Orphans has been added to your Basket
+ £1.26 delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by momox co uk
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: From Europe's No.1 in used books & media articles.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Orphans Box set

4.5 out of 5 stars 43 customer reviews

Price: £16.99 & FREE UK Delivery on orders dispatched by Amazon over £20. Delivery Details
See all 13 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Audio CD, Box set, 18 Dec 2006
£14.89 £13.01
Only 13 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more

Amazon's Tom Waits Store

Frequently bought together

  • Orphans
  • +
  • Bad As Me
  • +
  • Mule Variations
Total price: £36.97
Buy the selected items together

Product details

  • Audio CD (18 Dec. 2006)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Box set
  • Label: Anti
  • ASIN: B000LC4DDC
  • Other Editions: Audio CD |  Vinyl |  MP3 Download
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars 43 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 22,005 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Lie To Me
  2. LowDown
  3. 2:19
  4. Fish in the Jailhouse
  5. Bottom of the World
  6. Lucinda
  7. Ain't Goin' Down To The Well
  8. Lord I've Been Changed
  9. Puttin' On The Dog
  10. Road to Peace
  11. All The Time
  12. The Return of Jackie And Judy
  13. Walk Away
  14. Sea Of Love
  15. Buzz Fledderjohn
  16. Rains On Me
  17. Bend Down the Branches
  18. You Can Never Hold Back Spring
  19. Long Way Home
  20. Widow's Grove
  21. Little Drop of Poison
  22. Shiny Things
  23. World Keeps Turning
  24. Tell It To Me
  25. Never Let Go
  26. Fannin Street
  27. Little Man
  28. It's Over
  29. If I Have To Go
  30. Goodnight Irene
  31. The Fall Of Troy
  32. Take Care Of All My Children
  33. Down There By The Train
  34. Danny Says
  35. Jayne's Blue Wish
  36. Young At Heart
  37. What Keeps Mankind Alive
  38. Children's Story
  39. Heigh Ho
  40. Army Ants
  41. Books Of Moses
  42. Bone Chain
  43. Two Sisters
  44. First Kiss
  45. Dog Door
  46. Redrum
  47. Nirvana
  48. Home I'll Never Be
  49. Poor Little Lamb
  50. Altar Boy
  51. The Pontiac
  52. Spidey's Wild Ride
  53. King Kong
  54. On The Road

Product description


With these astounding 54 songs, Tom Waits has added a vital new work to his catalog. The title, Orphans, refers to the songs either being from a range of outside projects, various impulses, and whims, or simply not having found a place on the albums for which they were intended. While that scenario has constituted a stopgap measure for lesser artists, this set stands alongside Waits's finest work. He has shaped it into three separate discs, each one separately titled after the prevailing character of its tracks and playing with its own mood and dramatic arc. Brawlers favors raucousness and uptempo grinds and grooves, while Bawlers showcases balladry and the more overtly poetic. Bastards is a funhouse of angular characters, spiky anecdotes, shaggy dogs, and even a Kurt Weill cover. The set offers everything from the amped-up rockabilly hiccuping of "Lie to Me" to the breathtaking perfection of "Shiny Things," and from the outraged political reporting of "Road to Peace" to the closing-time lament of "Little Man." --David Greenberger

BBC Review

Pictured on the sleeve in daguerreotype sepia surrounded by the ghosts of America's alternative cultural history, Waits has now firmly sealed his place as one of the USA's major storytellers. Orphans, containing rarities, reworkings and new material, beautifully demonstrates how he uses just about every native musical form of expression to achieve this high standing. These aren't offcuts, but prime Tom.

This box set is handily split into three themed parts: Brawlers being composed of mutant rockabilly jive suffused with the spirit of the Mississippi delta, Gene Vincent and all points in between; Bawlers is the softer side of Tom's muse, containing ballads and laments; meanwhile Bastards is the most intriguing set, filled with Brechtian cabaret, strange tales, jokes and the most disturbing version of 'Heigh Ho' (from Hal Willner's Disney project, Stay Awake) that you'll ever hear.

Shot through with the grime of gutter life and the fairy dust of magical, violent realism, Waits and wife Kathleen Brennan's 'strange couplings' (as he puts it) seem sometimes madly anachronistic yet utterly relevant. This set even contains what could be termed as Tom's first 'protest song' in 'The Road To Peace'. So, something for every type of Tom Waits fan and easily up there with his best work. Essential. --Chris Jones

Find more music at the BBC This link will take you off Amazon in a new window

Customer reviews

Read reviews that mention

Top customer reviews

12 October 2011
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
6 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
19 August 2015
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
8 February 2016
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
15 March 2018
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
29 September 2017
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
12 December 2016
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase

Would you like to see more reviews about this item?

What other items do customers buy after viewing this item?

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?