Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
52
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 October 2015
Outin by Brandt Legg is book 2 of The Inner Movement Series. Again this novel exceeds all my expectations and firmly cements this author as one to read in sci-fi/fantasy.
The novel kicks off where book 1 ended, Nate, his brother and friends are still on the run from sinister Lightyear. They get the help of mystics and escape into Outin, a mystical alternate reality.
Here the Mystics show Nate what these other dimensions are with time and spiritual concepts merging to create a new belief system. The author excels here with his deep understanding for mysticism and religion on a more philosophical level.
The author's imagination runs riot in this second book and this reader looks forward to book 3 with baited breath.
Very highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2014
This sequel to Outview takes up the story, with Nathan and his brother Dustin having escaped from federal agents following Nathan's discovery of his supernatural powers and that his father had been murdered by the government. He is given a picture of the near future by his Future Self in which two of his best friends (or, more aptly, girlfriends), Amber and Linh, are dead, Dustin has disappeared, their mother been arrested, and a terrorist outrage committed within a mall which is attributed to Nathan and Dustin. They have to change that future. We are then led by the author through a brilliantly-woven environment of multiple universes and possible destinies in which Nathan and company must tread carefully in order to achieve their goals; Nathan has to try to map out a different path into the future, resulting in constantly-shifting possible future scenarios and outcomes, in his attempt to construct a different resolution. The story is full of scintillating action, shape-shifting, levitation, time-travel, mysterious objects such as the gold box retrieved from Nathan's father's desk, and a number of fearsome battles as Nathan and the Movement are pitted against the secret organization, Lightyear, and its leader, Luther Storch. As Nathan and Dustin step through time portal after time portal, and journey to different versions of the future in the attempt to change its course, we are told they are a couple of teenagers engaged in a life-and-death struggle against the "military-industrial-complex". The story is full of surprising twists and turns, especially towards the end in terms of who might not be who they seem to be, and we are left in suspense for the sequel, Outmove. Definitely one not to be missed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2015
I enjoyed this sequel very much and found both books quite thought provoking. If you believe that there is more to life than what we see and indeed that we have more than one life, then these books are for you. If you don't.........you will miss out on a seriously good writer.
I am currently reading the third in the trilogy and whilst it is not quite as "unputdownable" as books one and two, nevertheless, it is well written and i absolutely love the poetry that comes in each book.

I do believe these reviews help but I am very conscious that they are very subjective views.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2014
The story and characters continue to unfold and expand into a creative mix of "real world" conspiracy and those attempting to live outside it.
In essence a brilliant story that still feels free to continue...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2015
I had trouble putting this book down. So much to contemplate as to where this story would take you. Twist and turns in abundance and a very real connection with not just the principal characters but all those they end c countered on the way.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2015
I enjoyed this book almost as much as the first. I do not enjoy the poetry, written by one of the main characters, that is placed throughout the story. It does nothing for me in fact I just stopped reading the poems. The story is exciting and fast paced, looking forward to the next book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2015
A brilliant book which kept me enthralled to the end.
The whole series was original and examined issues which I have never seen addressed in fiction,in a way which built through the three books in this series up to a knife edge finish in the third book.
Definitely will be buying more of this author's work.
Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2014
This is another excellent book from Brandt Legg. Outin is a mind-expanding trip of an adventure that contains a great story line, captivating characters and wonderfully thought-provoking philosophical musings. If you enjoy original sci-fi/fantasy novels, you’ll probably like this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2014
The plot thickens! as Nate continues his journey of discovery all is not what or who it seams. Desperate to save his friends, family and a mall full of innocent children from the evils of a secret government agency, Lightyear. Branded as a terrorist, Nate has to navigate his way through outin,( another dimension) and time to learn of his past lives, to find out how to change the future, save friends and family and expose Lightyear. But there is a traitor in the mix, who can Nate trust?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2015
Imagine if you can, surviving in a dimension outside your world and perception of time – a place that is completely mesmerizing yet at the same time dystopian and frightening.
I read and treasured Outview, and Brandt Legg’s second book in this series, Outin, pulled me in immediately and offered immense comfort in a lushly textured world created by this author. I esteem Stephen Hawking, but doubt he could pen anything fiction, much less so lyrical readers fall into his words and feel surrounded by a magical, safe cocoon.
Outin is based on spiritual gifts bestowed upon Nate and Dustin Ryder (who initially believed they had psychological issues), and takes readers deeper into the journey of these two brothers being pursued by innate fear and physical reality. In survival mode for themselves and two friends, the duo begin traveling from various portals in order to reexamine and learn from past experiences, thus hopefully avoiding new dangers.
Author Legg packs so much into this second book, it is impossible to capture the importance of life’s lessons learned, or explain existential and philosophical realms he touches upon as he develops characters we get emotional about, good and bad. Outin is more New Age, but I savored every philosophical discussion and viewpoint on mystics, psychics, philosophies, reincarnation, free will, theoretical physics, quantum mechanics, and even string theory. Twist and turns never end, and I don’t believe anyone cannot attach to this storyline or the characters within. I must admit, free falling and floating among the spectacular, mystical backdrop created by Legg, makes me want to travel to Outin, despite the lethal intent of the CIA’s Lightyear intelligence unit.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.