Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
44
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
38
4 star
6
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 November 2011
I wish I had managed to get to see this in the cinema, its great retrospective of the bands formation and career. How they managed to get hold of some of the footage is unbelievable, it seems like they must have been filming all the time, but its so well put together it really pulls you in. I was really disappointed when it finished, I could have watched another couple of hours!
This is a film for the fans made by a fan. There are little snippets throughout that give a real insight into all of the band, and how the band and the events have made them the band and the people they are.

Its a great piece of film, highly recommended to anyone with an interest in Pearl Jam!
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 3 November 2011
PJ20 is brilliant. There. End Of Review. Oh...hang on a minute you want to know why? Ok....well lets look at the highlights.
Early Temple of The Dog, Mother Love Bone and even a bit of Green River is included. The whole story starts before Pearl Jam.
The making of the band and Ten takes a lot of the time here. Although the Roskilde incident is also a big part of this. The story is told as is. No rose tinted glasses. Just the story of a band that became famous and actually they (especially Eddie) are not always comfortable with that fame.
The live footage is amazing. PJ are a brilliant live band and it gives you the feel of them live, the energy and the love of music.
The band speak really candidly too. And you see so much footage - stuff never seen before. Like writing Daughter in a van on the road (whilst it was called Brother). That's an amazing sequence to watch.
The footage here is pulled together as if it was always meant to be put in this format. As if this was the plan. It shows a band that cares about the music and definitely isn't faking it (oh yes Kurt Cobain is in here too).
PJ20 is a great Blu-ray. It tells the story of the band. It celebrates the music. It reveals the people and it pulls on emotions as well. If you have an even passing interest in Pearl Jam then you will love this.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2011
This is absolutely amazing, got me close to tears and gave me goose bumps all the way through!! If you are a Pearl Jam fan, you will fall in love with them all over again, if you're not, you will definately become, after watching this!!!!!
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2011
I am ashamed to admit that I only knew a few songs by Pearl Jam until I went to see PJ20 at the cinema on 20/09/11 with my husband who's a massive fan of theirs. I didn't expect to fall in love with the band in the way I did. It happened nearly immediately from the early interviews of the band members in the film. They all seem so likeable and they genuinely care about their fans. Cameron Crowe has made a real masterpiece here, managing to satisfy the hardcore fans as well as attracting new ones like me. There is no point giving out details, just buy the DVD and you will see for yourselves that Pearl Jam are one of the best rock/grunge bands, maybe even the best, in the world. I really hope they will come and tour the UK now or I'll be sad to have missed seeing them perform live.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2011
When I saw this screen at the cinema I wasn't too sure what to expect. I absolutely love Pearl Jam and have found the whole PJ20 project fascinating but how would this film work?

Well in short for the whole two hours I was gripped to the screen. The footage from over the twenty years is skillfully put together by Cameron Crowe and it really is something that brings you in and wants to tell you something. It really is a compelling watch.

I'm not going to ruin it for anyone by describing it scene by scene. All I will say is the film, the music contained within and the interviews with all the band members really is fascinating stuff. This shows a band that have not only evolved in to one of the biggest bands on the planet but continue to enjoy doing what they are doing. It also shows the huge respect that the band have for their fans and vice versa.

As a film I would probably say that other documentaries such as the Foo fighters "Back & Forth" are more revealing in facts but as a Pearl Jam fan just to hear these five guys talking about the last twenty years and to be able to understand them better is a joy.

I don't think this is a film that is trying to win new fans. It is one that all PJ fans can relate to and watch with jaw dropping interest. To put simply this is a must see for all Pearl Jam fans and an interesting watch for the rest of the world who want to see a great band at work. Well done Cameron Crowe for putting this together. Five stars!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2011
i was lucky enough to catch this on bbc and it was absolutely brilliant so i am now purchasing the dvd. really candid, intimate interviews with all the band members and great footage of mlb, nirvana etc. really great to see all the footage from the past leading up to the present. a must-have for any pj fans.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2011
Pearl Jam are without doubt the best band of the last twenty years and this Cameron Crowe film underlines this brilliantly. The early footage is especially touching referencing the importance of Andrew Wood in Stone and Jeff's careers. The obvious affection that peers such as Chris Cornell shows reflects great respect and the Hunger Strike video from the Temple of the Dog project fits this perfectly. My heart skipped a beat watching Eddie stage diving from the lighting rigs, such brilliant showmanship, although Eddie would hate this description! And as for the music, it speaks for itself. Which other band of the era would have considered recording such wilfully diverse albums as Vitalogy and No Code after such commercial success. Kudos for attempting to take on Ticketmaster. Fugazi principles from a major label band. Pearl Jam, I for one salute you. To another twenty years.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2012
Pearl Jam have written some of the greatest songs of the last twenty years, and I was half expecting this to be a simple showcase of them with a few interviews thrown in.
In truth, it is a brilliantly produced film that tells the story of a very interesting band.
I had goosebumps more than once, relived my youth in a few other sections and generally just wanted the film to go on and on and on some more!

The balance is struck well between playing snippets of songs and longer segments of classic. I would imagine that people not as well versed in Pearl Jam's back catalogue might not feel the power of the some of the instrumental sections but fans will feel alive throughout the whole film.

Minor note - the Blu-Ray packaging has changed slightly from the picture on here, with a thin cardboard packet replacing the common Blu-Ray box. I prefer this one as it takes up slightly less room on the side.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2013
This is a comprehensive history of Pearl Jam & reaches back even earlier to the days of Mother Love Bone. Great clips to entertain & inform even if you're not a fan, if you are a fan it's terrific. Great music clips & interview segments too. A must have for anyone with good musical taste!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2013
This is a great in depth documentary about Pearl Jam starting from their formation right up to the present day, it gives a great over view about the band and about the whole grunge scene in Seattle, featuring lots of interview and concert footage which is great!! For any Pearl Jam fan, this is a Must Have!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)