Oran Bagraidh has been added to your Basket

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Oran Bagraidh

Price: £11.37 & FREE UK Delivery on orders dispatched by Amazon over £20. Delivery Details
See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Audio CD, 1 Mar 2019
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
Buy a CD or Vinyl record and get 90 days free Amazon Music Unlimited
With the purchase of a CD or Vinyl record dispatched from and sold by Amazon, you get 90 days free access to the Amazon Music Unlimited Individual plan. After your purchase, you will receive an email with further information. Terms and Conditions apply. Learn more.

Product details

  • Audio CD (1 Mar. 2019)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: KnockenGorroch
  • ASIN: B07MWXG7T6
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 25,944 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Oran Bagraidh - Various Artists
  2. Mouthmusic - Gwyneth Glyn/Lorcán MacMathúna/Josie Duncan
  3. Pais Dinogad - Gwyneth Glyn
  4. Uryen Erechwydd Part A - Bragod
  5. Beannacht Uaim Siar - Doimnic MacGiolla Bhride
  6. Laoi Na Seilge - Lorcán MacMathúna/Rody Gorman/Conor Caldwell
  7. Josie and Conor - Josie Duncan/Conor Caldwell
  8. Ardchattan Bliss - Barnaby Brown
  9. Lord Gregory - Josie Duncan/Conor Caldwell/Doimnic MacGiolla Bhride`
  10. Morning of Blood - MacGillivray
  11. Clontarf - Lorcán MacMathúna/Barnaby Brown
  12. Uryen Erechwydd Part B - Bragod/Ben Seal
  13. Air Cnoc Bhàrr Sguab - Rody Gorman/Conor Caldwell

Product description

Product Description

Ten diverse artists from across the UK and Ireland came together for a week in Galloway to create new work inspired by Oran Bagraidh, a medieval song believed to be the only surviving example of Galloway Gaelic, a distinct dialect spoken across South West Scotland for many hundreds of years until the 18th century. Galloway was a linguistically diverse area of Scotland and in medieval times early Welsh, old English, and Norse were spoken alongside Gaelic.The multi-lingual collaboration sees Scottish Gaelic, Irish, Welsh, English and Scots vocals alongside northern triplepipes and lyres, electronics, shimmering soundscapes and traditional instruments, juxtaposing the ancient with the very latest technology.Award winning Scots/ Gaelic singer Josie Duncan, lauded Irish song archaeologist Lorc?n Mac Math?na, former Welsh poet laureate and singer Gwyneth Glyn, celebrated Irish Sean-N?s singer Doimnic Mac Giolla Bhr?de, Belfast fiddler Conor Caldwell, ancient instrument virtuoso Barnaby Brown, poet, singer and performance artist MacGillivray, widely published poet Rody Gorman and medieval Welsh duo Bragod have created work that is surprising, authentic, rooted in history yet fresh and personal in perspective.The original song Oran Bagraidh was collected in North Uist by Donald Fergusson and his Gaelic editor, Angus Macdonald and printed in 1978 in the book From the Farthest Hebrides to the melody When the Kye Come Hame.Taking informed guesses as to pronunciation, the song is sung in its original format in a Lingua Gadelica, combining Scottish and Irish Gaelic elements which, from the evidence of local place names, was the case with Gaelic in Galloway. The song is also rendered in part in Welsh phonetics, reflecting mention of Welsh place names in the song and the fact that early Welsh was spoken in South West Scotland until as late as the 12th century.Some parts of the song are unintelligible to modern Gaelic speakers and academics and translations of the song vary. It is generally agreed to be a revenge song for an unpaid ransom following the murder of a significant person.The works feature five languages, medieval instruments: lyre and northern triple pipes as well as fiddle, harp, accordian, whistle, percussion, electric autoharp and electronics.

No customer reviews

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers