Learn more Download now Shop now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars

on 9 September 2014
I paid the most I have ever paid for a CD for this - the expanded edition of Marvin Gaye's In Our Lifetime? because the second CD contains the original Love Man sessions of an aborted album which Marvin Gaye never finished as he was in the throes of a deep cocaine addiction. Marvin Gaye never completed the In Our Lifetime sessions to his satisfaction. Motown took the tapes and produced an album which is good but not a Marvin Gaye classic. The critics did not like it. The fans did not buy it. In the light of day many decades later - you can see In Our Lifetime? from 1981 as the precursor and the trial run for Midnight Love from 1982 which is a great record. You can hear some of the melodies on Midnight Love that derive from In Our Lifetime? and it has Gordon Banks on guitar on both albums. The best song is Funk Me which is funky - funny that. You get three different versions: the original, the Odyssey studios version and the Love Man sessions. Only 5,000 of this CD were ever made. It deserves to be better known. From Johnnie K in Auckland New Zealand
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 August 2010
Such a pity this was only a limited edition CD. I see a new copy now is going for over £100. Marvin Gaye is obviously one of the greatest soul geniuses of all time. Well greatest music geniuses period. But I always avoided purchasing this album - until it came out as a special 2 CD edition. It is hardly regarded as a "What's Going On" or a "Let's Get It On", or even a "Here My Dear", but if you just relax and don't bring any prejudices to it then you will surely enjoy this album. What I like about it is that it is less his "Love Man" persona (despite "Ego Tripping Out") that comes through and more of his spirituality and social conscience, which was only ever othewise revealed on his aforementioned masterpiece "What's Going On". It is also pretty funky!

"Praise", the opening spiritual track is a wonderful, joyful celebration of life and God. That divine voice is still intact in 1981 as it was for the rest of his tragically short life. "Life is For Learning" is another great spiritual funk work out. Some of the tracks are less serious and more for partying to, like "Love Party", and "Funk Me". "Love Me Now or Love Me Later" wrestles with Gaye's major concerns of dualities such as good and evil. It was fascinating to hear the original "un-Motownified", previously unreleased mix of the album on disc 2 and also very exciting to hear music from the aborted "Love Man" album of 1979.

If you wish to extend your Marvin Gaye collection and are not too worried about musical pinnacles of excellence then this is for you, but perhaps it is best to pick up a second hand copy.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 18 June 2007
The later years of Marvin Gaye's life were undoubtedly chaotic, and the feeling persists that some fine music was lost as a result. He was still making great music, but as Marvin's unpredictability increased, it became difficult to get an end product for release.

As proof of this, "In our Lifetime" is the Motown release he never wanted. Marvin regarded the album as unfinished works, but it was issued anyway. I have a previous reissue edition of this and the excellent sleeve notes make this clear. While you can appreciate the reasons for Marvin's reluctance to issue this, you get a real insight into how MG wrote, seemingly by improvising the lyric over the rhythym track. This is especially obvious on, for instance "Far Cry" or "Life is for Living

Much has been made of the 2 sides of Marvin's character - he mostly kept the Love Man (as in the "Let's Get It On" album) away from his spiritual alter ego, which was responsible for "What's Going On". Here, they are both on show, and the album cover has Marvin in both guises.

The music can be best described as 80's funk,and it provides a signpost towards Marvin's later work on Columbia on "Midnight Love". While it's not Marvin's finest Motown hour (it was his last for the label) it stands as a testament to a true musical genius. If you are a Marvin Gaye fan then you should own this album.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 January 2014
This mp3 special edition is great as the cd is heavy on the price , but the sound is great and I can play it when I want to play it .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 July 2007
I have all the MG re-releases from the post "What's Going On" period. I enjoyed this the best of all since it was so intense. MG may have had problems then yet he could sing a song as good as Miles Davis did on the trumpet.

I love What's Going On, Let's Get It On, After The Dance and Here My Dear but this set is so personal - God, Nuclear and Love it is so MOVING - how could we forget and not appreciate his involvement.

We also have the "Love Man" sessions on this 2 disc set too. What bewilders me is how the Motown Execs failed to see the quality of Marvin's work unless politics were in the way!

Please buy and enjoy - this album is just fantastic.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 February 2007
This is not so much a review as waiting with anticipation for the 25th anniversary edition of 'In Our Lifetime', more of a work in progress than a finished and polished article. Apparently Marvin was very unhappy with the album and it's release. The title was missing it's all important question mark and some of the tracks were barely sketches which he had yet to fully master. Originally he'd recorded some of the tracks for an abandoned album 'Love Man' and the tracks released on IOL were reworkings. Hopefully though this new edition will shed further light on this strange anti-disco/funk album. I imagine the original album from 1981 was viewed as an uncomfortable mixed-message hotch-potch of ideas and contradictions (check out the title track which at once combines apocalyptic visions with getting down....) , but in retrospect as another great emotional outpouring.

Some press releases have stated that this new edition will be a two disc bonanza whereas amazon list it as a single disc affair. Let's hope it's the former, there's no such thing as too much Marvin...7 weeks and counting...
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 June 2007
I have to say, although it sounded dated when I first heard it in the late 80's, listening now to tracks like 'Funk Me', that is such a funky disco track with a deep mellow bassline, that I would see it played at any deep soul club. And 'Ego Tripping Out', well was that ahead of its time in reference to today's sell out hip hop artists!

I would say that if you like funk and soul you ought to give it a try. Believe that 'Trouble Man' is due for a similar deluxe edition, but until then, Marvin fans like myself can salivate in anticipation of this disregarded last Motown album he did.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 August 2007
One of my favourite albums ever! Bought this in '81 when it was released and it was always on my turntable. You know a classic album when each track blends effortlessly into the next and the titles of the tracks become irrelevant. It has to be consumed in total. In Our Lifetime explores themes of Good versus Evil (as depicted by the cover) as well as the highs and lows of a 'heavy love affair'.

Extra tracks are a fascination in themselves but overall prove that the production team got it right first time. Love it!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)