Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
23
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 January 2017
So delighted with having this vinyl! Have been wanting to get it for a while now.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2017
Great CD.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2017
Great album from a great band!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2004
This album came out at about the same time as Appetite For Destruction and ( I'll whisper the next bit ) I preferred this . The boogy good time blues of Tyler , Perry and Co. was encapsulated on this album , and showed that there was room for a sense of humour in rock music . No particular highlight for me - the whole album's great .
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2003
I'm not quite sure why my fellow reviewer decided to review Pump, not Permanent Vacation, on this page. However, I'll do my best to correct this.
Prior to the release of this album, Aerosmith had been stumbling along, attempting to exist on memories from the mid-70s when they were one of America's biggest stadium rock bands. Steven Tyler and Joe Perry, the self-styled Toxic Twins, were so high on every conceivable variation of drug and alcohol that they were struggling to string sentences together, let alone write music. Then Run DMC released a rap version of one of their classics, Walk This Way, and Tyler and Perry were special guests on the single and accompanying video. And suddenly it became hip to like Aerosmith again.
Once they discovered that the public still liked them, they released this album. And what an album. A breath of fresh air, combining fantastic riffs, amazing tunes, brilliant lyrics. It really is superb. A bit Bon Jovi-ish in some parts, but that's no bad thing. Desmond Child, a contributor to the songs on Slippery When Wet probably had something to do with that, as he also contributes to the song-writing on this album. And the songs... Dude Looks Like A Lady is the one that everybody knows. A superb video, an excellent song, just brilliant. Rag Doll is another one that just makes you went to get up and dance. But it is unfair to pick out individual tracks. All twelve are superb. They went on to even bigger things with Pump, and the MTV-friendly Love In An Elevator, but I still prefer this album. It is so feel-good. It's like a summer party, a beach barbecue, a permanent vacation, all rolled into one. It is good-time Rock 'n' Roll, the Aerosmith way.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2011
Yes, it was their first really commercial MTV friendly album, but nearly 25 years on, i still really love this.

" Hearts Done Time" & " Magic Touch" are superb opening tracks, " Simoriah" is one of the best things i've heard them do." St John", " Hangman Jury", " Girl Keeps Coming Apart" & " Permanent Vacation" are all barnstorming, in the way that only Aerosmith can pull off. I also really enjoy " The Movie" which is a moody, mellow ending that packs a kick or two. The singles " Dude ( Looks Like a Lady) " & " Angel" are, on reflection, superb.

My only gripe is that another single, " Rag Doll" makes me cringe in places and it has done for almost 25 years, so i don't see that changing anytime soon.

Essential.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
There is something about `Permanent vacation' that still manages to put a smile on my face even after all of these years and repeated playing. Maybe it's the exuberance of `Simoriah' which has to be my favourite on the album, or the perfect blend of rock and ballads represented by `Heart's Done Time' and `Angel' respectively. But whatever it is, I still enjoy playing this album even when other, newer albums beckon.

This was the bands big comeback album and showed they were still a force to be reckoned with, and boy what a force! The only way was up after this and they had a stint in the nineties and the early half of this decade when everything they touched turned to gold and this album was the start of that revival. This gives a great selection of very polished tracks and showed the band were back to stay and should sit very comfortably on anyone's rock music shelf.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2014
I'm an aerosmith fan which is why I feel I should review this album.

In comparison to other albums ie - what came after and what came before, this is terrible.

Out of all the tracks on here there are only 5 good ones (less than half). 1 passable and the rest are garbage.

Hearts done time, magic touch are great as are the singles dude looks like a lady, angel etc but most of the second half is very poor indeed.

If you are just getting into aerosmith pass on this as it may put you off!

Could never understand why this was so highly rated!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2012
Aerosmith was back at the top! With this huge hit cd. It had no less than 4 big hits on it: 'dude looks like a lady", 'love in a elevator' , 'angel' and 'ragdoll" . But this one just zings through will lots of wonderful riffs and a band who were obviously having fun. This isn't hard metal but rather great hard rock or just rock songs that have the hooks to lift you up! I like it much better than 'done with mirrors' and that was not a bad cd in the least , it's just that this one is far more well made and played and everythin is firing here like a well oiled machine made up of five guys who know how to make good songs.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2003
what a great come back. this has to be one of aerosmiths greatist albums encluding there ultimate tracks dude (looks like a lady), angel and rag doll. so why not own a brilliant collectible LP from 1986. GET IT OR REGRET IT IT'S FAB.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)