Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
75
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 September 2004
Just a few words on this new DVD release. I believe this series contains the best ever episode in "The Sky's the Limit". This is where Del Boy brings Europe to a stand still after handling a stolen Radar dish. Sheer genius in the writing.

However there are two negative points here. One is you don't get the "Christmas Specials" as the official reviewer states. Hence, no "Miami Twice", "Mother's Natures Son", nor "Fatal Extraction". It includes only the original 6 fifty minute episodes aired from 30/12/90 to 3/2/91.

Secondly, for some inexcusable reason the BBC have edited the music from "Three Men, a Woman and a Baby". The whole joke of Del's son being called Damien is the "Omen" link. One of the best gags is Rodney's face looking at Damien with the infamous Carl Orff's da da dum dum. Now we are subjected to some god-awful never heard of opera. I am sure there must be a copyright issue or something but hasn't the Beeb made enough money from DVD's to keep them original???

I know this seems picky but it really is quite annoying. This is the reason for only 4 stars and not the deserved 5.

However, you get nearly five hours of sheer brilliance. And by the way I actually have a musical doorbell!!!!!!
11 comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2005
If I was basing this review on the episodes alone it would be 5 stars without question. By series 7, Only Fools had matured and developed superbly; moving the characters and plots forward without ever compromising the humour. It is sheer brilliance.
So why then is it done such awful justice on the DVD? There are no extras (well there are none on any of the Only Fools DVDs), but the worst by far is the editting of the episodes. On a lot of the DVDs certain scenes are cut, but the worst by far on this one is the removal of the Omen theme in the final episode, (also highlighted by another reviewer). I remember watching it on TV and being in hysterics at that scene no matter how many times I saw it. So after watching this DVD in anticipation of that scene, the disappointment was immense. I really do not understand what the Beeb are playing at - Only Fools is a classic side-splitting sit-com but their DVD releases are an immense disappointmen. Take a look at the Red Dwarf releases for an example of how they should be done!
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2006
This is one of the eternal classics of British TV - and the plotlines are just pure genius. One of the interesting bits is watching a seemingly irrelevant piece of local "colour" - such as the laughing woman in the Nag's Head - and suddenly seeing where it fits into the plot a bit later on. The sheer serendipity - or cause and consequence - of Del's antics is one of the best bits of the way this series is written and constructed.
Lengthening the show from thirty to fifty minutes does the show justice and elevates it above the traditional BritCom to the level of comedy drama, where the ability to include the above twists and turns allows the writers much more flexibility.
And it's flippin' hilarious too. A must for any fans of true British comedy and the apex of comedy writing over the last twenty-five years.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2007
Before I start, this series was filmed in 1989 and is incorrectly referenced as 1981 when the show started.

The seventh series continues the high standards of British comedy witnessed in previous ventures. The lengthening of the episodes from30 to 50 minutes meant more time for character development and whereas the 6th series had a noticeable Rodney Cassandra arc, this series focuses on both Del and Racquel.

Classic episodes such as Stage Fright where a hired singer cannot pronounce his 'R's are classic and the rendition of the CWWYing Game is on of the funniest scenes I have ever witnessed.

Flaws if any lie in the DVD format - still no gag blooper reel or making of features. nevertheless, the endearing quality of the content is enough for a Five star recommendation.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 25 October 2014
BBC1's 'Only Fools and Horses' burst into the 1990s with a one-off Christmas special (not included here as it wasn't part of the seventh series) and a brand new series. It carries on with the 50 minute extended formula that made the previous set of episodes such a success. A time increase paved the way for more complex, sophisticated stories and character building. Whilst the programme was still flat-out hilarious, it notably had it's more serious moments, which it always had anyway, but more poignant moments were delivered in series six and seven.

As always, the late John Sullivan penned some absolute classics, including 'Stage Fright', where Del books the club singer with a speech impediment, 'The Class of '62', which marked the return (and final appearance) of Jim Broadbent as Roy Slater, and 'Three Men, a Woman and a Baby', where Raquel goes into labour. Personally, I think that Raquel and Cassandra as Del Boy and Rodney's love interests was one of the best things that could have happened to the show, as we see the two wheel-dealers demonstrate different sides to their characters, not to mention some hilarious predicaments.

Six episodes on DVD, no special features, but it's the show that matters - and 'Only Fools' was head and shoulders above the rest of the comedies.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2013
All of the Only Fools Of Horses series are brilliant, I have the complete collection and no matter how many times I watch them it never fails to make me laugh, it will never age and will always be funny, would recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2007
series 7,aired in 1991,and is the last series of the classic show,of course christmas specials followed but this was the last series and this must reign as one of the most glorious series of them all.

By now,the legacy of the characters was well and truly established,so with that in mind the show wrote itself and here there are many great moments,events and scenes that live with the soul long after the show is finished,least of all the birth of damian who always haunts rodney with his reference to the omens damian.Other great scenes include raquel singing with a man who has a speech impediment and when roy slater returns to try and destroy dels world.The six episodes here are true gold and always a pleasure to watch,bear that in mind if you are thinking of buying this.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2012
More hilarious comedy. The humour just gets better and better into the series. Series 7 contains some real classics, including Raquel's cabaret with Trig's mate "Tony Angelino", the singing dustman. All I can say is that it's so funny it'll leave you cwying.......
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2015
Sublime British comedy writing and performing from the top of mount funny.
The key to all classics is chemistry......and only Fools & horses has had it from the beginning.
I dare you not to laugh!!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2007
It is recommended that you watch 'Rodney Come Home' first as the Christmas special's plot line links to this series. Series Seven is the final series of 'Only Fools and Horses.' There maybe some Christmas specials that follow but one cannot help feeling tragic when this series finished because never again will 'Fools' episodes be shown weekly like this. Series Six relied more on elaborate plots whereas this series relies on funny conversations. Most notably Albert's tale of being in Africa and wetting himself when he imitates a roar of a lion. There is more pathos in this episode as Raquel becomes pregnant and Albert gets 'mugged' but it never loses comedy.

Notable moments include: Del buying a satellite dish (The Sky's the Limit); Raquel announcing being pregnant (The Chance of a Lunchtime); Tony Angelino singing at the Starlight Rooms with a slight problem (Stage Fright); Roy Slater returns with a bombshell (The Class of '62); Albert gets 'mugged' (He Ain't Heavy, He's My Uncle) and Raquel giving birth to Damien (Three Men, a Woman, and a Baby).

Overall a nice polished series to finish 'Fools' in the sense that there are no other series.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)