Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Pink Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
51
4.9 out of 5 stars
Pearl Jam Twenty [DVD] [2011]
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£10.86+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 3 November 2011
PJ20 is brilliant. There. End Of Review. Oh...hang on a minute you want to know why? Ok....well lets look at the highlights.
Early Temple of The Dog, Mother Love Bone and even a bit of Green River is included. The whole story starts before Pearl Jam.
The making of the band and Ten takes a lot of the time here. Although the Roskilde incident is also a big part of this. The story is told as is. No rose tinted glasses. Just the story of a band that became famous and actually they (especially Eddie) are not always comfortable with that fame.
The live footage is amazing. PJ are a brilliant live band and it gives you the feel of them live, the energy and the love of music.
The band speak really candidly too. And you see so much footage - stuff never seen before. Like writing Daughter in a van on the road (whilst it was called Brother). That's an amazing sequence to watch.
The footage here is pulled together as if it was always meant to be put in this format. As if this was the plan. It shows a band that cares about the music and definitely isn't faking it (oh yes Kurt Cobain is in here too).
PJ20 is a great Blu-ray. It tells the story of the band. It celebrates the music. It reveals the people and it pulls on emotions as well. If you have an even passing interest in Pearl Jam then you will love this.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2017
Pearl Jam Twenty is a chronicle of the formation and early years of one of the greatest rock bands ever. I'll hold my hand up and admit to being biased as I'm a huge PJ fan and have seen them live many, many times. PJ are a rare band in that they continue to push themselves artistically yet both their older tracks (say, Ten) sound just as exciting to listen to today as do their more recent releases - in other words they continue to challenge and entertain with equal measure. We've never needed a band like Pearl Jam more than right now!
Whether a fan or not, do treat yourself to PJ20. And if they are playing a venue near you soon, get tickets.
My review is based on the Blurray version, I'd guess that the DVD is just as great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2012
Pearl Jam have written some of the greatest songs of the last twenty years, and I was half expecting this to be a simple showcase of them with a few interviews thrown in.
In truth, it is a brilliantly produced film that tells the story of a very interesting band.
I had goosebumps more than once, relived my youth in a few other sections and generally just wanted the film to go on and on and on some more!

The balance is struck well between playing snippets of songs and longer segments of classic. I would imagine that people not as well versed in Pearl Jam's back catalogue might not feel the power of the some of the instrumental sections but fans will feel alive throughout the whole film.

Minor note - the Blu-Ray packaging has changed slightly from the picture on here, with a thin cardboard packet replacing the common Blu-Ray box. I prefer this one as it takes up slightly less room on the side.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2016
This is a must for every Pearl Jam fan out there! It offers an emotional and well documented history of how the band got started and the Seattle music scene in general. Really very well made and will make you love them even more!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2013
Been a fan of Pearl Jam since 'Ten' and this film provides a unique insight into their story, their formation and continued evolution. They remain very much a band that do things on their own terms and still clearly enjoy making great rock music.
Charismatic frontman, Eddie Vedder, possessor of one of rocks most distinctive voices, also had a reckless streak, which, as the film reveals, makes you wonder how he is still here!

Not just for fans of Pearl Jam, but fans of music, this is very much worth a watch.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2015
Fantastic! I'm a huge and longtime PJ fan so I'm biased. If you like the band, buy this you won't be disappointed.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2016
It was very good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2016
Worlds cant describe how much i love this movie
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2012
Great music and a re ally great documentary a must for pearl jam fans or any music lover interested in seeing the makings of a legendary band first class
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2015
The director of a generation and the band of a generation. You can't go wrong.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here