Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
15
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£17.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 October 2009
This is a collection of albums post Duane Allman's sad death but don't let this put you off. Each album is strong in its own right. The collection includes both the `Evening with..' albums which are great with a different arrangement of some of the classics over two and a half hours.

The studio albums have a harder rock sound with almost a funky beat to some of the tracks. Dicky Betts' sublime guitar is evident on all of these albums with some echoes of the earlier magnum solos.

I have been an ardent fan of the ABB for years - are these albums as good as Fillmore Live or Brothers & Sisters? Probably not, but who's comparing, enjoy them all, especially at such a great price.
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2012
I am quite frankly amazed that anyone would give this set a one star review, even allowing for the fact that everyone is entitled to their opinion. While some of the music is understandably a little different to the original band, there is a lot of fabulous southern blues-rock and boogie and it is seldom less than very good aand mostly excellent. It's almost a give away at the price so buy it and make up your own mind. Certainly ***** (5 stars) in my book.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2014
The inevitable repetition with tracks some across the 5 disks because of the two live disks is the only slight downside. Otherwise it's cracking stuff and great value for money. If you don't own any Allman Brother's and want to see what al the fuss is about, this is a brilliant way to get a decent amount of the band's material in one easy hit
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2009
This album series is a great way to replace your old vinyl if you're a fan. It is also a cheap collection for somebodY interested in the band but hasn't any stuff by them. I also bought Poco, and Blood Sweat and Tears in this series for the same reason. I didn't give it five stars (which the music deserves) because the sleeve information is too small for me to read. However it's a great idea and I look out for more titles in this packaging.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2013
agreat collection of southern blues history from possibly the greatest band to come from the southern states apart from[ LYNYRD SKYNYRD ] maybe; The allmans were agreat live band but these studio albums are a great showcase for a band at the top of their game only to decimated by tradgedy much like the afore- mentioned lynyrd skynyrd whom i am a huge fan of also highly recommended album as the classic collections tend to be
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 20 October 2011
These box sets of original albums are first of all incredible value, and also giving us sets of some of the best albums the aretists have ever made. The Allman Brothers Band are still going very strongly indeed, OK the line ups have changed through the years, but they have always remained one of the finest and most consistent bands in America. Listen to these five classic albums and you'll see why. Maybe you've no ABB albums in your collection yet,maybe not heard too much of them in the UK,it's a shame because they truly are one of the very best, mixzmix of rock,blues,Americana ans a few other influences thrown in for good measure.They still sell out major tours all over the USA.
The band still lead by Greg Allman and Warren Haynes,give us in this box set five albums from 1099 through to 1995, three studio plus the two sets from the now classic An Evening With The Allman Brothers Band.Five albums of constant class and enjoyment for any fan of classic rock music by one of the best there is. From 1990's 'Seven Turns', through 'Shades Of Two Worlds', the fabulous 'Where It All Begins' a great album if there ever was and the two live releases.Amazing music at an equally amazing price.These are truly inmissable and can be ordered with absolute confidence.Original Album Classocs they truly are, every one of the five albums included in this wonderful set.
Look out for more of these 5 CD sets because there are a whole string of fantastic and classic oners released including Chris Rea, Waylon Jennings, Jeff Beck, Emmylou Harris, Johnny Winter, Dream Theatre and many more that you'll want to add to your music collection.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2010
Bought for my brother and he was exremely happy as it was albums he had been after for a while and at a very good price, people complain they are in card covers, but they are kept together in a boxset and if this the way to get hard to find albums at a very good price, then carry on
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2012
I normally only write reviews if I have something positive to say but in this case the normally excellent Original Album Classics series is not the place to go for the "true" Allman Brothers. All these albums are relatively recent and whilst they include versions of some of the band's classic material this is not where you you be spending your hard earned money even at this admittedly budget price - for the same money you could be buying "Beginnings" which is the excellent repackaging of their first two albums that I grew up on and "Brothers and Sisters" which is the first studio album after the death of Duane and still have some change left over to put towards "Eat A Peach" or "Live at Fillmore East". That way you would be getting all of Duane's output with the band, played by the man himself, plus the post mortem classics Jessica and Ramblin Man amongst others. Alternatively for a third of the price you could get the Universal Masters Collection if you are willing to miss out on some material. Both options are much better than buying this set in my humble opinion.
33 comments| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2011
4 stars.

As with a lot of these album sets, 4 out of the 5 are what you want to hear more of and there always seems to be one of the five that doesn't quite hit the spot.

This "box set" is no exception. I'll not name albums because one man's meat etc. ......

Notwithstanding that, excellent value for money and (in my humble opinion) only one of the five that I don't listen to regularly - it has to be a perfect opportunity to enlarge your "standard" collection with some of their less well known albums.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2014
What more can be said, if your a fan of Rock Music, then these albums should be in your collection, a couple of live albums, but ever bit as good as studio.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£16.99
£5.35
£2.99

Need customer service? Click here