Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
188
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 May 2005
The fourth Artemis Fowl book from Eoin Colfer is another brilliantly written story that is original and enjoyable. This time, the fairy people realise they need Artemis Fowl again after an old friend (the clue is in the title) returns to get her revenge. However there is one teensy problem ...
... Artemis remembers nothing about fairies. His mind wiped at the end of the book 3, he is rendered far less useless than he has ever been. With Holly accused of murder, and an ally they will definitely need in jail, the race is on, with very little time to save the fairy and human world - and with everyone against them, it is going to be incredibly difficult.
Despite a few shaky points where you consider the possibility of plot holes and inconsistencies with the other books, this book is highly enjoyable. Eoin Colfer never resorts to a typical formula, each book taking on a new form - and this is no exception. Instead of Artemis hatching a plan (books 1 and 3) or him making a deal with the fairies for them to both complete missions (book 2) they are now solely depending on him, with him not remembering anything about what the last few books have contained.
One of the brilliant things about the books is the incredible plans that Artemis creates to get out of impossibly scenarios. They never fail to amuse and amaze, and always extend the credibility of his character - a fair task when he is 13 and a criminal genius. One problem with Eoin Colfer's writing is his way of flipping back between times so much (ie telling the same scenario through different eyes). The fact that he does it is not the problem, it is more the order in which he does them that is annoying - a fact that may be visible to people reading the book.
Well, writing this took 10 minutes. I think that's substantial. I look forward to the next book - there'd BETTER be one!
11 comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2003
This novel, the third in the series about the 14-year old Irish boy genius, is just as inventive, funny and exhilarating as its two predecessors. This time round Artemis has stolen fairy technology and turned into something of his own creation; the C-Cube. The Cube can hack into and control any existing human technology - for example military satellites - and is light-years ahead of anything that we have now. Artemis tries to sell it to unscrupulous American businessman Jon Spiro, though things inevitably go awry and Artemis calls on his old friend, Holly Short from the fairy LEPRecon unit. At the same time, Artemis' father is awaking from a coma and begins spouting to his son about how the Fowl family should "go straight" - yet another thing that Artemis has to contend with.
Artemis Fowl and the Eternity Code re-unites all of the characters from the first two novels, such as the hulking Butler, genius centaur Foaly, flatulent dwarf Mulch and the exasperated police chief Julius Root. ...Eternity Code is also written in the same vein as the other books; at face value it is funny and gloriously inventive, yet it also tells a very powerful message about the importance of conservation, and looking after our planet. The 'People' (fairies) are constantly amazed and disgusted at the antics of the surface-dwelling 'Mud Men' (humans).
Though one might have expected that the formula might have grown old by the time that this series became a trilogy, the quality and wry humour of Eoin Colfer's writing really sets it apart from the competition. It is consistently hilarious and exciting, and the ending really leaves the series open for more instalments, in a genuinely original way that could see the next book written from a very different angle. Exciting stuff.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2005
This book, like all of Eoin Colfer's so far, has delivered a powerful warning shot to all the legions of Harry Potter disciples - there are other childrens/adults books out there, written with the same attention to plot and cadence, with the right mix of gags, punchlines, graphic cartoon violence, slimy monsters, and Sam Spade one-liners. This book, like all the others in the series, is a joy to read, and has had me laughing out loud, much to the discomfort of my early morning tube train companions. The whole series appeals to the 8 year-old prankster in all of us, yet has a puckish good humour that cracks even the most cynical old crust on occasion, and the inventively outlandish gadgets, locations and otherwordly species that pop their spiky heads in and out of the narrative only serve to drag you in deeper. Colfer positively revels in describing loathesome characters and their body functions, drooling monsters with impossible abilities, nose-picking halfwits, technological marvels we all secretly wished really existed, and inventively explosive bad endings for some of the bad guys. All the children I have bought these books for have lapped this all up and begged for more.
I bought the first book for my young-teen daughter, so far all subsequent episodes have remained firmly on my shelves! Part of the appeal of the stories is that they read like an old Saturday morning cinema serial, where each episode ends on a clifhanger, after some unbelievable plot twists, and the following week the heroes have to pull off even more outrageous and unlikely stunts to extricate themselves, win the girl and get the kiss. I hope Eoin Colfer keeps Artemis and his cronies on the shelves for many years to come, after all, my generation had William and Jennings, this generation needs Artemis Fowl!
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2003
If you've read Artemis Fowl books 1 and 2, then you'll recognise the format, but that's no bad thing. Why change a winning formula? This book has all the elements which made the first two books so good, without being predictable. As before, the book combines a little magic with a lot of very hi-tech wizardry. This story features a super computer, cryogenic treatment, a sound bomb, an unbreakable code, and lots more techno trickery. Fans will be pleased to hear that all the best characters are back; Butler, Juliet, wise-cracking Foaly, short-tempered Commander Root, Mulch Diggums, and of course, our heroes, Holly and Artemis. In short, the Eternity Code is a very good book, with an exciting plot full of interesting invention. The complex nature of the technology means you can never be sure of what to expect. Artemis is a wonderful hero - he's not goody-goody by any means, but he's beginning to show twitchings of conscience and vulnerability which make him irrestistably likeable. Not to mention that he's very intelligent, not interested in sport, drinks Earl Grey tea, is yet still cool! That's probably the greatest achievement of all!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2003
I suggest you read the first 2 books (Artemis Fowl & Artemis Fowl: The Arctic Incident) before starting the Eternity Code.
This book is highly amusing & is easy to get into. People of all ages enjoy reading about Artemis who is a rich criminal genius, (some could call him evil). He never makes jokes & rarely smiles, it is easy to dislike him - he has few weak spots. He has a faithful body guard, Butler, and part of the book's interest lies in how 13 year old Artemis relates to this giant employee.
Artemis, after discovering the People (fairy folk), continues to exploit them & their highly advanced technology, with which he creates the C cube: small & wireless, practically priceless super computer, but in the wrong hands this precious little object could reveal the fairy peoples whereabouts...
The pace is fast-moving and the wide variety of characters makes for some highly entertaining action and Raymond Chandler-like dialogue. I read the book aloud to my family and there were times when we chorused 'oh no, not another flashback!'.
I enjoyed the book a lot, though I have to say that the first in the trilogy is still my favourite.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2006
Goblins and gizmos, fairies and flatulence. Darvit! Colfer can sure spin a splendour with the return of psychotic and paranoid pixie Opal Koboi. And guess what she wants for dinner....revenge.

Having been foiled two years previously, Opal is now set to wreak havoc on those who foiled her nefarious scheme. Namely two (usually) law-abiding fairies and two mind-wiped (but nonetheless crafty) humans. Oh and the return of the ever-loveable Mulch just to stir the air.

Can Artemis, Holly and Co stop the human and fairy worlds from colliding? Can Opal truly be brought to justice? Can Artemis stop being such a spoilt mud-whelp and become who he was? And most importantly....can Mulch ever get it in his head to buy some deodrant????

Tantalising, exciting and downright marvellous. Colfer's Fowl series appeals largely to children but also to the big kids with a fabulous range of characters and colours. Pixies, sprites, dwarves, elves, a paranoid centaur and a couple of mudmen...what ever is missing??

oh yeah - a Whitbread award!

Pick it up with no regrets!
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2006
Artemis Fowl and the Eternity Code is one extra-exciting book. Once you start reading you can't take your eyes off the page. Once you read that very first page your hooked! it's a very enjoyable read for everyone of all ages.

Eoin(pronounced 'Owen') Colfer is a fantastic author, and my message to him is that i don't want him to stop writing about Artemis Fowl...ever,his other books are just as good, don't get me wrong about that, but Artemis Fowl is probably his best books ever and i love reading them and im sure his other fans will agree too, that you can't replace Artemis just as you can't replace Eoin...he is one of the best if not THE best.

anyway back to the book. can i just say that these books can be read stand alone, but i would suggest (for the younger readers) having a fair knowledge of the other books just to help, and it does generally make the books more enjoyable too, the books are not confusing if you havn't read the previous ones, just like for example a TV series,eg.Doctor Who, you watch an episode but havn't watched the previous episodes, its like that with the books really. (i'm not comparing these books to Doctor Who) you don't have to but it does help.

so about the book. i don't want to give any spoilers so im gonna type what it says:

Artemis Fowl has constructed a powerful new supercomputer using stolen fairy technology, and the last thing he needs is for it to fall into the wrong hands. So, when it does fall inot the wrong hands - those of ruthless tycoon Jon Spiro - Artemis knows he must recover the device or the consequences will be dire, for humans and fairies alike.

With danger all around and his bodyguard indisposed, Artemis turns to Captain Holly Short of the Lower Elements Police(LEP) for help. But can Holly trust Artemis Fowl, fairy public enemy No.1?

Take it from me, Holly. The answer is No.

So, if you enjoy Fantasy, or you enjoy Crime or you enjoy anytyhing his book is for everyone, including you! so just buy the book, and take my word for it, it will be worth it.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2005
This is the third installment in the Artemis Fowl Series and it still is funny, and it still is full of action. The Artemis Fowl books follow the adventures of Artemis Fowl, the youngest ever criminal mastermind, as he meets fairies (very high-tech fairies with Neutrinos, laser stun-guns) and steals their gold. The second book is a good story too. THe Eternity Code, however, is good. This time Artemis has to recover the C-Cube (a Very modern piece of technology made of supposedly confiscated fairy technology)from the clutches of Mr. Spiro.
This book is for people who are tired of stories when fairies are good flying creatures, giving wishes to everyone and waving a little wand. It is also for children/early teenagers who want a funny read about plots, mesmerizing and hidden creatures.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2005
I yelped with delight this morning as my new amazon package came through the door. I started reading straight away
Now I've finished it I must protest. Its the best Artemis Fowl book yet!
Incredibly personal its a whole different style, less quips and more emotion. As soon as the book starts you're thrown into it with an excellent robbery by Artemis and a nail-biting face-off including Root and Holly.
The plot twists and turns and once again I was amzed at the sheer birlliance of Artemis's genius creating an amazing plan.
A must-read for all childrens book-lovers
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2003
Brilliant, fast paced and outrageously funny! Colfer is back on form with the best Artemis fowl instalment to date.
As a 23 year old fowl reader ( I am sure most would be too embarrassed to admit to this ) I must confess I almost peed my pants! This book is electric! I voraciously, systematically and obsessively flew through the pages in one sitting. I believe it to be one of the best works of fiction, for children…
EVER
It is a shame Colfer is so often hidden in the shadows of the “Harry Potter” phenomenon. Artemis is truly a new way of approaching children’s literature. Goblins and Elves being a common ground for both authors in no way suggests that they are any more alike than Chalk and cheese. Both are story telling Gods but nothing beats that Irish wit. This is praise indeed as I am often found with my nose in the Potter pages.
Artemis is a criminal with the IQ similar to that last seen in Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart. He is a couple of years older and that ruthlessness has been put aside by lady conscience. However: fairy magic, Butler family woes and some dubious negotiating could change all this forever…
Enter the ‘C Cube’. A revolutionary piece of fairy/human hybrid technology and the stakes are higher for the pale faced mudboy than they have ever been before. Juliet reminds me of a high kicking Bruce Lee with great hair and accessories to boot. This is not a book to miss
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse