Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
134
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£8.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 June 2017
George Scott gives a great performance as Patton - truly great but flawed leader. Karl Madden gives a very good performance as Omar Bradley.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2017
One of the greatest films of all time. Probably the greatest leader in history.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2017
Arrived as promised, good action, superb acting.Good quality Blu-Ray.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2017
Perfect ~ How do they do it for the price?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 21 January 2017
I've watched the bluray twice now and on second viewing I was bowled over by the film. Its wonderfully well shot; some of the cinematography is superb and George C Scott is great in the leading role. Although actually I think Karl Malden, who plays General Bradley, looks more like the real Patton than Scott does. Its largely accurate in its telling of the events that occurred, though there is some variance. For example I believe Patton slapped two soldiers, not just the one shown in the film. But its a film, and 100% accuracy isn't a requirement for me. If you really want to learn about history there are plenty of books. Hollywood isn't a good starting point....

In fact earlier in the scene where he slaps the soldier, there is one of the high points of the film, when Patton gives a purple Heart to a badly wounded soldier. Its beautifully acted by Scott and very moving.

I did not already own the DVD, and took a chance on the bluray, as there are a few Amazon reviews which state its no better than the DVD and are pretty scathing about it. Well I don't have a DVD to compare it with, but I was happy with the picture quality. I thought it looked great.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2013
You don't need to be an American to enjoy this incredible portrayal of a larger than life, stranger than fiction biopic of a WW2 General aspiring for greatness whilst leaving a wake of controversy for his leaders to deal with. I'm not going to go into the plot because that is not what's important here, George C. Scott is what's important here in what's easily one of the greatest lead actor performances that I have ever seen. Scott is mesmerising and so I will say buy this just for that.
11 Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2017
An excellent film with George C Scott playing an excellent role.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2016
Dont miss it !!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2016
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2017
Great film good acting of a true story
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)