Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



TOP 500 REVIEWERon 28 March 2011
This is one film which should be in your collection. Rather than duplicating other reviewers comments I just say this. I watched this film spellbound, being even reluctant to hit the pause button for a quick trip to the loo. The film is in Spanish so unless you are a Spanish speaker select the Englsh subtitles. In my Blue Ray copy the quality is supurb. The way some of the horrors of the Spanish Civil war are portrait is most unusual and it is fair to say that the director of this film has done this in a spellbinding and gripping way. Buy this movie and I guarantee that you will not be disappointed. I bought it on the strenght of the reviews here in this section and I am very glad I did. This is one film that you will watch again !
11 Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2017
Del Toro is fantastic as ever. This film is absolutely packed with meaning. I never get bored of this because there's always something knew to find out about it. If you watch interviews with the director, crew and cast you can just see how much effort and thought was put into this film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2008
Anyone who's ever read the original versions of many modern fairytales knows that they were often very dark and violent indeed. We've forgotten the dark reputation of faerie often due to the sanitised re-tellings churned out by Walt Disney and other animators so its nice to see a fresh reminder.

Ofelia is a little girl in Spain at the time of the Spanish Civil War who moves far from home with her heavily pregnant mother to live with her new step father- a Captain in the Spanish military. She is a child who escapes into fairy tales, not surprising since the real world she inhabits is so unpleasant. Director Gillermo del Toro doesn't flinch from showing the harshness of war, around Ofelia is a new landscape of casual violence, a step father who borders on the sociopathic in his twin obsessions of killing all rebels and fathering a fine son. In the night Ofelia is visited by a faun who tells her that she is the reincarnation of a princess from a magical land and that she may return there if she completes three tasks.

The twin realities that Ofelia moves between are both frightening, both dark, and both very lonely for the little girl. As her mother sickens and her step-father becomes more abusive she finds a friend in Mercedes, a housekeeper who comes to love her. The violence escalates toward a bloody conclusion that is a heart wrenching as anything I've ever watched. Part of the movie's strength is in the performances, its rare to see a film with so much talent on screen. Centring the narrative on such a young actress can often be a mis-step but in this case it works perfectly as Ivana Baquero is excellent. The effects are also a twisted feast for the eyes and Doug Jones horrific, unnatural "Pale Man" is as memorable as any movie character ever despite his lack of dialogue and short screen-time. The script is also clever about never really revealing the truth of Pan's Labyrinth... Is it real, or the carefully crafted fantasy of a lost and frightened child.

This movie is a triumph, succeeding on every level. It is not, however, for the squeamish as there is plenty of blood and bile throughout- but then that's the case in all the best fairytales.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2017
Spanish passion and horror at it finest. Beautifully crafted. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2017
Heart-breaking, visual fantasy, a curious mixture of history (Spain during the Spanish Civil War) and extraordinary fantasy. See this before.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2016
A strange and interesting film that dares to be out of the ordinary.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2017
Just brilliant, buy it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2017
love this
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2015
This is an incredible movie - One of the best adult fantasy movies ever made.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2016
Great film and really nicely done. Very beautiful story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)