FREE Delivery in the UK on orders with at least £10 of books.
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Party Games has been added to your Basket
FREE Delivery on orders over £10.
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by the book house
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: This item will be picked, packed and shipped by Amazon and is eligible for free delivery within the UK
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

Party Games Paperback – 4 Jul 2013

4.4 out of 5 stars 47 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
£6.99
£2.30 £0.01
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
£6.99 FREE Delivery in the UK on orders with at least £10 of books. Only 1 left in stock (more on the way). Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
click to open popover

Special Offers and Product Promotions


Frequently Bought Together

  • Party Games
  • +
  • Dirty Tricks: Churchminister series 4
  • +
  • Naked Truths: Churchminister series 2
Total price: £21.97
Buy the selected items together

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.




Product details

  • Paperback: 528 pages
  • Publisher: Corgi (4 July 2013)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0552166812
  • ISBN-13: 978-0552166812
  • Product Dimensions: 12.7 x 3.3 x 19.8 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (47 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 143,684 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Product Description

Book Description

Funny, sexy and full of romance and drama, this is a fabulous read for fans of Catherine Alliott, Lucy Diamond and Veronica Henry.

From the Back Cover

I’m Vanessa Powell.
People think they know me because I’m famous.
They think I’ve got the world at my feet and the husband every woman wants to marry.

But fame can be a lonely place and the perfect marriage can be even lonelier. Now someone’s come into my life who makes me feel alive.

For the first time ever, I’m thinking about what I really want.
No matter what the consequences.

See all Product Description

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Paperback
I only came across Jo Carnegie about a year ago and I raced through her books. I just couldn't put them down. I have eagerly been awaiting her latest book, which is a standalone and not part of the Churchminster series.

This book, in true Carnegie style, has a whole cast of characters. The main story centres around an election (hence the title.) As usual, there are plenty of ups and downs along the way!

There were elements of the book I liked - the Vanessa storyline for example - but it just didn't come together for me. it felt a bit stilted and some of the language felt a bit forced - everybody was a sweetheart and things were constantly lovely. It took me a good while to read which isn't like me at all.

I don't think this is her best and I much preferred her series of books. Hopefully, there will be a new one soon!
Comment 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
For the first few chapters of the book, I wasn't really sure what it was going to be about. Whilst the blurb gives you a run down of the main characters, it doesn't really give you an idea as to the story.

Party Games.

The lovely rural town of Beeversham has become a haven for the rich and famous but is still home to many who have lived there for years. This blend of inhabitants means that there's a tug of war between keeping the town as it is, maintaining support of small, local businesses and farms and creating a tourist attraction to bring new jobs and wealth to the area.

The locals decide to hold a street party/fundraiser to raise awareness of the big plans to destroy their landscape. With other events happening in local areas, there isn't much interest in their little fete until Henry Belcher suggests hosting a Big Charity Game Show in which they recreate game shows from TV.

What a brilliant idea!

Therefore I was a little disappointed that this didn't receive more focus in the book, that these weren't the Party Games the title refers to as there were bigger Party Games planned!

Catherine, who was once editor of Soiree magazine and lived the high life in London, moved to Beeversham after a major career catastrophe. Struggling to get used to her new rural lifestyle and being a lady of leisure, tensions are growing higher with her husband, John and it doesn't help seeing local celeb Vanessa Powell around town, reminding her of why her life changed so dramatically.

Following the demise of local MP Jonty Fortescue-Wellington, Catherine receives a surprise phone call and then the Party Games really begin!
Read more ›
Comment 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
I had never read a novel before by Jo Carnegie, and so I was very much looking forward to reading this. I love discovering new authors that I have not tried before, and I was so pleased that I had the opportunity to read such a great book!

I really enjoyed this. In the town of Beeversham are many residents, some normal, every day people, some celebrities and some trying to make their way in life. We are introduced to some truly fantastic characters, each with their own agendas and problems. Will they all be able to have what they want and solve their problems?

The characters were very well written, I particularly enjoyed the mix of characters in the book, I liked that they all had different backgrounds and personalities, and that they all weren't celebrities, that there were some everyday folk in the novel too. This mix was very interesting for me and made me want to read on as I wanted to see how they would go together and blend with each other. I particularly warmed to Fleur, her story really struck me and I looked forward to when she featured so that I could continue following her journey and progress.

I don't want to give away too much but there is lots packed into this book! There are great characters, a compelling plotline, humour, sizzling moments, passion, celebrities, fun, drama and romance.

The story flew at a great pace, I found myself racing through chapters in a frenzy of excitement and curiosity at what would happen next. Jo Carnegie had grabbed my interest from the first chapter and I thoroughly enjoyed spending an afternoon with my head buried in this book. I would definitely recommend this so make sure you buy a copy!
Comment 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I like the way Jo Carengie writes, and have read most of her books, so when Party Games was published - the day before my holiday, it couldn't have come at a better time. The title intrigued me, (even if the cover didn't!) although the initial book blurb didn't give any real clues as to what the book might have been about, which was rather a pity as because I don't think it really did the book justice in terms of the content.

Party Games is a well-rounded tale, with a plethora of characters, some likeable, some dislike-able, some believable and well-crafted and some frankly less believable - perhaps because the author chose to tell us less about them? However, the story romped along at a rapid pace, and the reader is immediately engrossed from page one. As the Machiavellian machinations become evident, inevitably one is rooting for the main protagonists and taking umbrage along with the inhabitants of Beeversham whose existence is threatened by sinister invaders. The denouement was, despite the red herrings, rather predictable but did not spoil the story line, and strangely enhanced the "feel good" factor of this novel for me.

Well worth reading, the style is good, the story line is good and it makes you want to keep turning the pages - what more could you ask for in a book? I don't think the cover does the book justice or the book blurb either, but perhaps I am just being picky - I still gave it 5*s!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Look for similar items by category


Feedback