Buy Used
£3.85
+ £2.80 UK delivery
Used: Good | Details
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Ships from USA. Please allow 2 to 3 weeks for delivery. Light shelf wear and minimal interior marks. A tradition of quality and service.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Out Hardcover – 1 May 2003

4.4 out of 5 stars 101 customer reviews

See all 7 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Hardcover
"Please retry"
£3.85
Available from these sellers.
click to open popover

Special offers and product promotions


What other items do customers buy after viewing this item?

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.



Product details

  • Hardcover: 340 pages
  • Publisher: Kodansha International Ltd; 1 edition (1 May 2003)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 4770029055
  • ISBN-13: 978-4770029058
  • Product Dimensions: 23.3 x 3.3 x 16.2 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (101 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 750,760 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  • If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Product description

Review

"A potent cocktail of urban blight, perverse feminism and vigilante justice." -The New York Times Book Review"Kirino's tale is so dark, so gruesome and so depressing, it left this reader reeling. No gritty urban American tale of violence can match the horror of OUT." -USA Today"The scarily omniscient Kirino knows not only everybody's business but everybody's mind-her way with interior monologue is pungent and prismatic..." -The Village Voice"OUT remains a daring account of empowered Japanese women, and just too damn macabre to discount." -Flaunt"OUT offers an intriguing look at the darker sides of Japanese society while smashing stereotypes about Japanese women." -Washington Post Book World"Daring and disturbing, OUT is prepared to push the limits of this world-not only in violence and sex but also in human outlook." -The Los Angeles Times"OUT probes the more sordid corners of the criminal psyche." -The Houston Chronicle"A knuckle-clenching thriller." -Entertainment Weekly"OUT turns the whole subservient geisha image on its head." -JANE"Kirino, as is the case of the best mystery writers, combines a strong plot with a canny description of contemporary Japanese mores and culture to make this an unforgettable work... this is a novel that will be shared, and discussed, for some time to come." -Bookrerorter.com"Sensational." -Time Out New York"In Snyder's smoothly unobtrusive translation, all of Kirino's characters are touching and believable.... the gritty realism of everyday existence in the underbelly of Japan's consumer society comes across with pungent force." -Publishers Weekly"With volcanic urgency, Kirino's story erupts onto the page with a searing heat, flowing like lava to a remarkable finish... It's rare when a novel is so well rendered, so reaching in scope, and so thematically relevant that is transcends its type and demands a wider reading. OUT does that and more." -Barnes & Noble's Discover New Writers, Fall 2003"One of the year's most impactful works of mystery." -Borders.com"OUT descends beneath the genre's foundation to provide a remarkable series of insights into the forces that drive the charnel house of a postindustrial culture." -American Book Review..".a captivating portrayal of what an individual will do to find a reason for living...." -ForeWord"OUT is interesting for the way it invites questions of gender's relationship to violence." -Bitch"[OUT] brings the mystery thriller to new levels of intensity and realism, drawing readers into a nightmare of murder, suspicion, and fear.... [It] has great plot twists, intensity, and an ending that would make Hannibal Lecter smile." -Library Journal (Starred Review)"Dark, seductive and occasionally brutal, OUT explores the lower classes of Japanese society with a distinctive gallows humor." -Book.."..the most exciting crime novel of the year...the novel is darker, grittier, and more disquieting than nearly anything that's come along in recent years on either side of the Pacific Rim." -Orange"A gutsy, unflinching foray into the darkest, most dangerous recesses of the human soul. And the book's riveting, hair-raising final scenes, although definitely not for the faint-at-heart, serve as an unsettling reminder that the desperate desire for freedom has the potential to set any ordinary individual among us off down a very dark and lonely road." -Minneapolis Star-Tribune"An entrancing, perverse tale of murder." -The National Post (Toronto)"Dramatic as the plot is, it's the penetration of Kirino's insight into her characters and their capacity to keep surprising each other that linger longest in this grimly satisfying tale. Crime and Punishment meets A Simple Plan-yet in the end Kirino manages her banal heroines' descent into hell like no one you've ever read before." -Kirkus Reviews"Kirino doesn't rush the complex plot; she takes time to develop her characters and set up the crisis, with fantasies and realities about to collide." -Toronto Globe & Mail"One of the most popular authors in Japan-known as 'the reigning queen of crime fiction.'" -International Herald Tribune"Finally, a masterpiece in this genre... Whereas the lead characters in most crime fiction are outlaws, here is a novel that realistically shows how ordinary people can be drawn into committing brutal crimes." -Prize jury, Mystery Writers of Japan"OUT will remain in the memory of readers as The pick of the crop of Japanese mysteries. There is terrific energy in it, from start to finish." Mainichi Shimbun"There are few authors who are willing to probe deep into the innards of modern society and write about what they find there. This novel is proof that Ms. Kirino is one of them." Hokkaido Shimbun"Intricately constructed, like the assembly of a mosaic, stone by stone. Even the minor charactersa loan shark, a Brazilian Japaneseare vivid and memorable." Asahi Shimbun"Stark realism, lit up by flashes of unexpected humor and psychological insight." Nihon Keizai Shimbun"Ingenious." Shukan Asahi

Book Description

A masterpiece from the queen of Japanese crime - an unflinching, fast-moving foray into the darkest recesses of society and the human soul. Perfect for fans of Gone Girl. --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

See all Product description

Customer reviews

Top customer reviews

on 11 May 2017
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2016
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2005
Format: Paperback
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2007
Format: Paperback
33 Comments| 49 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Would you like to see more reviews about this item?

Most recent customer reviews