Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

This book provides an excellent summary of modern management of patients with end stage renal failure (ESRF). The detail is such that it will be of value to both nephrologists in training and renal nurses, and should be on their recommended reading list on taking up their post. The text is well focused, to-the-point and easy to read. Whilst didactic, it acknowledges areas where the evidence base is lacking. It covers preparation of the patient for ESRF, methods of delivering and assessing dialysis, and covers all the major complications seen in practice succinctly. There is also a useful summary of current Renal Association and DOQI guidelines, and a choice list of renal websites.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2001
The Oxford Handbook of Dialysis, is a concise but accurate overview of dialysis treatment. The guide begins with causes and assessment of renal disease, and continues on to give chapters on complicationsthrough to Haemodialysis and Peritoneal dialysis both have sections specifically for nursing. The guide continues with more specialist chapters such as nutrition, procedural complications and drug prescription all dealing with the dialysis patient.
The guide is value for money and nice and compact. It would be an essential guide for any renal nurse, but is also a great reference tool for other healthcare professionals, especially when used in conjunction with an anatomy and physiology book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2001
A really useful, compact guide, covering all aspects. Mainly for the professionals (doctors and nurses) but interested patients will also find many answers there. Well laid out, clearly written, a handy size, and of course bang up-to-date with all the recent research and treatments. Strongly recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2002
I am a renal nurse and found the book to be a very valuable learning tool, I carry it to work each day as it is so compact and easy to read. I have now named it my work bible, no renal nurse/ward or unit should be without it, it's excellent.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2008
I bought this book before my first job in nephrology. Found it very useful as an introduction to dialysis. Easy to read through and gave me what I was looking for: an preliminary understanding of end stage kidney disease and an introduction to dialysis.

I am currently an SpR in nephrology. I am still using this book and consider it a reference of choice for basic understanding and for practical considerations in day to day practice.

I highly recommend this book for any doctor pursuing a career in nephrology or even just having a shift in renal medicine.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2005
This is a detailed manual for dialysis practitioners. The information is very practical, and seems particularly aimed at specialist renal nurses.
There is very little 'medicine' in this book. Having bought it as an SHO rotating through renal i find i have only occasionally used it as a reference. Overall it is not helpful in my day to day managing of renal patients. Surprisinly at the Oxford renal unit no-one actually uses this book and the registrars prefer other titles.
Overalls its a slightly combersome and odd book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2009
This is the most helpfull book I have ever used. I highly recommend this to whoever wants to further their interests in renal dialysis nursing and no doubt about it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2011
Very basic. Does not give answers to most of common clinical queries. Good for renal nurses but not for renal trainees. Lippincott dialysis handbook is far better.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2015
Really happy with this book. Everything I need for my job as a dialysis nurse.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2015
Book as all the information I need for starting a career in renal dialysis
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)