Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
20
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
18
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 March 2017
as it should be
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2014
The book is well made.
And even though I am running the game it is a good read.
That's all I can say for now
Balian
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2015
I had already read this book before, so I knew that it was good before I got it.

This adventure path is absolutely fantastic for new players and veterans alike. The curve of which the difficulty goes up is very nice, and the lore is really good. The structure of each campaign is very neatly laid out, making it very easy to search or go to whatever section you want to cover or use at the moment. I particularly like that each encounter has a bestiary reference to it, in case the full profile of the encounter isn't included in the book (it is included surprisingly often, however). The artwork is also very, very nice. I am currently DMing the first campaign to a group of five players, most of them new to pathfinder, myself included, and we've found it to be a blast so far. The face of our Bard when I showed him the painting of Shayliss was priceless, as well as what followed afterwards ^^

This is a book that I can warmly recommend to any Pathfinder player. It is very gentle into getting you into the feel of Pathfinder, and is a great learning experience that will last you months, perhaps even more than half a year, because of the six campaigns in one. It is definately a big bang for the buck.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2017
Excellent. These books where they consolidate a full series of adventure paths are really good. 6 adventures starting at Level 1 and continuing to high level. Its pretty fun too, especially at low level.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2013
This reworked edition of the very first Paizo adventure path certainly doesn't disappoint. I am currently running it as my first Pathfinder campaign and we're all enjoying it. Sandpoint is very detailed, much can be done with the events and NPCs and there is more than enough background to make it come to life.
I do however have one tip for you prospective GMs out there; start the game five years before the actual campaign begins. The back story for what leads up to the campaign opening is so good and the opportunity for tying the player characters in to the main story are great. Give them a session or two as level 0 teenagers to get to know the people of Sandpoint and experience "the late unpleasantness" as it takes place rather than having it told to them as a story. This will make the later revelations that much more powerful and should enhance the experience for everyone.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2012
This is truly an outstanding adventure path! I've recently started DMing this and it is a real delight. It has an engrossing, intricate story that has already hooked my players, is clearly laid out and a joy to use, has the usual gorgeous Pathfinder artwork, and contains enough material to keep your group going for many months, taking PCs from 1st to 17th or 18th level. Highly recommended!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2013
Rise of the Runelords takes a party from lvl 1 to 18 and is the right balance of politics, humour dungeon crawling and town based exploration. It allows a party to play exclusively this, or DM's to tweak and add to the adventure making it slightly more personal. The fact that this particular adventure has backgrounds and traits in the Advanced Player Guide makes it perfect for even newer players to feel they have been and contribute to a massive and exiting world.

While it would be nice if ALL the information for monsters was included on the pages, it is expected to be used with the various Bestiary books, even so most of it is readily available and close at hand on the pages.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2014
The anniversary edition of Paizo's first Adventure Path is a beautifully presented, classic campaign in the Paizo style - very detailed (perhaps too detailed) NPCs, first class production values, a fairly linear plot but it can be opened out with some prep work. Value is excellent, compare to the £75 or so it costs to acquire a 6 volume Adventure Path. Lots of useful appendices including encounter tables.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2012
This product provides a ready made campaign, with enough material to easily expand and encounters that can quickly be lifted and adapted to other settings. All done with real colour. There are many well drawn NPCs and of course a recap of the Golarion's goblins - a rethinking of a race who had become little more than sword and spell fodder! You will definitely be able to get something out of this, even if you don't just play the whole capmpaign (and it is certainly worth playing!).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2014
This was perfect for as a GM without the time to make your own adventure. Good progression for new and experienced players alike!

The book got a little damaged during transit, but it still gets five stars!

I recommend this item for anyone who plays PF.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)