Buy Used
£2.80
FREE Delivery on orders over £10.
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: This item is used and has some wear. Qualifies for free shipping and prime programs.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 3 images

And Only to Deceive (Lady Emily) Paperback – 1 Oct 2006

3.9 out of 5 stars 27 customer reviews

See all 18 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Paperback, 1 Oct 2006
£0.01

Man Booker International Prize 2017
A Horse Walks Into a Bar has won the Man Booker International Prize 2017. Learn more
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.



Product details

  • Paperback: 321 pages
  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers; Reprint edition (Oct. 2006)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 006114844X
  • ISBN-13: 978-0061148446
  • Product Dimensions: 13.5 x 1.9 x 20.3 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 3.9 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (27 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 1,140,673 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  • If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Product description

Review

"An admirable and literate debut novel." -- Nashville Tennessean

"Charming." -- Publishers Weekly

"An entertaining debut." -- Nashville Scene

An entertaining debut. --Nashville Scene

Charming. --Publishers Weekly

"An entertaining debut."--Nashville Scene

"Had Jane Austen written The Da Vinci Code, she may well have come up with this elegant novel."--Martha O'Connor, author of The Bitch Posse

"The story spans genres, appealing to lovers of suspense, history and romance...historically correct and beautifully done."--South Bend Tribune

"Fans of Anne Perry and Elizabeth Peters will welcome this debut novel."--Denver Post

"Engagingly suspenseful and rich with period detail."--BookPage

"Charming."--Publishers Weekly

"The who-done-it is well designed and fun to follow. Tasha Alexander's historical mystery is terrific."--I LOVE A MYSTERY newsletter

"An admirable and literate debut novel."--Nashville Tennessean

Had Jane Austen written The Da Vinci Code, she may well have come up with this elegant novel. --Martha O'Connor, author of The Bitch Posse"

Charming. --Publishers Weekly"

An admirable and literate debut novel. --Nashville Tennessean"

An entertaining debut. --Nashville Scene"

Engagingly suspenseful and rich with period detail. --BookPage"

The who-done-it is well designed and fun to follow. Tasha Alexander s historical mystery is terrific. --I LOVE A MYSTERY newsletter"

Fans of Anne Perry and Elizabeth Peters will welcome this debut novel. --Denver Post"

The story spans genres, appealing to lovers of suspense, history and romance...historically correct and beautifully done. --South Bend Tribune"

Book Description

A Lady Emily mystery -- Dieser Text bezieht sich auf eine vergriffene oder nicht verfügbare Ausgabe dieses Titels.

See all Product description

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Paperback
I was captivated by this book from the very first sentence. It takes off with a hiss and a roar: by page 3, Emily has not just met and married Philip the Viscount Ashton, but she has also been widowed. By the end of the first chapter, a year after Philip's death, she begins to learn how little she knew about the man to whom she was briefly married. Intrigued, she starts to investigate her late husband more and this leads her into investigating a mystery involving forgeries of Ancient Greek artefacts - which may have involved her husband.

At the same time, two men (both friends of her former husband) are displaying an interest in her. Are their motives pure, or are one - or both - of them not to be trusted?

I enjoyed this complicated tale very much. It kept me guessing throughout - every time I thought I knew how it was all going to be resolved, the story would do another twist. I also enjoyed reading about late 19th century London and Paris. Tasha Alexander has included several epilogues talking about the research that she did while writing this book which are very interesting to read. Emily's character was somewhat annoying to me in the early stages - very self-centered and the kind of person who would do things simply to be contrary. But I warmed to her as the book went on. This was Tasha Alexander's first book but since then she has continued Emily's story in subsequent novels - which I will definitely seek out now.

* Warning: The only review of this book that is older than mine (entitled "Excellent") reveals twists that don't emerge until at least halfway through. I would advise you not to read that review before reading the book! It definitely spoiled my enjoyment of it. *
Comment 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
This book is part of a trend for English historical mysteries written by American authors. This one suffers from the same small niggles as the others - people visit with rather than just visit, say fall for autumn etc but otherwise is a very superior example of the genre. The author has included a set of very interesting notes at the end showing her research and why she chose the heroine she did.
Lady Emily Ashton is a widow after a very short marriage and becomes involved in unravelling both a mystery of ancient greek artifacts and forgeries, as well as trying to get to know her dead husband. The author has woven a good yarn that keeps the pages turning - the story twists and turns very satisfactorily throughout. Emily is a good heroine, she is stubborn and inclined to be arrogant but uses her intelligence well. The misunderstandings arise due to lack of information.
I thoroughly enjoyed it, it was well written and the female characters richly drawn. I would agree with another reviewer that the males were a little more lightly sketched, but in the Victorian world we are visiting the main contacts of a respectable widow would be her female friends and relatives. I would definitely recommend this.
Comment 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
This is the first in a series of Victorian mysteries which currently consists of the following seven books:

1) This book, "And only to deceive"
2) A Poisoned Season (Lady Emily)
3) A Fatal Waltz (Lady Emily)
4) Tears of Pearl (Lady Emily Mysteries)
5) Dangerous to Know (Lady Emily Mysteries)
6) Crimson Warning, A (Lady Emily Mysteries)
7) Death in the Floating City (Lady Emily Mysteries)

At the start of this book the central character of the series, Lady Emily, moves in just three pages covering a few months in 1887 from being the unmarried daughter of an earl to the widow of a viscount. Emily's mother had been badgering her from the instant she came out as a debutante to make a brilliant match as soon as possible. When this incessant nagging to find a husband moved from the infuriating to the completely unbearable, Emily accepted the next reasonable offer for her hand, which came from Philip, Viscount Ashton, a fanatical hunter of big game and classical antiquities in that order.
Read more ›
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition
I just completed all the Lady Julia Grey Mystery Series and enjoyed them so much, I thought why not get started on the Lady Emily Mysteries. Much to my surprise, I had the first two books in the series already downloaded onto my Kindle. I suppose that's what happens when one reads as much as I do - you forget what you've purchased. So, I immediately set forth into this book but realized that the first part seemed a bit familiar. As time went on, I decided that I had apparently begun reading the book at some point and then lost interest and moved on.

But, no - after reading the entire book, I then realized that I had read it previously, but... - it. just. never. stood. out. in. my. mind. - at least not enough to remember that I had read it until I actually finished it again. What does that tell you about how well I liked the book? Nah, it didn't do a lot for me. It appears that Lady Emily's future love interest will be Colin Hargreaves, but how in the world can I ever consider him now that I've spent all that time considering Nicholas Brisbane from the Lady Julia Mysteries. Ah well, I'm still going to press on. I'm currently reading the second book in this series, which I had not previously read by the way. It is A Poisoned Season (A Lady Emily Mystery) and so far I'm finding it a bit more interesting than the first book in the series.

Perhaps the first book was a foundational book, setting up the reader with an understanding of Lady Emily's widowed status, her relationship - or lack of relationship might be a better term - with her first husband, Philip, who was absolutely supposedly head over heels in love with Lady Emily.
Read more ›
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews