Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Now Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now



on 1 October 2017
Excellent, informative book re WW2 Operation Crossbow. Great source of WW2 historical information.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2015
Exciting stuff and true too
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2014
TELLS A STORY THAT NEEDS TO BE TOLD
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2015
GREAT
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2014
A book that is better than the film very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2013
Very interesting and well written book. A detailed and gripping history of the secret work of the aerial reconnaisance work in the Second World War, and how that changed the war. Aerial reconnaissance had a similar value to the secrets obtained through Ultra, but untio recently its role has not been recognised. This book explains how it started, how it affected the war, and speculates on how London would have been wiped from the face of the UK without the work done by the top secret unit.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 23 July 2013
I was looking forward to reading this, but to be honest it was a bit of a hard slog. The first 100 pages were a general history of British photo reconnaissance/intelligence, from its adhoc origins post WW I to the amateurish establishment of a photographic intelligence service at the outbreak of WWII - nothing to do with Crossbow at all which was essentially the reason I wanted to read this title. The writer's style is also disappointing, and tends to jump around all over the place; far too many characters introduced tending to halt the flow of the narrative over the early chapters and far too many dropped into the narrative to leave you wondering who the hell they were. The chapter on 'model-making' may be interesting to some but was far removed from 'Crossbow' ..as a manuscript I'd say it was particularly unfocused or disjointed, probably rushed.
11 Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2013
My husband will only read factual books and Sherlock Holmes. I was delighted that he found this book absorbing; even if it did mean listening to him while he whittered on about it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2013
The secondary title of the book explains its content. However the editor of the book should be taken to task. The story of the search for the V weapons is forever being interrupted by episodes of the history of photographic intelligence. This makes it somewhat difficult to follow. Moreover there are many instances of sentences being repeated on the same page in different paragraphs.
Tighter editing would have resulted in a far more readable book about an excellent topic.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2013
got this book for my husband as a present. He is very happy with it . Look forward to the next book buy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)