Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Kindle Price: £3.49

Save £3.50 (50%)

includes VAT*
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

The Paradise Guest House by [Sussman, Ellen]
Kindle App Ad

The Paradise Guest House Kindle Edition

4.2 out of 5 stars 24 customer reviews

See all 11 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
£3.49

Length: 289 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled

Man Booker International Prize 2017
A Horse Walks Into a Bar has won the Man Booker International Prize 2017. Learn more
Get a £1 reward for movies or TV
Enjoy a £1.00 reward to spend on movies or TV on Amazon Video when you purchase any Amazon Kindle Book from the Kindle Store (excluding Kindle Unlimited, Periodicals and free Kindle Books) offered by Amazon.co.uk. A maximum of 1 reward per customer applies. UK customers only. Offer ends at 23:59 on Wednesday, September 27, 2017. Terms and conditions apply

Product description

Review

Praise for French Lessons:'A wonderfully warm and sexy book ... we loved it! Bella 'A delightful novel, full of joie de vivre'. Woman and Home --Woman and Home

Book Description

A riveting and poignant novel of one woman's journey to Bali in search of love, renewal, and a place to call home - perfect for readers of Elizabeth Gilbert's Eat, Pray, Love and Alex Garland's The Beach.

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 1114 KB
  • Print Length: 289 pages
  • Publisher: Canvas (21 Mar. 2013)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B0090IAX4G
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.2 out of 5 stars 24 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #140,854 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
good storyline, not too long, describes Bali very well. Would recommend to girlfriends.Great holiday read. A sensitive storyline well written.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
Jamie first comes to Bali in 2002, where she is researching trips as part of her job as an adventure guide. Jamie loves adventure and thrill-seeking, travelling the world with her job, and meeting lots of exciting people along the way. But when she finds in the middle of the Bali bombings, Jamie is injured but meets mysterious stranger Gabe who rescues her from the disaster. A year later, Jamie is invited to take part in a memorial for those involved in the bombings, and bravely makes her way back to Bali, also intent on finding Gabe again to thank him and perhaps open her heart to him once more. Will Jamie find the closure she is desperately searching for in visiting Bali once more?

The first thing I want to say about this novel is how beautifully Sussman writes. I have never been to Bali, but thanks to Sussman's descriptions and the way she has of bringing the place to life on the pages, I feel like I can see all of the places Jamie visits in my mind, and I really loved that. She makes it sound like paradise, and exposes the culture, the people and the general feeling of Bali perfectly. Sussman goes into some amazing detail of the night of the bombings from Jamie and Gabe's points of view, and this allows you to really understand their characters and what happened that night. It's almost frightening to read, you know what is happening and how petrifying it must have been, and everything is so well described you can visualise everything that is going on. It isn't easy to read these parts of the novel but it's so compulsive, you just can't put the book down.

I enjoyed the way Sussman writes the novel, beginning in the present day i.e. 2003, one year after the bombings when Jamie has made the decision to revisit Bali despite her fears.
Read more ›
Comment 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
When adventure guide, Jamie, was sent on an assignment to Bali, she expected to explore the island and have the time of her life. But just three days in, she gets caught up in the nightclub bombing that rocked the world. One year later, she returns to attend a memorial service with hopes of finding both closure and Gabe, the man who saved her life. But is closure really possible? And is Gabe really the love of her life, or was their connection simply a result of a shared, horrific experience?

The teaser for this book said that fans of The Beach (my all time favourite book in the whole world, ever) would love The Paradise Guest House. True, they're both set in similar parts of the world, but, and this is no slight on The Beach, The Paradise Guest House has something that The Beach doesn't: a beautiful love story.

I wasn't sure when I first started reading it. I found Jamie to be an odd character, cold and and uncaring, which wasn't surprising given what she's been through. But as she settled into her return to Bali, I really found myself warming to her. Her interactions with her host, Nyoman, and street-kid, Bambang, brought out her human, softer side.

The book cleverly switches from the lead up to the bombings and the year after, as well as a whole section on Gabe, the man who pulled Jamie from the wreck of the bombing. Having heard only little snippets about him, I was intrigued to find out and he has a story full of depth and heartbreak all of his own.

I guess my only criticism would be that in some parts, it felt a bit rushed. There were times when I really wanted to soak up the atmosphere, to smell and taste it, and while this happened in bursts, it wasn't laden throughout the book.
Read more ›
Comment 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition
I've never read any of Ellen Sussman's books before but when I first started hearing about The Paradise Guest House I knew it was a book that I definitely wanted to read.

What started as a dream assignment to the paradise island of Bali, scouting the island for trip recommendations as part of her job as an adventure guide, soon turns into a nightmare for Jamie. During a night out with boyfriend Miguel she finds herself caught up in the midst of the nightclub bombings which changes her life forever.

A year later although physically healed she's still haunted by memories of that fateful night so decides to make a return trip to Bali to seek closure and to attend the memorial. But will she get the answers she's looking for and will she be able to find Gabe, the mysterious man who saved her and helped look after her following the blast.

It was hard to read about the devastation caused by the bombings, especially seeing as it was based on real-life events, and the impact it had to life for the villagers whose whole life revolved around tourism. But it was clear to see that the author had done her research as her descriptive writing brings the culture, tradition and beauty of Bali to the readers.

At just over 250 pages The Paradise Guest House was a poignant story dealing with grief and mourning, healing both physically and emotionally, and the tentative steps of rebuilding life for the survivors and the island itself.
Comment 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews

click to open popover