Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 September 2014
This was bought as a present for an avid fan and he loved it..
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2014
FAB
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2015
Bought as a gift but was a welcome gift
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2014
Just so happens I love Leeds United and the stranglers music, if your a fan of their music or just a fan of the music of the era then give this book a go go !
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2017
Bought as a part birthday gift for my hubby. He's reading it now.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERon 11 September 2015
Having been a Stranglers fan since mid-1977 and stopped when Hugh left, this was a must-read for me. I love all of the early stuff and then the sad slow demise brings a lump to ones throat. OK so this book has its detractors but I'll read anything and eveerything about the band and this is a good addition to my collection...

My number 1 band ever and I've recently started going to see them live again - Baz is a great replacement. Yeah I know I've come back late and lost some valuable time with them but better late than never. Still a great band live - even without Hugh...
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2014
Great read. Impressive detail although a small proportion of it is incorrect. Funny, too.

Makes Hugh sound like something of a lunatic rather than the name-dropping, smoochy crooner he has become. His on-stage statements are often obscure, to say the least.

Highly recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2017
I love the Stranglers I was 16 back in 1976 so they formed the backdrop to my teenage years so now many years later downloaded the book to read on holiday, what a real disappointment. This is simply a diary of gig dates, no depth, no setting the scene, even the album reviews are poor a few scant lines , the fantastic 'Hanging around' gets a couple of lines, no mention of JEn's classical upbringing resulting to textured layers of the song. We are given no in depth analysis of their musical upbringing and how they used punk as a vehicle to get their music out there. Really poor book which unfortunately I found myself skipping pages as it made a band as fascinating as the Stranglers boring, there must be better books about the Stranglers available.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2015
A great In depth book for any music fan to keep you riveted, about a world class band with meager beginnings... An obvious must have item for any Stranglers fan,with previously unseen pictures and very descriptive write up's and interesting stories, in a scrap book style. The author "Robert Endeacott" certainly did his homework on this one. I would fully recommend this little gem fit for purpose... Trevor Aindow.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2014
This book is a must read for any Stranglers fan.

The book is written in the form of a diary from the early beginnings of how the band met through to the departure of Hugh Cornwell in 1990.

One of the special features throughout the book are the fans contributions. There are numerous accounts of things that happened at gigs that would otherwise have been lost to the history of time. One of my own contributions is carried about a gig from 1979 where J.J. jumped into the audience to sort out a bloke that was spitting at him on stage - needless to say that it was J.J. that came out on top! These snippets and insights into how the band were at the time adds a new and different dimension to the more traditional approach of other books such as No Mercy.

Each of the albums has a brief summary of what the tracks are about and also a review of the album. But it is the relentless touring schedule and stories about the gigs that are the true winners in this book. The author has cleverly brought together stories about the countries visited (such as about the premier of Queensland) and the antics that followed such as the local riots, etc.

This book brings a new and different perspective to the official Stranglers' biography that allows fans to almost feel as if they were there. For those of us who were lucky enough to be there are some of these gigs, it is great to relive some of the memories.

A great book and well written. I am certainly happy to recommend this to any other Stranglers fans out there.

Paul Davies
22 Comments| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)