read paragraphs just to see what Celmins is getting at. For a "fan/hero worshipper" Celmins certainly hasn't done Mr Green any favours. The proof reading is abysmal, the pictures are worse - grainy, horrible and very amateurish. In one picture there is an adult Peter Green with the title "Peter Green in 1946" - quite senseless because he should only be about two years old. Once he's mucked it up one time, you doubt any veracity in what Celmins says beyond that. What a great bio this could have been. What an awful one it turned out. Perhaps, one day, Mr Green will get a good writer to reflect on his career. Until then, waste of money and reading time.
11 Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2008
A reasonable read but wonder if there is a better book out there? His early career was well documented. I never knew he was in a band with the late great Peter Bardens!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2009
A good evenings read that could have been better considering the wealth of interviews available out there. A good discography would've been nice. For real fans the book is a bit lightweight. Still, a recommended read.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2013
Important to have books on influential musicians - one of the all time blues greats who even had BB King perspiring back in the day!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)