Buy Used
£3.54
+ £0.00 UK delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: An EX-LIBRARY copy in VERY GOOD overall condition. May have some library stamps, marks etc.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Otter Country: In Search of the Wild Otter Hardcover – 1 Sep 2012

4.6 out of 5 stars 47 customer reviews

See all 8 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
Hardcover
£4.95 £0.25
click to open popover


What other items do customers buy after viewing this item?

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.



Product details

  • Hardcover: 368 pages
  • Publisher: Granta Books; 1st Edition edition (1 Sept. 2012)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1847084850
  • ISBN-13: 978-1847084859
  • Product Dimensions: 16.4 x 2.9 x 20.7 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.6 out of 5 stars 47 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 279,807 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Product description

Review

‘You don't have to be an otter fanatic to love Darlington's book... Otter Country is proper nature writing, revealing as much about the writer's obsession with otters as of the animal itself and leaving us in awe of both -’ Sir John Lister-Kaye

‘Wonderful... her book is equal to its subject’ Carl Wilkinson

‘Beautifully evocative... Written in prose as sinuous as the creatures themselves... Otters apparently enjoy a rather illustrious club of fans. Readers of Ms Darlington will be glad she is among them’

‘Sharply observed and lyrically written’ Jason Goodwin

‘Beautifully written... A truly mesmerising and inspirational read’

‘The author is a teacher and poet who writes beautifully and informatively... I have no hesitation recommending this book’

‘Darlington is consistently an agreeable companion - inquisitive, but never a know-it-all, and frequently funny... I challenge anyone not to find [her] writing buoyant and inspirational’ David Profumo

‘A passionate journey, travelled beautifully’ Paul Evans

‘Otter Country captures the raw beauty of the landscape, distilling knowledge from some of the most renowned experts’

‘The writing is sublime ... a piece of sheer joy’

‘Miriam Darlington has written a personal tale of burning quest for one of the most charismatic of all our animals. It is a beautiful book full of sensuous lyricism, but it is also an important contribution to British writing on otters, a tradition in which this country is especially rich’ Mark Cocker, author

‘Otters are one of British conservation's success stories, and this wonderful book is their anthem. The strong clear writing, fascinating research and warm personal voice make it a lovesong not only to otters but to Britain’ Ruth Padel, author

‘Seeing an otter in the wild is one of the most precious and magical wildlife experiences that these islands have to offer, and Miriam Darlington captures that magic perfectly’ Neil Ansell, author of 'Deep Country: Five Years in the Welsh Hills'

‘Miriam Darlington belongs with writers like Mark Cocker and Paul Evans at the peak of the genre. If a better nature book is published this year, I would be very surprised’ Jim Perrin, author of 'West: A Journey through the Landscapes of Loss'

‘This is a diary of utter devotion where landscape is interpreted as otter-text, its messages elusive but traced with deep sensitivity’ Jay Griffiths, author

‘A book to restore that sense of nature red in tooth and claw and our place in amongst it... I turned the last page of Otter Country full of admiration’

‘I was immediately captivated. Darlington is a poet and her prose has a wonderful flow and lyricism... Her passion and forensic attention to her subject are infectious’ Julia Brigdale

‘This book will have you creeping along river banks and lying quietly by pools’

‘The known and loved landscapes of her past and present are evoked with as much care as she gives to her musteline quarry’ Esther Woolfson

‘Beautifully produced... a worthy successor to Tarka and Ring of Bright Water’ John Harding

‘It follows in the tradition of Gavin Maxwell and Henry Williamson, and stands comparison with both... Delightful’ Stephen Moss, Books of the Year

--This text refers to the Paperback edition.

About the Author

MIRIAM DARLINGTON was born and brought up in Lewes, Sussex. A prize-winning poet, she taught French and English for twelve years, before becoming a full-time writer in 2007. Her poetry collection Windfall was published in 2008. She writes a regular monthly column in The Times: Nature Notebook. She lives in Devon with two children, one dog, two cats, four chickens and her husband


Customer reviews

Top customer reviews

on 25 August 2016
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2014
Format: Hardcover|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2013
Format: Hardcover|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2015
Format: Paperback
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2012
Format: Hardcover
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Would you like to see more reviews about this item?

Most recent customer reviews

Pages with related products. See and discover other items: letter a, wall storage rack, black storage baskets, decorative letters

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?