£8.50 + £1.26 UK delivery
Only 1 left in stock. Sold by KAOZI168 Classical_ ''Dispatch From London within 1 day ''
+ £1.26 UK delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Expedited shipping available on this item. Your item will be previously owned but still in great condition. The disc will play perfectly without interruption and the case, inlay notes and sleeve may show limited signs of wear.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Organ Sonata, The Wand Of Youth (Handley, Rlpo)

5.0 out of 5 stars 2 customer reviews

Price: £8.50
Only 1 left in stock.
4 new from £8.50 6 used from £1.92

Special Offers and Product Promotions

Product details

  • Orchestra: Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra
  • Conductor: Vernon Handley
  • Composer: Edward Elgar
  • Audio CD (3 Mar. 2003)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Classics for Pleasure
  • ASIN: B000089HB2
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 304,504 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Allegro Maestoso
  2. Allegretto
  3. Andante Espressivo
  4. Presto (comodo)
  5. Overture
  6. Serenade
  7. Minuet (Old Style)
  8. Sun Dance
  9. Fairy Pipers
  10. Slumber Scene
  11. Fairies and Giants
  12. March
  13. The Little Bells (Scherzino)
  14. Moths and Butterflies (Dance)
  15. Fountain Dance
  16. The Tame Bears
  17. The Wild Bears

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See both customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Like most children, Edward and his brothers and sisters engaged in fantasy games, but theirs were more ambitious and purposeful than most. At tender ages (Edward was eleven at the time), they staged a play based on their fantasy world from which adults, lacking an understanding and appreciation of children, were banned. Elgar composed a few simple tunes to be played as incidental music by an improvised band using whatever instruments the Elgar children could lay their hands on. Some years later Elgar committed the tunes to one of his sketchbooks.
We do not know what sort of reception the play or its music received but it clearly made a lasting impression on Elgar. Some 40 years later, having passed his fiftieth birthday, he dug out his sketchbooks and set to work turning the incidental music into these two charming suites. The pieces may be melodically and structurally simple but the orchestration is delightful, far in advance of what the youthful Elgar could have achieved with the limited resources and skills then available to him. Curiously, Elgar chose to disregard the chronology and gave the suites the opus number 1, demonstrating to the world his wish that they should be regarded as no more than a new arrangement of his earliest surviving work.
Comment 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Verified Purchase
Very satisfied with item and service
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Customer Discussions

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?