Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
131
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 June 2017
As part of Shaun Attwood's trilogy. It is written in his own unique style and takes you into the mind of a drug user turned dealer. It starts to get you to see some of the reasons people turn to drugs. It is thought provoking and by the time you have read the trilogy you will understand more about why people start taking drugs and can end up taking the wrong path. Shaun is now working with young people trying to prevent others making the same mistakes
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2017
Excellent true-account of 'English Shaun' Atwood and his rise from an impoverished junior stockbrocker to ecstacy kingpin in Phoenix, Arizona. What unfolds here is a roller-coaster, drug-fueled journey filled with numerous larger-than-life characters and increasingly dangerous interactions with his competitors including 'Sammy the Bull' Gravano, the ex-underboss of the notorious Gambino crime family. English Shaun's unique story explodes into the pages of the book, captivating you like no other true crime story I have read! Highly recommended!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2017
Hi I would just like to how much I enjoyed reading all your 3 books, Party Time, Hard Time and Prison Time.You have put in words how I felt back in the rave scene. I am 51 now and still hear those damn wolves but now I can smile and keep those memories in my head. Well done and hope to read more soon. Maria
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2017
Excellent read. Couldn't put it down! Well done Shaun.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2014
Love reading this such interesting people. Defintley read again , a good read and well written . Would recommend to anyone
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2017
There but for the grace of God go I,great read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2013
I hugely enjoyed Attwood's previous book Hard Time, the author's gripping account of his hellish stay in a US jail following his arrest on drug charges, and Party Time is the much-anticipated prequel that fills in a lot of the blanks.
His story really begins when he arrives as a young hopeful from the north west of England in Arizona with a dream to make a million - but he is soon yearning for the rave scene he so enjoyed back home... and the drugs that went with it. Working overtime to make it as a stockbroker, Attwood begins burning the candle at both ends as his party-mad alter ego comes to the fore, and with the pill-popping comes pill-trading, followed by big money, an entourage, a growing reputation as the town's main Ecstasy-dealer and, inevitably, a cast of nefarious characters lurking in the wings. The ambitious young man from Widnes becomes increasingly paranoid as a succession of people let him down, and when his local supremacy is challenged by violent rival gangs he realises that this is not the world he envisioned. There's no easy way out, though, when so much money and so many friendships are at stake, and his growing sense of unease/desperation is palpable. I'd have liked more information about the amounts of money that changed hands, and I also found some of his 'posse' hard to engage with, but this is a great, cautionary tale about what can happen when ambition becomes entwined with a life of crime - and a seemingly-decent guy finds himself immersed much, much deeper than he bargained for. Recommended.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2017
wow what a roller coaster ride English Sean had! how the hell he is still living is beyond me. very detailed and honest book, having lived in the USA and having been an illegal immigrant my self, and loved the Rave scene,(just not as much as Sean) brought back good memories
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2013
Fantastic book and eye opening account into an alternative lifestyle.What starts as a seemingly harmless weekend pastime,practised by thousands the world over,develops into a rollercoaster ride of highs and mayhem,which eventually derails and leaves the author staring into the abyss.Having read the excellent yet harrowing"Hard Time"this book brilliantly blends the whole picture perfectly.Great to see the author has turned a once chaotic life around and is now a fantastic and positive influence on the youth he now lectures.Would highly recommend this book.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2013
I saw an article on google about this book and the author and was intrigued. I cam on here downloaded this and the sequel hard time, plus two journals.
This book go through Shaun's life as a successful stock broker and the. His partying, clubbing , drug taking and drug dealing. It is extremely well written and so addictive you really want to just keep reading to find out what's going to happen next. It could just have easily happened to anyone in my generation, luckily I never dabbled in such things however you can see how easy with the club scene that these things can happen.
A very powerful honest book that will leave you wanting to find out what happens to Shaun next but not wanting to know coz ur scared something terrible will happen but it's gripping and a must read. Best true story I have ever read and would deffo reccomend
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse