Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 July 2017
Just open it at any page and off you go! An absolute mine of information that is interesting and educating. A possible solution for a gift for the person who has pretty well everything.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 1999
This book contains a summary of just about every topic that ever comes up in any conversation. Vast trivia, biographies of famous people, summaries of classic novels, ways to improve vocabulary, management guide, personal effectiveness, general knowledge, and that's not even vaguely close to all. My most valued book without a doubt. It's very well-researched, well presented and absolutely ideal for a gift. Don't be put off my the title - this book is basically an insightful summary of everything. I'm off to buy another copy just in case...
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2000
While this book might at first seem to be aimed at constipated men - or at least those who always take something to read in the loo with them - it's really ideal for both sexes and should be on every coffee table in the land [not to mention dentists' waiting rooms]. Packed with bite-size chunks of information, anecdotes, reviews of classic novels, biographies of famous people ... it's great. If you really want to take the title literally, my advice is to eat nothing but bananas for a month and work your way through this book in the little boy's [or girl's] room during your marathon sessions there. If you still have any friends left with your strange toilet habits, you'll impress their socks off with what you know about, well ... everything!
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2000
This is exactly what the title states. One great doorstop of a paperback for those 1 to 20 minutes bouts of solitude wherever you are. Makes a great gift for the culture minded. Perhaps a bit too American in places but quite acceptable. Can't wait for volume 2.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2004
This is a great book, full of interesting bits and pieces of information. Its easy enough to pick up and quickly glean something you never new before...from how to prepare for interviews, dieting tips to book reviews and rules of sport.
Its certain to impress visitors to your home, whom will probably end up borrowing it or buying a copy for themselves.
A great gift idea for those who have everything.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2000
Simply excellent value and difficult to put down. Top tip - do not leave it in the loo when you have workmen in your home as job completion will be delayed by several days - as I found out to my cost.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2010
I adore this book; I have very little general knowledge when it comes to the literary classics & Shakespeare; the 2 page summaries made it easier for me to change this!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2009
Exactly what it says on the tin! Slight American centric and would be great in a British version too, but still an interesting read to pass the time!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2004
This book contains two page summaries of many great novels, text books and just general tips and it was very interesting. If you had read the stories you can see how much they have let out but what this book is pefect for is for all those novels that you think you probably should read but probably won't so you can just get a taste. I bought it for my husband who has a very short attention span and he loved it - I would recommend it as a gift for most people - good fun and educational
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 1999
This book is a must-have.....can't wait for the second volume. Many, many books are featured within, each precised over two pages. Thoroughly recommended. Now you can have the plot to many classic books at your fingertips. Never has a trip to 'the little room' been so enjoyable, or more eagerly anticipated.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)