Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 6 August 2016
Extremely useful app and much used during my recent visit to the Lake District.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2013
it offer some good local mapping even off-line. Even shows minor roads and lanes not for example, on a cycle route map, nearly as comprehensive as a OS map but easier to carry. am considering buying some map upgrades
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2015
Just what I wanted thanks excellent delivery service thank you very much peter
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2015
I have been trying many free offline satnav apps. This one uses open streetmap maps which can be updated for free as well. There is a limit of 10 downloaded items in the free version of osmand but luckily, all of the UK is one file (a large one so download over wifi). The maps are very detailed (the UK ones anyway), almost like an OS map, and there is a plugin to show contours. It is very handy for walking, cycling, and following preplanned routes. I imagine this is the target audience but it can also be used as a car satnav. There are 'roads only' versions for many of the maps if you don't want all the detail.

That said, the interface will put a lot of people off. It is not intuitive and the manual is sparse. But if you are able to get past that and figure out how it works, it is an amazing app and it is free with no annoying adverts (unlike some other free nav apps). The voice guidance is pretty poor though and you might want to turn it off. This is not a problem if you are walking, but isn't ideal if you are driving. There isn't a 3D view but the 2D view is fine and there is a north up mode. It does not have live traffic information either.

Being an offline satnav, you don't need an internet connection while you are out and about, but you do need somewhere to save the map data and a decent internet connection to download it. Overall, I am very impressed with the app. It has some powerful features but lacks a simple UI for basic tasks. I can understand many people giving up. You do need put in some effort to learn the package (but hey, it is free).
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2014
Pretty good value(well, it was free, actually). Seems to to do its job OK but haven't used it much yet
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2014
I have not used these maps as I found it diddifult to understand -and have found better apps so will be deleting this app from my Kindle Thank you
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2013
So far Osmand has worked seamlessly and is my mapping app of choice. It's biggest plus is that you can easily download free open source maps from within the app itself. Osmand takes care of filing them and makes them instantly available. The quality of the open source maps is improving all the time as users contribute feedback. Together with the GPS on my Samsung Galaxy Note this forms an almost perfect navigation system at minimal cost.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2014
still finding out
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2017
Very happy to have found this - I'm was looking for a decent app for cycling navigation that can use the open gpx format maps people kindly contribute. This app is really powerful and feature rich including point to point verbal and visual instructions.
At last - what I wanted....! Definitely recommend this app....!
I must comment that I looked at other 'best of ' cycling/hiking apps and most were confusing and hard to set up.
OsmAnd is a breeze and user friendly by comparison and it's great once you've spent a little time mastering it. I do feel sorry for the app authors (thank you for your efforts btw) when people are insulting enough to write off software and be rude about it because they want to be spoon-fed..!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2014
This is an excellent lead before buying the low priced full version. You can zoom right in. See my other review.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)