Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
8
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
Format: Hardcover|Change


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 March 2004
Our Twitchy is a sweet book about the value of being yourself which manages to be sensitive without being mawkish. It is a great read for any child, but has added value for families who have adopted as it tackles the issue of identity, difference and parentage in a very age-appropriate manner. There aren't many books for pre-schoolers that manage to deal with issues in a useful way while also remaining a straightforward and lovely kid's read-aloud story. The illustrations are very fine too.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2009
A great book which explores different families, great for young children who are adopted / fostered. A good read touching on difference experienced by these children, with a reassuring ending. I would recommend this book for these reasons.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2014
I first read this book many, many years ago... and it never seems less beautiful. A gorgeously illustrated tale of Twitchy, an little bunny rabbit who has been adopted by a cow and a horse, who tries to adapt to be more like his parents to fit in. I imagine this is a great book to read to children who are fostered or adopted, but also for all children to understand that familial love is unconditional.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2012
Poor Twitchy,
Such a good book that helps little ones understand that we are all different and yet loved for our differences all the same.
Twitchy is a rabbit fostered by a horse and a cow. He doesnt realise he is different and when he does he reacts in a rather sad and cute way. You will be moved to tears by his re action. The children have loved it and their school has purchased it for their own library.
One point, the names of the horse and cow dont exactly roll off the tongue, but its still the best new book that I have read with them in a very long time.

This book would be a good one for foster carers and teachers too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2015
Oh Twitchy, I want to pick you up and give you a huge hug.

In short, the book just emphasises that even if we're all a bit different, a bucket full of love goes a long, long way.

Read as much or as little into the story as you like but rest assured, it has a happy ending and great art work so, what's not to like!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2013
It is a really funny book, and broke the ice when trying to explain about adoption to small people. perfect
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2015
great book for adopted and not adopted children.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2013
who wrote this book? Not sure what they were trying to say or tell. Weird. Boring. Dont bother if your not going to be helpful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here