Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - U2 Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

3.1 out of 5 stars
12
3.1 out of 5 stars


TOP 500 REVIEWERon 28 November 2014
Sue Crawford, who has also penned an unauthorised biography of Sharon Osbourne, has written a readable little book about her reformed hell-raising husband, but I do strongly recommend that you pick you a copy of the man's official autobiography I Am Ozzy, where you can practically hear Ozzy's voice, and actually have the story from the horse's mouth - so to speak.

Like all unauthorised books, you just don't get that real feeling of the actual person, and like so many, it isn't referenced and there's no bibliography, which suggests that the author has just trailed the newspaper and magazine archives for titbits. Whilst there's a lot of information here that makes for interesting reading, I'm afraid that the lack of any reviews for Ozzy's albums, and indeed, a shortage of any information and study about them, makes the book fall a bit flat to me. I am first and foremost a fan of the man's music, and didn't care to read so much about 'The Osbournes' reality TV show that was so popular at the time for the book's publication. I do think that Sue Crawford would this book to cash in on the programme's success, and 'Ozzy Unauthorised' was aimed primarily at those who were just discovering the man through that. But it is worthy of three stars.

Crawford describes Ozzy's childhood very well, and there's two sections of decent photographs. For the newbie fan, there's a handy, and comprehensive discography at the back, along with a chronological section which covers many landmarks in his 30-plus career, and an astrological chart. 'Ozzy Unauthorised' is packed with quotes, and is an ideal little fan book for the new and younger Ozzy Osbourne followers, for those of us though who want a more detailed overview of the man's music, and to have that authentic touch - his own book is the way to go.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2002
This is one of the funniest books I have ever read. Managed to get through it in two days! I only put it down long enough to wipe the tears of laughter from my eyes. This is one of the most ordinary yet extraordinary blokes that has ever walked the face of the planet. He seems to look at everything through the eyes of a child & boy does he speak his mind. The bonus is you get to find out what Sharon is like aswell.
A must for all fans of 'The Osbournes' - a guaranteed good read.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2011
First up,i knew this was a short book and so wasn't likely to be as informative as your average biography. This said,it is very enjoyable,the author clearly loves OZZY and tells of his life story in a brief but amusing way.
I can't deny it isn't exactly comprehensvive and so it does indeed skip through certain moments in his life a lot quicker than other books would and a lot of his life isn't really mentioned,so it's hardly a must read.
However,anyone that wants to know a bit more about OZZY's life but doesn't want a book too bogged down in facts,this is ideal. It only took me a day to read it,in a few sessions,but i did enjoy it.
If you want a comprehensive book about all OZZY's done,then no,this isn't for you. But as a brief introduction to the character of OZZY,this works.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2004
This is a really easy and fun book to read and is extremely funny in places. I couldnt put it down and read it over a weekend. Any one who is a fan of Ozzy is unlikely to learn anything new as most of his famous stories are already public knowledge (Dove and Bat head biting, The Alamo etc...) It has been also updated with more recent history of Ozzy since its initital release. It doesnt however cover his recent stay at Wrexham Park Hospital in Slough after falling off his Quad bike but after reading the stories in the book you will find this isnt the first time he has had such an accident! One thing that is described in great detail throughout the book is how influential Sharon has been, and continues to be, in Ozzy's life. It goes into detail about Ozzy's previous marriage and the airplane crash involving Randy Rhodes that was most interesting to read. It doesnt seem to focus much on his time with Sabbath which is a shame but thats probably because he has done so much in his solo career. I certainly recommend it as a light, funny and interesting book.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2002
Complete waste of money. there is no cohesion to the contents and it leaves huge gaps in his carear. All Sue Crawford has done is retell all of the old favourites which, if you are a true Ozzy fan, you will have heard over and over again. I should have known better than to buy an "unauthorised" book, better to wait until the man issues his own book.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2005
As someone who is fairly new to ozzy osbourne i found the book to be very informative and help give an insight in to the one of the music industries... well let's say most memorable characters and after reading the book (which took little more than five hours) i had a new understanding of the music and enjoyed it all the more for it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2002
This book is written in a really formulaic, basic chronological way but the subject of Ozzy Osbourne makes it entertaining enough to put up with. This is a cash-in, no question, on the sudden popularity of MTVs The Osbournes, but will therefore serve as a good back-story for newer fans. Most of the incidents explained in the book are already well-known for through their infamy, but since it isn't official, little new light is shed on them. Despite all this, this isn't a bad read at all, and I recommend it to anyone who wants to know more about Ozzy. Clued-up long time fans should probably steer clear though.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2003
Being an Ozzy fan and a follower of his music in both the good and the bad times I found the book disappointing. The book just presents the facts of Ozzies life without really explaining the true impact they had on him. The book is written without emotion. Ozzies life story deserves more.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2009
This book is far more concerned with Ozzy's celebrity than his music. I imagine its aimed at people who got to know him through the terrible reality tv rather than his work in the seminal Black Sabbath. Thankfully I didn't buy this book, it was a gift. Music fans - avoid!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2003
This book deserves three points for a few reasons, on a positive side, the sheer extremity of Ozzy's character merits it, and the book presents the facts in a honest manner. On the negative, It doesn't engage his life from any interesting angle, and has the feeling that the book is a journal of newspaper clippings, rather than a fully fledged biography. You will really enjoy this book if you're someone who is new to Ozzy, however if you're a fan you're going to be sorely disappointed.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)