Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
16
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
13
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£8.99

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 April 2017
A beautifully composed album by Vangelis that touches you deeply every time you listen to it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2013
This really is an excellent album by Vangelis. It's good first listen & grows with every play. You may know the often used tunes "Hymne" & "L'Enfant" but it is the long tracks here which are truly stunning. If you liked the Chariots of Fire soundtrack you will no doubt love this.

As Jon Anderson would say "Wonderous".
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2017
My kind of magic music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
After `L'Apocalypse des Animaux' and `Fete Sauvage', the forty-three-minute `Opera Sauvage' is Vangelis's third soundtrack album for the French wildlife photographer Frederic Rossif.

Although, it is not really a soundtrack album in the sense that Vangelis does not compose to accord with the minute-by-minute, second-by-second action on the screen. Rather, here, as in other film soundtracks, he composes pieces and leaves it to the film's music editor to make the links to what is happening on screen. The result, sound-wise, is a set of true musical pieces. To that extent, this album can stand on its own as an independent work and can be enjoyed without ever seeing a minute of the film to which it ostensibly relates.

The album opens with the stately fanfare of `Hymne', famous for various commercials and subsequently reworked by Vangelis for his later `Portraits' album. This is followed by an intimate, lyrical, and tender `Reve' (`Dream'). As for `L'Enfant', many will know the music without knowing its origin: it is in the tradition of earlier Vangelis tracks such as `Pulstar' and `Spiral', but is not carried through to a denouement.

Jon Anderson re-appears on the final piece, `Flamants Roses' (`Flamingos'), making a major contribution playing the harp, so evocative of the piece's subject-matter. The only duff track is `Irlande'. It possesses a melancholy Irish air but is too simplistic. There is no development; it goes nowhere.

Overall, then, there is nothing `savage' about this album. It is truthful, for sure, but never unpleasant.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2002
Today, Vangelis is best known for his powerful film scores such as "Chariots of Fire", and (more deserved) "Blade Runner" and "1492". But during the 70s and 80s, Vangelis composed some of his best works on regular albums. This 40 minute long album from 1979 is probably one of Vangelis' very best. It contains some of his most well-known tunes such as "Hymne" and "L'Enfant" in their original and most beautiful versions. There's also the very dream-like "Rêve" and the brilliant GHOSTly "Chromatique". Finally, "Irlande" completes this (sadly) forgotten masterpiece. Apparently, the cover design was done by Vangelis himself, which just contributes to the fact that this is a very personal and wholehearted Vangelis-effort.
0Comment| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2009
Actually, I bought this wonderful CD only to complete the movie soundtrack of "The Year of Living Dangerously", where one important piece was missing: "L'enfant". This piece was played during the rain scene with Mel Gibson and Sigourney Weaver. A typical Vangelis new age oeuvre with a soothing sound tapestry.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2015
Vangelis at his best.

Floating
Teasing Water
Heralding greatness
Drifting
Exploring
Relaxing
Change

These are the themes, that the tracks evoke for me.

I'm not a fan Irelande because its just one line of music, repeated with variations. You desperately want it to go somewhere, but it never does.

Flamant Roses is the one changelling piece. It moves between elements that seem unrelated. I suspect that the documentary makerswas cramming material into the film at this point.

Chromatique is my favourite track. It makes me picture, so many magical things. Maybe I'm passing by colourful galaxies, or watching shoals of fish shifting in a reef. There is a wonderful sense of cascading, so that you have time to catch you breath, before the next avalanche of colour overwhelms you. Fantastique.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2009
I have many Vangelis CDs and whilst I like the music, I use alot of his work for background music on my slide shows. Glad I have it in my collection.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2012
Many know Vangelis only for Chariots of Fire, but this far surpasses anything that he produced for movies. Perfect as background music or simply for relaxing to, a truly special work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2013
Beautifully written - if you like Vangelis then you will love this. My son has most of Vangelis' work which he listens too for hours.

Recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)